Posted

With the addition of Michie, Tyson, pick 9 and possibly Vince, what do you think this means for Michael Evans?

He's showed quite a bit in his limited AFL opportunities, but injuries have prevented him from really stringing together multiple games in a row. He's played 13 games in 3 years and has mostly been used through the midfield.

I really rate Evans, and I'd say that when fit he's in our best 22. I'd like to see Roos play him as a small forward with short bursts in the middle. He's shown that he can kick goals (3 in a quarter against GWS earlier this year), and I think that he could be the small forward that we're looking for.

Thoughts?

Posted

If he can stay injury free, I reckon he will be fighting Blease and Barry for a spot on the wing. At this stage I see Barry winning that position, but it will be a close call.

Posted (edited)

With the addition of Michie, Tyson, pick 9 and possibly Vince, what do you think this means for Michael Evans?

He's showed quite a bit in his limited AFL opportunities, but injuries have prevented him from really stringing together multiple games in a row. He's played 13 games in 3 years and has mostly been used through the midfield.

I really rate Evans, and I'd say that when fit he's in our best 22. I'd like to see Roos play him as a small forward with short bursts in the middle. He's shown that he can kick goals (3 in a quarter against GWS earlier this year), and I think that he could be the small forward that we're looking for.

Thoughts?

I don't think so.

When I think of a small forward..well they have to be small, really quick, agile and clean. (they need to be able to dive out of the way when Clark Dawes and Hogan are all going for the same ball).

Evans could rest up forward but I don't think he is suited to a small forward role. Still has a lot of potential I wouldn't worry just yet - lets see what Roos can do with him first. There is always a spot for a decent midfielder.

Edited by Young Dee
Posted

Needs an injury free year. I think we grade him a bit higher than we should.

IMO that is because we compare him to a number of VFL quality mid field players we have on the list.

On that basis he looks like a genius.

In reality he may only be average, that still makes him better than about five I can think of.

But he needs to be on the park, you cannot prove anything in the outer.

Posted

He's a zillion miles better than either Barry or Blease. Provided he can get over his injuries, I'd be very surprised if he couldn't become a solid member of our 22...but then of course I thought the same about Nev Jetta.

Posted

He's a zillion miles better than either Barry or Blease. Provided he can get over his injuries, I'd be very surprised if he couldn't become a solid member of our 22...but then of course I thought the same about Nev Jetta.

I think you are damming him with faint praise Chook!

Posted

The kid will be a star. Great skills, once he strings some games together we will see some good footy. The games he has played for us have been pretty good. This is why we have persisted with him through his injuries. he has good run and ball carry and has a long accurate kick, i recall he slotted one from the fifty on the boundary in one of our last games maybe against north. I think he could be a solid member of the midfield in the future.

Posted

The kid will be a star. Great skills, once he strings some games together we will see some good footy. The games he has played for us have been pretty good. This is why we have persisted with him through his injuries. he has good run and ball carry and has a long accurate kick, i recall he slotted one from the fifty on the boundary in one of our last games maybe against north. I think he could be a solid member of the midfield in the future.

Just condemned another Melbourne youngster.

I would rather wait and see firstly if he can get his body right and maintain it, then play a string of games together. If he does even reasonably well in these then I will start to think along these lines.

Posted

Just condemned another Melbourne youngster.

I would rather wait and see firstly if he can get his body right and maintain it, then play a string of games together. If he does even reasonably well in these then I will start to think along these lines.

lol no worries dude, he's better than most of our midfield from last season with 13 games under his belt.

Gotta have belief that these young guys will come along with a good mentor like roos.

Posted

lol no worries dude, he's better than most of our midfield from last season with 13 games under his belt.

Gotta have belief that these young guys will come along with a good mentor like roos.

Sorry Deez but your post says he is not much.

"Better than most of our midfield last year"

Not a big recommendation.

Posted (edited)

Fully fit I have him in our 22 playing HFF, rotating through the midfield.

His speed and spread will be very valuable. If Roos can get him to play a role clamping down on the oppositions best rebounding dfender each week Pickles could become an extremely valuable member of our 22.

As for our designated small forward, as of this stage I still see that as a battle between Byrnes, Kent, Blease and whoever we draft at Pick 57.

Edit: Spelling

Edited by Tall Defence
Posted

Sorry Deez but your post says he is not much.

"Better than most of our midfield last year"

Not a big recommendation.

Taking into account the limited opportunities he has had it's not a bad achievement. It's no body's secret that out midfields been the laughing stock, but this kid shows promise.

Posted

Evans is OK. Good speed, can butcher it by foot, makes the odd dodgy decision, but has some upside.

Hasn't had a decent run of it due to injuries. 2014 is his defining year.

Posted

Thoughts?

My thoughts exactly. I have him in the FP of by best 22.

Rotating through the midfield with Jones Trengove Vince Viney Tyson.

He has a strong body (when it's not broken) can mark has the speed. I think back to 2013 that first game against GWS.

He was instrumental in getting us into the game and winning it. He looked a natural.

He is close to being a love child of mine.

Posted

Evans seems to be a forward pocket opportunist type

Does nothing outstanding through

Moving players like Evans up the ground is a mistake as that gives them time to make the wrong choices

We have a few of those still

Barry is yet to debut but i have my hopes up on him

IMO Jetta is finished at AFL level and will end up playing in the WAFL

Posted

Evans is OK. Good speed, can butcher it by foot, makes the odd dodgy decision, but has some upside.

Hasn't had a decent run of it due to injuries. 2014 is his defining year.

If he can stay healthy, where do you see him spending most of his time: FP, HFF, Wing, On Ball, Casey?

Posted

He's a bit tantalising is Pickles. He dominated the last quarter of our win against GWS, and seemed to have all the skills, but just hasn't had a consistent string of games to build his form or confidence otherwise. Could be anything IMO, a regular best 22, or a not quite there. Let's hope he gets a chance to build games.

Posted

Looks like a natural footballer to me.

Easily best 22 if fit.

IF.

Good overhead,good kick,can run and tackle.

I've never saw him fluff too many which is a big tick considering the company he keeps.

Posted

Looks like a natural footballer to me.

Easily best 22 if fit.

IF.

Good overhead,good kick,can run and tackle.

I've never saw him fluff too many which is a big tick considering the company he keeps.

So Biff, I ask you the same question I asked BH...where do you see him playing next year? I don't see him as one of our top midfielders, so he'll need to find another position, at least for some of the time.

Posted

So Biff, I ask you the same question I asked BH...where do you see him playing next year? I don't see him as one of our top midfielders, so he'll need to find another position, at least for some of the time.

He is a utility.

I don't think positions will mean much if we are going to be playing Roos rugby.

HBF/rover/bench?