Posted

I thought cross played on Sidebottom?

I think this stuff is becoming harder and harder to pick, due to the midfield rotation of the modern game. Unless there is a hard tag being applied, I can rarely tell. I'm sure I'm not the only one.

Posted

Based on the latest news re: Garlands broken hand

In - Tyson, ANB, Grimes

Out - Vandenberg (inj), Garland (inj). M Jones

B - N.Jetta - T.McDonald - J.Fitzpatrick

HB - H.Lumumba - L.Dunn - J.Grimes

C - B.Vince - D.Tyson - A.Brayshaw

HF - J.Watts - C.Pedersen - D.Cross

F - J.Garlett - J.Hogan - J.Howe

R - M.Gawn - N.Jones - J.Viney

Bench - J.Toumpas - A.Riley - B.Newton

Sub - ANB

Agree with all of that, except I'd have Riley as the sub and ANB on the bench.

Posted

When Cross was playing as the loose man Toumpas went onto Sidey and kept him in check and did a terrific job.

But of course flogs like Picket Fence wouldn't know that.

Posted (edited)

Not sure about that. I love him in the team, but his disposal is ordinary. He hasn't improved it. His old man (who I loved) struggled with disposal efficiency throughout his entire career. I hope Jack can rectify this area of his game.

He certainly doesn't have a right foot, I think he's a good kick when he has the time but even when he doesn't he often rushes the kick.

Edited by Je Roos Salem

Posted

Out Jones, Garland (inj), VB (inj)

IN Grimes, Tyson (should have been sub last week instead of Jones) and ANB.

Posted

Given the news today about Col.

IN: Grimes, Harmes (need to speed/spread), Neal-Bullen, Tyson

OUT: Garland (inj), Vandenberg (inj), M. Jones, Newton

FB: Fitzpatrick, Dunn, Jetta

HB: Cross, T. McDonald, Grimes

C: Lumumba, Vince, Tyson

HF: Watts, Pedersen, Harmes

FF: Howe, Hogan, Garlett

FOLL: Gawn, Brayshaw, N. Jones

INT: Neal-Bullen, Toumpas, Viney

SUB: Riley

EMERG: Jamar, Michie (non playing ermergency), Stretch

Michie cover for Viney's cork.

Posted

I like them all and for the record am a fitz man. Have argued earlier for his retention on the strength of his subduing Boyd and white. I merely mentioned a few I could remember easily and explain quickly to point out the goals we obviously gave them. I'm also a believer in toumpas but I think he gave up an easy goal with that aborted goal square kick...I didn't think of it before. Please add vineyard and others. Then there is the thirteen goals from turnovers. It was one of those disastrous days when I think we gift a game we probably played better than they did.

Another gift goal that seems to have escaped scrutiny was when O'Brien turned his back on play after Elliott took a contested mark and then ran straight past him to goal. Early in the second I think.

Posted

There goes that panno resto, markc.

Aside, from that toe, I hope you're well.

sadly thats gone too , only kept the hg monaro , rest are all sold

yea ok you ?

Posted (edited)

Out: Garland (inj), vandenBerg (inj), Newton, M Jones

In; Grimes, Tyson, Neal-Bullen, Michie

HB: Lumumba, T. McDonald, Grimes

C: Toumpas, N Jones, Vince

HF: Watts, Pedersen, Viney

R: Gawn, Tyson, Brayshaw

INT: Neal-Bullen, Michie, Cross

S: Riley

Edited by P-man
Posted

Given the news today about Col.

IN: Grimes, Harmes (need to speed/spread), Neal-Bullen, Tyson

OUT: Garland (inj), Vandenberg (inj), M. Jones, Newton

HB: Cross, T. McDonald, Grimes

C: Lumumba, Vince, Tyson

HF: Watts, Pedersen, Harmes

FOLL: Gawn, Brayshaw, N. Jones

INT: Neal-Bullen, Toumpas, Viney

SUB: Riley

EMERG: Jamar, Michie (non playing ermergency), Stretch

Michie cover for Viney's cork.

Agree pretty much with your side - Watts will start on a wing like last year in Rd 1 and Tyson will play in the middle.

Garland's injury makes it almost impossible for them not to choose a defender - Grimes - and also means Fitzy is likely to get another game, unless Roosy decides to play a second ruckman like the Saints to cover Gawn's second-half endurance issues.

I can't really see how Harmes jumps Stretch in the queue though. Given the priority already given to Matt Jones, I suspect he'll survive again along with Toump.

So I'd imagine:

Out: Garland, Vanders (both injured) Newton

In: Tyson, Neal-Bullen, Grimes

But given I thought Grimes was in our best five v Port and had turned the corner, who really knows, unless you are on selection panel.

As stated before, if Viney doesn't tag Jack Steven I'd be very disappointed - it's an ideal one for him and leaves Bernie for Armitage.

With Garland out, Dunny will now have to get Bruce (probably would have anyway but I'm a bit worried about Bruce's pace on lead) and T.Mc goes to Riewoldt, with Fitzy on Hickey/Longer.

Posted

Another gift goal that seems to have escaped scrutiny was when O'Brien turned his back on play after Elliott took a contested mark and then ran straight past him to goal. Early in the second I think.

His name is Lumumba and it has been mentioned.

Posted

I can't really see how Harmes jumps Stretch in the queue though. Given the priority already given to Matt Jones, I suspect he'll survive again along with Toump.

Only reason being that I think it showed that Stretch probably wasn't quite ready. Harmes has had an extra pre-season under his belt and is a bit more physically developed. Can also play inside if needed, although wouldn't be likely.

Could just as easily go with Stretch to, but I suspect they may try and avoid playing him at senior level again this year unless he's absolutely banging the door down. I reckon he'll be a player though.

Posted

Out: Garland, VDB, and one of Newton/M Jones (my preference is M Jones)

In: Tyson, Grimes and one of Michie/ANB (my preference is ANB)

When Oxely was loose in defence Melbourne couldn't score, when he wasn't we could.

It's that simple and was clear for everyone to see, were you at the game?

I was at the game, yes.

Nice try.

Manning up Oxley is a nice simple thing to talk about, but that wasn't the one and only thing that was the difference between the sides. We committed plenty of horrendous mistakes when we manned him up and when he was loose. Yes, some of the reason our ball movement fell apart at times was because we saw loose men forward of play and went backwards/sideways, but not all of it.

Fair points, and If you break it down stats wise, then yes you could argue we've been better than St Kilda.

But I just feel that they seem to be tracking better than us, have less injuries, have been better than us against the good sides (ie. Hawthorn, West Coast, Adelaide), less form fluctuations than us and haven't hit the horrible lows that we have.

I think they will be a bit too good for us on Sunday.

The less injuries thing doesn't make them better than us. If anything that also goes in our favour - they've largely had a full list to choose from and they're 3-7, while we've had something like 8-10 of our best 22 out in some weeks.

I disagree that they were any better against Hawthorn than us - Hawthorn turned off halfway through the fourth but didn't do that against us (much of a muchness really). They lost to Adelaide by close to double what we lost by (25 to 46). And we haven't played West Coast yet (meanwhile we did a lot better against Collingwood than they did).

Of course, none of this is to say we are certainties to win this week. It's at Etihad, St Kilda's probably in no worse form than we are, and they do have Riewoldt which is always handy. I'm confident that our best football is more than enough to get the job done though, the key is whether we are able to display it for long enough.

Posted

Guys, ANB won't play - Roos said as much in his presser, and I was pleased to hear it. Seems our supporters have this obsession with promoting new draftees as soon as they have a game where they've had 30 touches - have we not heeded the lessons of years past?! Let him develop for a while and continue to build consistent form at Casey so that he's well and truly ready later in the year.

Posted

Guys, ANB won't play - Roos said as much in his presser, and I was pleased to hear it. Seems our supporters have this obsession with promoting new draftees as soon as they have a game where they've had 30 touches - have we not heeded the lessons of years past?! Let him develop for a while and continue to build consistent form at Casey so that he's well and truly ready later in the year.

ANB has not just had one good game hes been good for over a month

If he debuts this week he will have earned it, but yeah I dont mind waiting. Harmes may debut this week though

Posted

sadly thats gone too , only kept the hg monaro , rest are all sold

yea ok you ?

The HG Monaro? Good, the super's still intact :)

My HK panno is going slowly....unpicked badly damaged quarter, ready to weld anotheree in, but I'm still practising! I'm terrified I might wobble it!

I'm well, thank you.

Anyhoo, we'd better talk footy....how good was Wattsy on the weekend?

Posted

Salem doing a "Double" hamstring upon recovery??? Hnmm something is amiss here!

That plus a few other "Hammies" would leave me to question training loads and preparation!

And the man that oversees this is Dave Misson I think!

Hnmm I'm sure some questions might and should be asked?! Eh?

Posted

Garland, vandeburg and Salem all a month out?! Fark me.

Col is tough as nails playing with a broken hand

Posted

AFL website article about Garland injured hand, Vander's hammy and Salem injuring his other hammy. We just can't take a trick.

http://www.afl.com.au/news/2015-06-10/double-blow-for-demons-garland-has-surgery-vandenberg-hamstrung

OMG

The curse continues

Posted

The HG Monaro? Good, the super's still intact :)

My HK panno is going slowly....unpicked badly damaged quarter, ready to weld anotheree in, but I'm still practising! I'm terrified I might wobble it!

I'm well, thank you.

Anyhoo, we'd better talk footy....how good was Wattsy on the weekend?

yes great game , one of his better games

and for me this week Tyson and Grimes both should come in

Posted

Must have missed that. Don't recall ANB even being referenced in the presser.