FAREWELL JIMMY TOUMPAS

Posted

Jay Clark just reported on triple m that he will sign a new 2 year deal and will be announced this week.

Personally i am wrapped that the club will continue to show faith in him. I still see him as an important member for our future going forward. I know for a fact Goodwin is a big wrap for the kid and hopefully he will be able to turn him into the player we all hope to be.

I like it. Roos and Goodwin backing him in. Stick it up the haters Toump!

Hopefully this gives Jimmy some confidence in him self and it translates to improved performances on the field.

Im on the opposite end of the spectrum here.

I believe the club has given him adequate time to show something, anything... and he has yet to do that.

Not good enough for mine. A costly draft pick and now even costlier hanging onto him hoping that he will become something.

Jay Clark just reported on triple m that he will sign a new 2 year deal and will be announced this week.

Personally i am wrapped that the club will continue to show faith in him. I still see him as an important member for our future going forward. I know for a fact Goodwin is a big wrap for the kid and hopefully he will be able to turn him into the player we all hope to be.

I'll back the club on this one. Thought he was gone. Congrats, Jimmy.

• Author

Im backing Brendan Mcartney to take him under his wing this summer and develop him into a great player.

He showed glimpses this year that, when he runs hard and makes space, he can be an effective midfielder.

If this report is true, I'll admit I'm a little surprised that those glimpses have been enough to get not just one year, but two.

However, I like the move, I like that we're showing faith in someone who needs the confidence, and I like that it's happening before the end of the year. Sew it up, move on, deal with whoever is next to deal with.

I know there will be plenty who disagree, plenty who either are hanging onto a grudge, or who see Stringer/Wines/Macrae/anyone else from that draft and get upset, so for their sake I really do hope something clicks and we see the kind of form he displayed against the Dogs, Collingwood and St Kilda in the middle of the year become the norm for him.

I like this. It'll be on low cash so hopefully people don't start sooking about it.

The kid has talent but has had a horror run with luck (injuries. sickness, terrible coaching first up), and I really believe he could be a slow burner for us.

It's also recognition of how important development is and that the club is backing itself to get it right.

He showed glimpses this year that, when he runs hard and makes space, he can be an effective midfielder.

Wondering if his second contract is less then his rookie contract.

He needs to find a physical trait this off season.

Don't know how you find extra speed but he looks like running on mud rather then his u18 glide.

I'd much rather have Jimmy on the list then someone like RO bail, if Jimmy plays anything like he did in the game against the saints consistently, look out. he has it in him

I'm pleased about this if it is indeed true. Toump could be a much improved player next year as he gets confidence in his body. He would benefit from finding some more speed over the off season. This would give him a little more time to use his kicking skills

Perhaps we also shoring our position if he is to traded this off season?

Haha, there will be some miffed Demonland posters. I think he is worth persevering with, and would have only parted with him for the right trade, but his trade value would be next to nothing, so worth more to us to keep on the list.

I guess the club rated him higher than pick 88 in a weak draft.

(I say that just to help anyone who feels like slagging off about him can get a little perspective and calm down a bit.)

Good to see that the club wont throw out all their eggs in one basket with the bathwater before the chickens have hatched.

(I say that because I'm secretly auditioning to be on a footy TV discussion panel)

Im on the opposite end of the spectrum here.

I believe the club has given him adequate time to show something, anything... and he has yet to do that.

Not good enough for mine. A costly draft pick and now even costlier hanging onto him hoping that he will become something.

Reading the past few Casey Player reports he has not been going that well at VFL level. Very weird. But I like him, met him a few times and a lovely young fella.

Each re-signing shows faith in the Clubs direction. Sends good messages of stability to other young players eg Brayshaw and Hogan.

I still think Toump can turn it around and see his career take off.

Picket Fence has just had a heart attack.

Great show of faith from the club. Jimmy can now put in another solid pre-season and then hopefully come out firing in 2016. He has plenty to prove but I think he is capable of silencing his critics. Good luck to the kid.

his a kid who has demonstrated that he does have talent just needs to body and the confidence to do it at AFL level. I think it is a good move.

If we are resigning him for 2 years I'll be a little surprised.

Not because we think there is something to work with and that we've decided to back him in (i can understand why we'd do this although I'd also understand it if we cut him).

But I'm surprised it gets done now, with 1 week to go.

He is clearly down on confidence and i can't help but feel if we thought he was worth backing for 2 years, that doing so 3 months ago may have been a boost for him and his performances. He has struggled for confidence since the saints game.

Maybe we hasn't decided but as pointed out above it isn't like his form has triggered this decision and swayed the coaches.

Maybe the decision was made based on other players i.e. finally decided to cut someone else instead so Toump keeps his spot.

Wondering if his second contract is less then his rookie contract.

He needs to find a physical trait this off season.

Don't know how you find extra speed but he looks like running on mud rather then his u18 glide.

Most of the time, yes, his running is sub-par.

Thing is, in those three games I mentioned, he displayed AFL-grade running. Gut-running, making space, double and triple efforts, long searching leads and chases. It made a huge difference to his game - it increased his ability to get involved, to impact the contest, to make space for his teammates, and to show off his traits.

It's the running which has to keep improving IMO.

Im backing Brendan Mcartney to take him under his wing this summer and develop him into a great player.

Not a fan of Mcartney. Just watched the North v Bulldogs game and can't help wondering what he was thinking when he dropped Higgins which according to my mate was the reason he went to North. He would be in their best 3 or 4. I think "Macca" is over-rated as a developer. My mate is a mad doggies supporter and says he had no real plan other than to "crack in".

I think you are confusing developer and head coach.

The word is that McCartney is well respected for his ability to teach and develop young players - just look at how he brought on that list that is now performing so well.

That doesn't necessarily translate to great communicator with senior players - it is clear he struggled in that area.

Going on the above, he has found a perfect role as player development coach.

I think you are confusing developer and head coach.

The word is that McCartney is well respected for his ability to teach and develop young players - just look at how he brought on that list that is now performing so well.

That doesn't necessarily translate to great communicator with senior players - it is clear he struggled in that area.

Going on the above, he has found a perfect role as player development coach.

I hope so. I don't think his time at the dogs has much to do with the way they play now. Totally different game style with what looks like a hell of a lot of self belief. Most players say its the new coach and new captain. The new captain is, imo, very important as its well known that Ryan Griffen did not want it where as Bob Murphy seems to be inspiration by just being there. Have heard that Macca is a good developer of youngsters and with about 15 under 25 he has plenty to work with.