Melbourne asks for draft assistance

pp's gotta be a lay-down misere doesn't it?

doesn't it?

doesn't it?

oh wait a minute........evans.....mcchins......afl commission.....media.....er

The media actually seem to be in our corner on this one - Caro, Robbo, Smith & Whately all supported us getting one, although most of them swing with the breeze so that could change.

When you can factor in "what might happen" as they did last year - then the answer will always be no

Im not trying to argue but could you provide some links on those?

Because i thought everyone was a against it lol.

When you can factor in "what might happen" as they did last year - then the answer will always be no

Hmmm what about "our entire team might contract Ebola" or "half the list might get wiped out in a plane wreck"? If we can bring hypotheticals into it it could help our case?

What about "our entire list might be [censored]"?

Im not trying to argue but could you provide some links on those?

Because i thought everyone was a against it lol.

There was a Patrick Smith article last week supporting it, Robbo and Whately (and eve David King) on 360 have been supportive Whately moreso than Robbo but Robbo still supportive and Caro on Footy Classified last week. This could all change of course if they get a memo from AFL House.

interesting that our great media mfc supporter mike sheahan is against it

Hmmm what about "our entire team might contract Ebola"

That would explain a lot this year

I wonder how many people actually know how many priority picks Melbourne has received since 2007. I reckon the footy world thinks we have have 4+ the fact is we have had 2, one end of first round and one before first round. Through the Hawthorn rebuild they got 3 before round 1 picks from 2001-2005, Carlton got 4 before first round picks between 2003-2007. Most clubs have been able over a 4 year period point it in the right direction, we are now entering into 5 years since our last Priority pick, 8 years of bad football and our 3rd season in a row with less than 4.5 wins. Thats 5 years of the 8 we have won less that 4.5 games, with one year, 2007 we won 5.

Carlton was suspended from the draft for Cheating the salary cap and still got Priority picks.

Bang on target.

Unfortunately the AFL is compromised at every turn.

Had a Hawks supporter mate tell me we don't deserve one. I restrained the initial desire to hook his nuts up to electrodes and talk to him about 2004 and 2005 but I said it isn't about us deserving anything.

They seemingly cannot get over the 'deserve' stuff.

And then he said "but you have had plenty of picks. You have youngsters coming through."

Maybe these idiots just don't know the scope of the failures. They certainly don't know our list.

I do find it enormously hilarious when they say before the season starts - "you blokes are hopeless, you ever thought about switching teams?" and then when PP Season comes around we "don't need another leg up. Plenty of kids coming through."

Just so...hilarious...

Like any argument people say what suits them at that point. BTW did you see those purple pigs flying by?

I wonder how many people actually know how many priority picks Melbourne has received since 2007. I reckon the footy world thinks we have have 4+ the fact is we have had 2, one end of first round and one before first round. Through the Hawthorn rebuild they got 3 before round 1 picks from 2001-2005, Carlton got 4 before first round picks between 2003-2007. Most clubs have been able over a 4 year period point it in the right direction, we are now entering into 5 years since our last Priority pick, 8 years of bad football and our 3rd season in a row with less than 4.5 wins. Thats 5 years of the 8 we have won less that 4.5 games, with one year, 2007 we won 5.

Carlton was suspended from the draft for Cheating the salary cap and still got Priority picks.

Why don't you send that to the papers, especially Barrett.

Like any argument people say what suits them at that point. BTW did you see those purple pigs flying by?

they were pigs? could have sworn they were elephants

time to go to opsm again

How the hell's that going to help ? OPSM sponsor the umpires and look what its done for their eyesight.

Gil got asked about the PP on talking footy into which way they were leaning. Gave a professionally vague response however said that Mark Evans will be running with it and he ll await his recommendation.

Edited by olisik

Gil said pp will be on Oct Commission mtg agenda (no mtg in Sept).

He said Evans will look at: a subjective view of the list; # games won; # games that could have been won. (No mention was made of past performance)

My immediate reaction was that there will be no PP. That could be Dee supporter pessimism but he didn't offer the hope that he did this time last year..

Gil got asked about the PP on talking footy into which way they were leaning. Gave a professionally vague response however said that Mark Evans will be running with it and he ll await his recommendation.

Gil is just vague...period

I didn't realise that either. That's very interesting.

They are going to look at game we could have won? Sounds like they are making an out already since we were close in a number of games. I hope by the same token they also look at our wins that we could have lost.

Edited by s-t-i-n-g-a

Gil said pp will be on Oct Commission mtg agenda (no mtg in Sept).

He said Evans will look at: a subjective view of the list; # games won; # games that could have been won. (No mention was made of past performance)

My immediate reaction was that there will be no PP. That could be Dee supporter pessimism but he didn't offer the hope that he did this time last year..

Games that could have been won? Isn't that 22 every season for every team? I give up, can't these over paid gits just read the words of their own rules and work to them?

Edited by Earl Hood

Games that could have been won? Isn't that 22 every season for every team? I give up, can't these over paid gits just read the words of their own rules and work to them?

No.

They are going to look at game we could have won? Sounds like they are making an out already since we were close in a number of games. I hope by the same token they also look at our wins that we could have lost.

Yep, we really do have a bunch of short signed D..h's running the show.

If they believe what the other clubs and the game reports from our footy experts say it was the other teams (Richmond, Adelaide, Essendon & Carlton) that lost not us that won so on that basis we didn't win any games this year.

your mission agent evans is to find every excuse under the sun why the mfc should not get a pp. the commission suggests you start with examining every game the could have won in the last 8 years. that should give you about 150 reasons to start with.

By the games that could have been won I think he means those where we were leading in the final qtr then fell away. Can't see any other sensible meaning. So we won 4 but could have won 6/7 others in 2014. Thats my take on it.

It's perfectly valid for them to look at the number of games we were in this year. It's a sign of our improvement.

You only need to do the same analysis over our recent history to understand exactly why we need one, though.

Mark Evans will be running with it and he ll await his recommendation.

We won't get one might as well forget about it now.