Posted

Scott Selwood is a great player. If somehow we can get him off his WCE contract and lure him here, that would be an enormous get for this club.

If Roos is the reason why Selwood might entertain the thought of breaking his WCE contract, then that is just more evidence of why we needed an experienced coach of Roos' status.

Also, James Brayshaw is a [censored] of a sore loser. Questioning why we needed the money despite our membership and stuff. Well, James, have you seen our crowds? Have you seen our performances on field? Have you noticed that other clubs (yours included, I'd bet) don't want to host us because of the poor crowd and awful spectacle? We don't need money because we're running out of it, we need money because we need to pull ourselves up from oblivion.

Posted

Roosy - Go ahead make my day!

Posted

poor James..diddums !!!

Posted

I think id die of happiness if we got Scott Selwood

23 years old averages, 26 touches and 5 tackles, absolute machine who oozes leadership

Hes contracted so wed have to trade for him

Didn't a Selwood retire from WC?

R there 2 Selwoods at WC?

Or am I totally barking up the wrong tree here?

Posted

Mods stick Roos on the banner.

No wait till a presser is called then stick his head on it asap.

Cant wait for his mug to be up on top of Demonland.

Posted

GWS $1m for $cully makes Roos salary, whatever it is, seem a bargain.

Actually it is $1.2m a year for the unnamed by 6 years.

Posted

Didn't a Selwood retire from WC?

R there 2 Selwoods at WC?

Or am I totally barking up the wrong tree here?

Adam retired, Scott is a young mid with a future (and a present).

Should have used:

Altavista-Logo.png

Posted

I once thought the same thing, but given where we are now, I'll take boring and winning to one way football of Bailey and the stop start football (with smashings) of Neeld.

Having said that I'll be happy with either of Williams or Eade also.

agree boring and winning is be

I once thought the same thing, but given where we are now, I'll take boring and winning to one way football of Bailey and the stop start football (with smashings) of Neeld.

Having said that I'll be happy with either of Williams or Eade also

Losing by 10 goals plus every weekend is pretty damn boring too and if we are going to bore people, I would rather do it with wins on the board.. I don't think Swans are boring , perhaps a tad defensive but we are a leaking sieve now so tightening up with the players we have is only going to be a good thing..

Posted

Any more word on Roos?

heard Barrett saying we tabled a formal offer last night, imo if he met with PJ and directors last night it would more than likely be a signing situation, but that's just a guess

hopefully it's all a done deal and they're gunna let us know soon

Posted

Any more word on Roos?

heard Barrett saying we tabled a formal offer last night, imo if he met with PJ and directors last night it would more than likely be a signing situation, but that's just a guess

hopefully it's all a done deal and they're gunna let us know soon

as they have been doing for a while, out of respect for Neil Craig, they are just waiting for the season to be officially over, which it will be in about 4 hours time

Posted

This news has me buzzing so hopefully something comes from it

I would love Scott Selwood but cannot see it happening.

I had a thought today that I wouldn't mind hearing people's opinions on it

Possible trade with GC Suns Watts/Sylvia for Trent McKenzie ? Beautiful kick of the football from half back which is what we need. Suns have a dearth of talent ripe for the picking and either Watts or Sylvia and package up a draft pick aswell may be enough to get the deal done. Victorian boy too.

Another one is Luke Shuey another Melbourne boy who we could use in our midfield. Maybe even Andrew Gaff. If Worsfold goes as expected then we could really get into one or two of their ears and especially if we get Roos we may have a chance to snare one or 2 of them

Just a couple of ideas

Posted (edited)

Selwood retired, I hadn't read that before.

& only 13 games shy of 200 ???

maybe we could convince him to help us out for a year. whilst we teach our young squad the ways of responsible footy?

Geelong have the best Selwood by the length of the Flemington Straight. The remainder are Jack Dyer good ordinary footballer types. To wit role players in a great team but not great players themselves. We may consider the younger of the WC Selwoods in Scott but only at the right price. He would get a game in our midfield but he ain't no champ. I watch plenty of Weagles games on Fox. The older now retired WC Selwood has been running up and down on the same spot for a couple of seasons.

Edited by demoniac
Posted

Geelong have the best Selwood by the length of the Flemington Straight. The remainder are Jack Dyer good ordinary footballer types. To wit role players in a great team but not great players themselves. We may consider the younger of the WC Selwoods in Scott but only at the right price. He would get a game in our midfield but he ain't no champ. I watch plenty of Weagles games on Fox. The older now retired WC Selwood has been running up and down on the same spot for a couple of seasons.

Agreed. The only Gold lives in Geelong. Scott is ok.

Posted

Couldn't agree more! About Dwayne Russel!

in relation to the getting a court junction remark..

Lets all keep in mind the Dwayne Russel is without a doubt the worst commentator in the game and his opinion holds about as much weight as Caroline Wilson at a comedy night.. the bloke is as interesting as a damp hot dog..

Judd turned Melb down because of our facilities (junction oval) And Aker and Ball were after immediate success..

I can imagine players getting an injunction to prevent Dwayno commentating on their games on the basis that it would damage their body of work.

Posted (edited)

Going to be about the most interesting EOS I can remember ( or imagine )

its like we've gone to OZ and are coming home with a HEART, a BRAIN and some COURAGE. !!!

( we better make RED boots the absolute requirement !! lol )

Edited by belzebub59

Posted

within a week Eade is out and Roos is a 50/50.

I reckon Roos is over the line.

Eade is such a sook, first he wanted the job but didn't want to go through an interview process.

Then he goes through and interview process and when it looks like he won't get the job - he pulls out.

All to protect poor Rodneys ego. I see why Rocket has never been a success as a coach, he is inherently weak, cannot take criticism and most likely always has to be right.

Posted

Time to tell us who is the Coach!

Posted

Otc will be very interesting, potential announcement?