View in the app

A better way to browse. Learn more.

A full-screen app on your home screen with push notifications, badges and more.

To install this app on iOS and iPadOS
  1. Tap the Share icon in Safari
  2. Scroll the menu and tap Add to Home Screen.
  3. Tap Add in the top-right corner.
To install this app on Android
  1. Tap the 3-dot menu (⋮) in the top-right corner of the browser.
  2. Tap Add to Home screen or Install app.
  3. Confirm by tapping Install.

GAMEDAY - Round 13

Posted

It's a big day for the sport today with Essendon taking the field for the first time since the issue of the SHOW-CAUSE notices on top of last night's results which mean that the Bombers will be in the top eight at the end of the round if they win.

I imagine that there are many Bomber fans not happy with the course of the latest events re the ASADA investigation and it might be good policy for supporters to treat them with caution and respect.

After all, if we lose today, our players are likely to be served with SNOW-CAUSE notices and you know how we would react to that sort of a ribbing. :)

Bombers will come out firing, but can they keep their mind on the job for 4 quarters

Dees by 21

Good advice, if we are winning may refrain from yelling

"your no good off the juice, you dirty cheats"

As tempting as it is, self safety must come first.

I think they will come out firing but be mentally weak. If we can get on top their wheels may fall off. Last years 145 point loss is still very painful to me so I am really hoping we smash them.

The Essendon supporters that I know can be downright scary at the best of times - as well as arrogant , delusional and smug.

I really hope we smash them today - I won't be there as I am in beautiful Daylesford.

Those going - be careful. I have been verbally and almost physically abused at Richmond station a few years ago by disgruntled, angry, possibly brain dead opposition supporters. I was standing on my own, minding my own business but my only sin(in their eyes) was my Melbourne scarf and the fact we had beaten them.

I have never caught the train since to the footy.

The Essendon supporters that I know can be downright scary at the best of times - as well as arrogant , delusional and smug.

I really hope we smash them today - I won't be there as I am in beautiful Daylesford.

Those going - be careful. I have been verbally and almost physically abused at Richmond station a few years ago by disgruntled, angry, possibly brain dead opposition supporters. I was standing on my own, minding my own business but my only sin(in their eyes) was my Melbourne scarf and the fact we had beaten them.

I have never caught the train since to the footy.

Gee that's sad Jane. I hate it when the actions of selfish [censored] cause people to change what they happily and lawfully are entitled to do.

Very winnable game, work has me in Melbourne for a couple of weeks so I'm able to attend the pies/bombers/North games.

My mate who is a pies supporter says that nearly every game is a blockbuster of sorts for his team because teams prime themselves for a big one when playing them. Clubs like us, the dogs, North and the saints do this because it's likely to the biggest crowd they will play in front off if we fail to make the finals. I like what Roos has done with changing the players mindset so that the players believe that every game is a winnable game. In years gone by interstate games were lost before boarding the plane, clubs celebrating someone's milestone or a club playing after a coaches sacking or the passing of a club great were a danger game (I know.....ten years of hell every game was a danger game). As we strive to become a dominant club we must accept that every club is a danger game but also a winnable one, not sit back at the start of the year and earmark certain games as winnable and the rest as automatic losses. Had we been playing like we are now from the start of the year we may well have another 2-3 wins. Yes the bombers will come out fighting but we shouldn't be viewing this any differently to any other game. Stick to our process, stick to our structures and do what we have trained to do. I think clubs that do this will be better served in the long run then clubs that come out full of hot air for the 1st qtr and a bit.

Gee that's sad Jane. I hate it when the actions of selfish [censored] cause people to change what they happily and lawfully are entitled to do.

Yes it is sad because it's always been the easiest way for me to get to the footy. Nowdays I drive or catch a lift with someone else. It was on Queens Birthday - the last time we beat Collingwood. They were total morons and to be honest I am tall, fit and have practiced martial art and participated in numerous self defence courses. But who knows if they had a knife ... Complete cowards but it did frighten the hell out of me.

You just cannot predict what is going through opposition supporters heads. I don't trust any of them.

Smash them early Demons.

We simply must START the game on the front foot.

Dictate what the cheats can do...hopefully cough up the ball.

Yes it is sad because it's always been the easiest way for me to get to the footy. Nowdays I drive or catch a lift with someone else. It was on Queens Birthday - the last time we beat Collingwood. They were total morons and to be honest I am tall, fit and have practiced martial art and participated in numerous self defence courses. But who knows if they had a knife ... Complete cowards but it did frighten the hell out of me.

You just cannot predict what is going through opposition supporters heads. I don't trust any of them.

I've been to literally about 500 games and I don't recall ever seeing a woman get verbally/physically indimidated

Don't let that one bad experience taint your experience forever, odds are very much in your favour of it never happening again!

Well for the 1st time in ages actually since they trounced us last year im missing my first melbourne game at the G. But geez I hope we shut them out early because if they start well there fans will be loud and give them a lift.

I just hope we win. Dont care by how much but we have to be move up that ladder. It would be great to jump richmond and the dogs.

According to SEN Fletcher is out today

Well for the 1st time in ages actually since they trounced us last year im missing my first melbourne game at the G. But geez I hope we shut them out early because if they start well there fans will be loud and give them a lift.

I just hope we win. Dont care by how much but we have to be move up that ladder. It would be great to jump richmond and the dogs.

If we win by about 80 points we'll jump Carlton also and be 12th :D

Really excited for today's game. A big chance to jump up the ladder to 13th or a loss will see us drop down behind GWS to 16th, not huge in the context of things but a win like this just gets the club a bit of reward for effort to go to 13th on the ladder n jump up above the doggies & Richmond!!! C'mon dees

Wasn't Nathan Jones's father beaten up by the magpie thugs after a draw with us some years ago ?

Daniel Cross on Dyson Heppell

Jordie McKenzie on Stanton

Jack Grimes on Brendan Goddard

Then they can worry about trying to stop Jonesy, Tyson, Viney ,Vince, Watts etc etc

According to SEN Fletcher is out today

He is still waiting for his infraction notice via telegram. He has had this portable phone thingy beeping off its head the last couple of days but he can't figure it out.

Jack Grimes on Brendan Goddard

Goddard has him well covered in athleticism and class IMO

Vince to Goddard I reckon

Wasn't Nathan Jones's father beaten up by the magpie thugs after a draw with us some years ago ?

After a QB game, yes. Don't remember which one. Nathan's younger brother was with his father at the time too.

There was quite a bit on Dland at the time it went to court. If you search a bit you'll their pics. I reckon the two dimwits shared an (small) IQ.

It wasn't QB. It was April 2009, and right in front of us!