View in the app

A better way to browse. Learn more.

A full-screen app on your home screen with push notifications, badges and more.

To install this app on iOS and iPadOS
  1. Tap the Share icon in Safari
  2. Scroll the menu and tap Add to Home Screen.
  3. Tap Add in the top-right corner.
To install this app on Android
  1. Tap the 3-dot menu (⋮) in the top-right corner of the browser.
  2. Tap Add to Home screen or Install app.
  3. Confirm by tapping Install.

Remembering the Wizard

What a half of football that was. I think many would agree here that, had he stayed with us, he would have gone on to repeat these sorts of feats again and again before his career was over.

• Author

What a half of football that was. I think many would agree here that, had he stayed with us, he would have gone on to repeat these sorts of feats again and again before his career was over.

Played his best football at Melbourne Wise, 76 goals in 2000, huge return for a small forward. Was devastated when he left

Agreed. No small forward has kicked that many goals in a season since either, and he was torching all the best small backs in the game. His 8 goals on Pickett in the Prelim was unbelievable to watch as well.

• Author

I was in year 6 at the time. Everyone was talking about it on the Monday at school, teachers included! Hard to believe 15 years has passed already.

I remember listening to that game while driving down the Great Ocean Road to Apollo Bay. Watching that video is the first time I have seen that game and it is an amazing tour de force of skills.

Wow they go on and on about Rioli as the greatest small forward of the millennium. I don't think The Wiz suffers much in comparison when you look at that display

Those were the days.

We had a few true marquee players and the Wiz was a sensation.

We didn't fight hard enough to keep him and although he had quite a few reasonable years at Fremantle, I don't believe he was the same player that he was with us (except once when he played against us and kicked the winning goal).

That was great to watch again. Certainly bought a smile to my face. I was there that day and remember fearing for my life waiting for the train at Richmond station on the way home and being verbally abused by some old dero in a Pies jumper - and no, it wasn't my husband!! That was a great day.

I was teaching in Cooktown. June long weekend up there meant Discover Festival which is basically a weekend long [censored] up. On the Friday night I met a Dees supporter and his two Collingwood supporting mates who were up for the festivities. Invited them to come around and watch the game a couple of days later because they didn't have a TV and no one in FNQ would be watching AFL. Given what normally happens between the Friday night and the Monday afternoon of that weekend I was surprised when they actually remembered and turned up. Was a great game and a great afternoon and when I returned home from work on Tuesday afternoon there was an esky full of their leftover beer on my front deck. Took me many years to reconcile such good blokes with being Collingwood supporters. It must have been their Melbourne supporting mate.

Anyone else getting that weird feeling that tomorrow might just be one of those special . . .

Sorry.

I was teaching in Cooktown. June long weekend up there meant Discover Festival which is basically a weekend long [censored] up. On the Friday night I met a Dees supporter and his two Collingwood supporting mates who were up for the festivities. Invited them to come around and watch the game a couple of days later because they didn't have a TV and no one in FNQ would be watching AFL. Given what normally happens between the Friday night and the Monday afternoon of that weekend I was surprised when they actually remembered and turned up. Was a great game and a great afternoon and when I returned home from work on Tuesday afternoon there was an esky full of their leftover beer on my front deck. Took me many years to reconcile such good blokes with being Collingwood supporters. It must have been their Melbourne supporting mate.

Anyone else getting that weird feeling that tomorrow might just be one of those special . . .

Sorry.

Short answer is No GV.

But gee Cooktown is as far out as it gets must have been an interesting posting. I understand all teachers in QLD have to move every 3 years or so. Is it the Endeavour River? It looks idyllic from a distance but then you think about the crocs.

Short answer is No GV.

But gee Cooktown is as far out as it gets must have been an interesting posting. I understand all teachers in QLD have to move every 3 years or so. Is it the Endeavour River? It looks idyllic from a distance but then you think about the crocs.

It is indeed the Endeavour River. I spent 4 years up there. With our points system most remote service means you have to spend 3 or 4 years out bush but Cooktown was considered so remote that 2 years earned enough points but I was having too much fun up there. Would love to go back if I could convince my wife.

I'm bullish about tomorrow. I coached my School boys U14 team into South-east QLD semis courtesy of a last gasp goal and a one point win on Friday and today my U17 club girls came back from five goals down at half time to beat the ladder leaders by a point. Good things come in threes. Dees by a point!

It is indeed the Endeavour River. I spent 4 years up there. With our points system most remote service means you have to spend 3 or 4 years out bush but Cooktown was considered so remote that 2 years earned enough points but I was having too much fun up there. Would love to go back if I could convince my wife.

I'm bullish about tomorrow. I coached my School boys U14 team into South-east QLD semis courtesy of a last gasp goal and a one point win on Friday and today my U17 club girls came back from five goals down at half time to beat the ladder leaders by a point. Good things come in threes. Dees by a point!

Great stuff. I am on board it looks like we are up for a win!

Can't remember the player that broke his wrist, thus allowing the Wiz to come back on???

Boy from Tassie......

Ben Beams.

It's a shame he played over 100 games for Freo. His kids will most likely go to Fremantle via the father son if they are good enough when the time comes.

Would love to see another wizard playing in red and blue.

Edited by Adzman

Drop him. He didn't lay enough tackles in that game.

Oh the wiz..

He was my all time favorite player and still to this day aswell. I use to run around in junior footy calling myself Jeff Farmer. I wish he stayed at the dees we would have been so successful during the mid 2000s if he hung around. He just played his best footy when he was a dee.

To this day he regrets going to Freo and that club have snubbed him since retirement while the Melbournefc have stayed in contact with. Farmer hold the club to his heart much higher then Freo. Infact i would put alot of money he would want his kids playing for the dees instead of Freo.

I was there sitting in the great southern stand. I don't think Nathan Buckley was playing because of a hamstring and he was nice enough to stop and have a chat to me at the player race

Probably my earliest memory of a Melbourne game along with the final against carlton later that year.

of all the players to leave melbourne the wiz was one that i most regretted

i understand he himself has said recently that he wishes he had stayed

Oh, the Wiz.

He said he loved playing for Melbourne and that he wanted to be a 10-year player and a life member and etc.

Then he got a new manager and two weeks later, he had an unscratchable itch to "go home" to WA. Funny that.

Ground Hog day AGAIN.

JEEZ a post like this comes up every 6 months - Lets remember Wiz, lets remember Robbie, Lets remember Ox.

It only happens 'cause we are having a carp year & there's nothing to look forward to.

Totally depressing. I bet Hawthorn supporters don't spend too much time looking over old tapes of Dermie or Dunstall.

Ground Hog day AGAIN.

JEEZ a post like this comes up every 6 months - Lets remember Wiz, lets remember Robbie, Lets remember Ox.

It only happens 'cause we are having a carp year & there's nothing to look forward to.

Totally depressing. I bet Hawthorn supporters don't spend too much time looking over old tapes of Dermie or Dunstall.

Bet you they do