Posted

All this hype that his comment has created, what will happen to the club if he doesn't coach. The season has been a disaster, I hope Paul Roos knew what he was saying and the effect on the club that it would have if he rejects our offer. It is now all our eggs in one basket, if it doesn't happen it is going to be extremely hard for the club to move on.

The club will move on. It will be Demonland that has the problem.

Posted

The club will move on. It will be Demonland that has the problem.

I agree the club would by this stage have an option A, B, C and D but i don't think it will come to that, Roos is fueling most of this himself.

I still take most of what Barrett says with a grain of salt.

Posted

I would lmao if Roos states tonight that his family felt it was not the right time to move states and he has had to turn down the offer, and then gets announced as our coach on Thursday night. That would be priceless.

Posted (edited)

Lets see.

$1.6m in 2014

Less $400k for Craig who may get Lions job. That's $1.2m balance.

Conservatively lets say an extra 6000 members x$200 =$1.2m.

He is now at zero having paid for himself.

Hang on I forgot, extra sponsors, more foundation members and old ones topping up, more donors, that could be considerable amounts of money coming into the club.

Makes sense on a purely commercial basis anyway you look at it.

Hang on I forgot that maybe the team improves under him and then all those income streams keep increasing.

Seems pretty sound to me.

Edited by Redleg
Posted

Lets see.

$1.6m in 2014

Hang on I forgot, extra sponsors, more foundation members and old ones topping up, that could be considerable amounts of money coming into the club.

Hang on I forgot that maybe the team improves under him and then all those income streams keep increasing.

Hang on, we're still going to get crucified by the umpires ..

Posted

Lets see.

$1.6m in 2014

Hang on I forgot, extra sponsors, more foundation members and old ones topping up, more donors, that could be considerable amounts of money coming into the club.

Football department culture improves, more likely to attract top end talent and high profile players, kids more excited about MFC, members numbers, crowd numbers, sponsor numbers shoot through the roof,

this is without playing a game.

Posted

Hang on, we're still going to get crucified by the umpires ..

Maybe not if we have a Coach who is prepared to do something about it.

Clearly other clubs discuss umpiring with the Geisch.

Posted

Damian Barrett is such a loser

Once again reporting Roos to Melbourne negatively by asking how we will pay for it and why are we getting AFL handouts to pay for a greta coach

Too dumb to realize the extra members and sponsors will easily cover it with plenty of change to spare

[censored] Barratt you ugly [censored]

The bail out package was for a football department restructure to fast track our recovery, Barrett is a north supporter and just supporting Brayshaw because they feel they are missing out on something.

if he had facts it wouldn't be so bad, he's just a [censored]

Posted

Once again reporting Roos to Melbourne negatively by asking how we will pay for it and why are we getting AFL handouts to pay for a greta coach

Too dumb to realize the extra members and sponsors will easily cover it with plenty of change to spare

To be fair, he did say that the money wasn't going to be wasted. He obviously thinks its a good move. But yes, he is a [censored]

Posted

Lets see.

$1.6m in 2014

I think that's optimistic. But I agree now is probably the time to spend money to make money otherwise we will be in the hole even deeper. For us to afford a 500k a year coach and a full footy department we need to get 40,000 members, proper sponsorship and decent attendance. For us to afford Paul Roos we have to get even more than that. But right now the extra million a year might be AFL funded and therefore if at the start of his tenure we can get decent results and by the end of the tenure we've pushed towards 45k members and very good crowds then we will be able to afford him on our own. I'm sure that's the way the AFL is looking at it.

Otherwise if results continue and our revenue stays at this very low level we won't be able to afford any coach out there, yet alone a decent experienced one that we need.

Posted

Did I read somewhere that Barrett is a Roos supporter?

Brayshaw has already toed this party line.

North Melbourne are the biggest bunch of "What about me?", sooking club in the AFL. They have a gripe about every little thing that goes against them, and will continue to feel that while they were being pushed up North, and now left to their own devices, we are being given a golden ticket.

I can understand that perception and frustration from their part, but they just always cry foul in the media. No one actually cares....

Posted

I reckon Peter Jackson will have the financials covered well in advance.

Posted

Paul Roos to be assisted by Simon Black & Cameron Ling

Source?

Posted (edited)

Source?

Same source that told me "Roos has signed", said "Ling as assistant".

I believe nothing until I see it in writting.

Edited by Jaded

Posted

It made me think he was already heavily considering it when that quote came out - nothing like tempering expectations for your new shareholders.

I think he was considering it long before that quote.

Agree on the tempering expectations within the article. That's only common sense when starting at the base of the abyss.

Posted

Same source he told me "Roos has signed", said "Ling as assistant".

I believe nothing until I see it in writting.

It's kinda obvious that's what's going to happen based on their comments but yeah, i'd like to see a presser

Posted

i dont think anything will happen this week, in fact im sure of it.. next week more likely, going to be a long week and a bit im afraid.

Posted

i dont think anything will happen this week, in fact im sure of it.. next week more likely, going to be a long week and a bit im afraid.

Tomorrow

Posted (edited)

The bail out package was for a football department restructure to fast track our recovery, Barrett is a north supporter and just supporting Brayshaw because they feel they are missing out on something.

So he's a North supporter and a Young Liberal...death is too good for him!

And I'm with Redleg, Paul Roos could well be a cash-positive appointment, by giving hope to members and sponsors where precious little existed before!

Edited by I Give a Gawnski
Posted

who was it who once uttered

You getz whatz ya payz for !! ??

we've gone cheap

and the toy broke the day after boxing day !!

Sometime you have to invest . This is where we do just that.

Posted

well they are... but honestly wgaff ??

They had their opportunity and spat it back...so be it.

Posted

Lets see.

$1.6m in 2014

Redleg, you forgot the cost of all the wonderful extras the members get, such as, um, er...Oh, forget it.