Posted

Those highlights are seriously funny at times. He's fair dinkum taking the [censored] with a few of those touches.

The only risk with this kid is that in the future he finds football too easy and looks for a bigger challenge.

Posted

Has anyone heard from Olisik? I'm imagining he has passed out from pure elation….. If anyone knows where he is you should call an ambulance.

I think he decided to spend the day at the local sperm bank.

And well done to him, good call and great pick up.

Posted

He looks like he has a bit of puppy fat to shed. it will be interesting to look at his body shape after his first pre season. He could be difficult to tackle as he looks to have a nice burst of speed from a standing start.

Posted (edited)

If anyone just saw Oliver in a Melbourne jumper you'll get excited he is built like a brick shithouse.

Ah, Make that back to back "Brick Shithouses" Dazzle man!! :wub:

And whilst not wishing any halm to new Essendope player Darcy Parish, as we will see, pure grunt and aggresion at the footy will mean that in the contest

our new boy, will mow over the scrawny Parish frame like a "Treelogger over a blade of grass!!

Posted

He looks like he has a bit of puppy fat to shed. it will be interesting to look at his body shape after his first pre season. He could be difficult to tackle as he looks to have a nice burst of speed from a standing start.

hqdefault.jpg

Posted

True, but the beauty is that he has time on his side. We don't need him to play straight away. By recruiting guys like Melksham and Bugg, while also hopefully having a fit Petracca and Trengove to select from, we can give a guy like Oliver time to shed the puppy fat and build his endurance before he plays in the AFL. We don't need to expose him too soon.

But when we do... look out!

Posted

Ah, Make that back to back "Brick Shithouses" Dazzle man!! :wub:

And whilst not wishing any halm to new Essendope player Darcy Parish

I hope our new boy Mows over him like a Treelogger on a blade of grass!!

It will be Wines v ToumpAs all over again

Posted

Jeez he really does exude class. He's not quick...and he looks really awkward bouncing the ball, but beautiful evasive side step, vision, hunger at the contest and disposal. ( as least on the highlights) Mitchell isnt quick either is but that capacity to twist in both directions sets him apart. I think he's going to be great for us....and expect him playing early in the year also. As happy ton as I was last year.

Would that now be called an Oliver Twist? :blink::lol::)

Posted

If he can get himself super fit he could be anything.

Viney, Brayshaw, Oliver, Tyson, Petracca, Vandenberg will be running rampant in the middle. Those guys will seriously hurt other sides.

Posted

This was I think a snide reference to Jordie McK - the dedication, work ethic, ability to get every ounce from himself, and courage would also be well worthwhile transferring to any player.

It wasn't really a snide comment... it was more about his kicking skills and was a failed attempt at a humorous response to an earlier post.

Posted

Just how fierce will a midfield of Viney, Brayshaw, vandenBerg, N. Jones and now Oliver be for opposition teams? That's not even factoring in Vince who doesn't mind a scrap and the raging bull Petracca who might end up in there. They will dead set crush the likes of Richmond in the wet. It won't necessarily lead to sustained success but at least the bruise-free era is long behind us!

Posted

In many of the video highlights oliver was looking pretty chunky, look at him now you can see he has already gotten rid of a lot of it. This kid will be something special once he gets integrated into a proper training regime.

Posted

You know this stuff RTG. Is there a subtext I'm missing?

I'm probably not as sold on him as others BBO. But that's ok. Happy to be wrong. As long as we haven't managed to outsmart ourselves.

Posted

I'm probably not as sold on him as others BBO. But that's ok. Happy to be wrong. As long as we haven't managed to outsmart ourselves.

Think of it this way RTG, he dominated the TAC cup coming off OP and looking slightly overweight. Once he is in AFL physical condition who knows what level he can get to. He has already matched it with men in the VFL which is another plus.

Posted

Viney Oliver and Brayshae on the inside with Petracca roaming and feeding it out to Salem Stretch and Tyson who kick it forward to Hogan Weiderman with roaming Garlett and Kennedy.

Posted

The thing I worry about is outside speed BBO. It's been a problem for a while now and I can't see how it's been addressed. But, hey, welcome ranga.

Posted

Knightmare has him as 1 of only 4 players he considers as top 5 on list quality. Good enough for me. He has a better eye for talent than any of those journos who "follow" the tac cup/championships imo.

Posted

So pumped we back ourselves with this kid.

Not concerned at all about his kicking or speed, he's got enough of both. I'm excited to see him play forward, yet alone move to the midfield.

Posted

The thing I worry about is outside speed BBO. It's been a problem for a while now and I can't see how it's been addressed. But, hey, welcome ranga.

It's an issue. But we are still in the early phase of rebuilding I think. So stack up on ball winners and talls and hard running smart footballers. We can trade or draft for a bit of speed once the base is established.

Posted

Anyone see in the highlights where he ran and dodged the ball halfway down the field? Or where he went head first in, bounced off a team mate and shot a dart hand pass out of congestion to a team mate?

Posted

I really enjoyed his highlights clip. A couple of things really stood out. His ability and the way he avoided tackles obviously, but also the ways he gathered the ground ball so easily, particularly the way he freed his arms and got handballs out to advantage and the number of overhead marks he took.

I'm assuming the potential knock on him is fitness i.e. endurance, and perhaps pace over 2-3 steps.

Pretty happy.

Posted

In the combine footage shown on fox today he looked lean fit and strong . Shot 30 from 30 in the goal kicking and was in the top bracket for the agility test .he is explosive not unlike cripps at the blues . Great get .