Jesse Christ 2,884 Posted September 11, 2015 Posted September 11, 2015 I swear someone suggested John Butcher as a pick up... That someone should not be allowed on this forum.. Ever. Again. It was stuie Quote
mauriesy 7,444 Posted September 11, 2015 Posted September 11, 2015 Since our aim this year is to rid ourselves of several ball butchers, I cringe at the idea of importing another one. 2 Quote
Willmoy1947 4,261 Posted September 11, 2015 Posted September 11, 2015 Wonder how many arguments Damian Barrett lost in the school yard. Always looks so miserable. 1 Quote
stuie 7,374 Posted September 11, 2015 Posted September 11, 2015 Very good source told me Jamar will play on next year but not with us. Has been offered a one year contract elsewhere. http://www.melbournefc.com.au/news/2015-09-11/jamars-time-at-melbourne-comes-to-an-end Quote
Moneider96 1,045 Posted September 11, 2015 Posted September 11, 2015 Rumour going around bigfooty that a big name port player is on the way out. Hamish Harlett maybe? They might get rid of him before he becomes a free agent next year. Quote
Demi Dee 578 Posted September 11, 2015 Posted September 11, 2015 Rumour going around bigfooty that a big name port player is on the way out. Hamish Harlett maybe? They might get rid of him before he becomes a free agent next year.Ollie Wines? 2 Quote
chook fowler 19,772 Posted September 11, 2015 Posted September 11, 2015 That must be a joke right? Butcher by name, Butcher by foot. 2 Quote
Ted Lasso 19,586 Posted September 13, 2015 Posted September 13, 2015 My locks for 2015 ????????? Tom Mcdonald Lynden Dunn Nev Jetta ??????????? Christian Salem ????????? Jack Viney Bernie Vince Christian Petracca Jesse Hogan Angus Brayshaw Jeff Garlett ????????? Dean Kent Max Gawn Nathan Jones ??????? Dom Tyson Harry Lumumba Billy Stretch Alex neil-bullen With the new interchange rules there will be a far greater reliance on endurance players than ever, the amount of explosive players that a team can carry will take a hit so guys like Kent may find themselves competing with someone like Garlett for a spot in the team Quote
beelzebub 23,392 Posted September 14, 2015 Posted September 14, 2015 My locks for 2015 ????????? Tom Mcdonald Lynden Dunn Nev Jetta ??????????? Christian Salem ????????? Jack Viney Bernie Vince Christian Petracca Jesse Hogan Angus Brayshaw Jeff Garlett ????????? Dean Kent Max Gawn Nathan Jones ??????? Dom Tyson Harry Lumumba Billy Stretch Alex neil-bullen With the new interchange rules there will be a far greater reliance on endurance players than ever, the amount of explosive players that a team can carry will take a hit so guys like Kent may find themselves competing with someone like Garlett for a spot in the team no love for Vanders ? Quote
Nathan Carroll 4 Posted September 14, 2015 Posted September 14, 2015 Bail - I've got nothing because he basically does nothing. Mckenzie - He was always fighting an uphill battle with the whole red hair thing. Terlich - Gawn's beard is better. Matt Jones - I don't like having 2 people in the same team that share a last name unless they are related. Watts - Unfortunate but we owe him a fresh start somewhere else. Dawes - Unable to jump higher than 1 foot off the ground and I'm a bit dubious about that cut that appeared on his face during the season. Grimes - We have decided to make Jayden Hunt captain in 2016. 1 Quote
Mondê 525 Posted September 14, 2015 Posted September 14, 2015 Butcher would be dirt cheap, if not free. Big bodied, key position forward who regularly takes contested mark and is good in the lead. Yes, he kicks like a mule- but with all those other attributes, I think the kicking can be worked on; never to be perfected, but perhaps improved. IMHO. Disagree, has failed to cement his spot in a team that prides itself on quick ball movement and hitting leading forwards. Goes missing too often and for too long. Would rather punt on the draft and develop from within 1 Quote
Ted Lasso 19,586 Posted September 14, 2015 Posted September 14, 2015 Forgot about vanders bb my mistake 1 Quote
Mondê 525 Posted September 14, 2015 Posted September 14, 2015 Received some mail that Kelly O'Donnell was having a close look at the dogs Michael Talia at the VFL on the weekend. KPD, Out of contract at years end, showed some promising signs during the course of the season but like many young talls is still learning the craft. Could be worth a late rounder 2 Quote
dazzledavey36 56,334 Posted September 14, 2015 Posted September 14, 2015 Just on talking footy. They mentioned Todd Viney was having lunch with Scott Clayton from the GC and 'Breaking Bread' today.. whatever that means. Also Jeremy Howe was interviewed and expect a decision in a couple of days. He said things are looking positive but personally I think he is gone.. 1 Quote
olisik 4,060 Posted September 14, 2015 Posted September 14, 2015 Just on talking footy. They mentioned Todd Viney was having lunch with Scott Clayton from the GC and 'Breaking Bread' today.. whatever that means. Also Jeremy Howe was interviewed and expect a decision in a couple of days. He said things are looking positive but personally I think he is gone.. Yay Yay 2 Quote
Lil_red_fire_engine 11,383 Posted September 14, 2015 Posted September 14, 2015 Just on talking footy. They mentioned Todd Viney was having lunch with Scott Clayton from the GC and 'Breaking Bread' today.. whatever that means. Also Jeremy Howe was interviewed and expect a decision in a couple of days. He said things are looking positive but personally I think he is gone.. Based on the numbers touted, our need to trade in quality mids and the call that we will field a team of competitors I think him being gone is positive. 2 Quote
Demonland 74,431 Posted September 14, 2015 Posted September 14, 2015 Received some mail that Kelly O'Donnell was having a close look at the dogs Michael Talia at the VFL on the weekend. KPD, Out of contract at years end, showed some promising signs during the course of the season but like many young talls is still learning the craft. Could be worth a late rounderIs his brother available? 5 Quote
Ethan Tremblay 31,388 Posted September 14, 2015 Posted September 14, 2015 Where is this Hamish Hartlett talk coming from exactly? (_o_) 2 Quote
Wiseblood 24,637 Posted September 14, 2015 Posted September 14, 2015 Roo's on AFL 360 now. Big dodge on Watts question, personal opinion is based on his demeanour and response Watts is gone. (I'm pretty much a human lie detector) Can you elaborate? What was the question and did Roos give the Ross Lyon googly eyes? Quote
dazzledavey36 56,334 Posted September 14, 2015 Posted September 14, 2015 They asked Roos about Howe. Said they still haven't heard from his management about their offer and instead are out in the field fielding other offers and seeing whats out there. Roosy sounded annoyed and frustrated. I think we will see Howe in different colours next year. 1 Quote
Ethan Tremblay 31,388 Posted September 14, 2015 Posted September 14, 2015 Can you elaborate? What was the question and did Roos give the Ross Lyon googly eyes? Basically said he couldn't guarantee 'any' player will be there next year and it's all about improving our list. He's told the players talks about them moving on isn't to scare them it's to improve the list and win more than 7 games. Buckley then stepped in and said another clubs trash can be another clubs treasure. (Was updating original post with a run down and accidently deleted it) Quote
Bonkers 994 Posted September 14, 2015 Posted September 14, 2015 Can you elaborate? What was the question and did Roos give the Ross Lyon googly eyes? Slobbo asked Roos directly whether Watts would be at Melbourne next year & whether he would be traded. Roos basically didn't deny it but went around the question by saying that we need to improve the list & all players are traceable. He says this has always been his approach to list building from his time at Sydney to now. 2 Quote
Wiseblood 24,637 Posted September 14, 2015 Posted September 14, 2015 They asked Roos about Howe. Said they still haven't heard from his management about their offer and instead are out in the field fielding other offers and seeing whats out there. Roosy sounded annoyed and frustrated. I think we will see Howe in different colours next year. If I was Melbourne I'd pull the offer and tell him to go. No time for this sort of BS. Basically said he couldn't guarantee 'any' player will be there next year and it's all about improving our list. He's told the players talks about them moving on isn't to scare them it's to improve the list and win more than 7 games. Buckley then stepped in and said another clubs trash can be another clubs treasure. (Was updating original post with a run down and accidently deleted it) Thanks mate. Sounds as though someone like Watts can be had... for the right price. Not surprising really. Quote
What 18,810 Posted September 14, 2015 Posted September 14, 2015 If I was Melbourne I'd pull the offer and tell him to go. No time for this sort of BS. I suspect this is exactly what will happen. How many other clubs would Howe get a game at? He aint worth more than 290k Quote