6 A desire to coach at AFL Level

7 Proven success as a Coach

Answer :- Gary Ayres

1 Coached 2 AFL clubs

2 Coached to two Grand Finals at AFL level

3 Respected by all

4 Dual Norm Smith Medalist

5 Longevity as a coach demonstrates this skill

6 Has expressed the Desire ( thats why I'm still coaching )

7 VFL Premiership and runner up last year - two AfL GF's proves this

- There is no one available better qualified !!!

What we need !

1 Experience at AFL level

2 Success as a Coach at AFL level

3 Someone Players already respect

4 Played AFL Successfully

5 People management skills

1 Coached 2 AFL clubs

3 Respected by all

Mark Williams also qualifies under your guidelines.

PS. He also coached a team to an AFL flag.

Edited by Redleg

Mark William is the obvious choice!

Totally underrated...lets remember this a bloke that coached a team to the 04 flag, beating a triple premiership lions outfit! We could all name 5 lions players on the day, try and name 5 port players? Most of you wouldn't be able to without the wonder of google. "Choco" got the best out of his players (have a look at Dusty Martin at Richmond presently)

Gary Ayres lol

Hes got ten lengths on Neeld and Bailey, obviously it should be Williams, but we also need a mouth piece, whos the biggest mouth in the AFL?

Jesus help us

Mark William is the obvious choice!

Totally underrated...lets remember this a bloke that coached a team to the 04 flag, beating a triple premiership lions outfit! We could all name 5 lions players on the day, try and name 5 port players? Most of you wouldn't be able to without the wonder of google. "Choco" got the best out of his players (have a look at Dusty Martin at Richmond presently)

Sorry Philthy couldn't resist but I have a head full of useless info, Michael Wilson, Wanganeen, Pickett, Cassissi, Schofield (went to school with him), Carr, Wakelin, Tredrea (capt for the injured Primus), Thurstans, Cornes brothers, Roger James, Hardwick, Lade, Brogan, Burgoyne brothers, that's without Google I think Francou was injured and didn't play in the flag

What we need !

1 Experience at AFL level

2 Success as a Coach at AFL level

3 Someone Players already respect

4 Played AFL Successfully

5 People management skills

1 Coached 2 AFL clubs

3 Respected by all

If not a new coach what about FREE BEER for all members who attend the game or Watch the game on TV.

More beer = Less Pain!

Hes got ten lengths on Neeld and Bailey, obviously it should be Williams, but we also need a mouth piece, whos the biggest mouth in the AFL?

mate i agree he is way better than Neeld. Anyone is.

I actually dont mind Ayres, but we are a club on deaths door and we must land a bigger fish.

Why the Choco love? Not sure about what Choco has that Craig doesn't if you want to strap someone in the chair.

Yes, he has a flag but have a look at what William's left behind. A shouldering train wreak that is into another nose dive after a promising start to 2013. People saw Neeld has set us back 5 years, well William's has runs on the board doing that with Port.

People question Neeld's people skills but William's has the chance of going even harder and stepping on more toes. Twice as likely to have a hissy and tear the place down as well.

I'm just not sure he's the type of guy to learn from his mistakes (see the GWS bust up).

Edited by FC Melbourne

Trengove seen having coffee with Lingy.

Let's hope it was sizing up his thoughts on being a midfield coach.

Not as I think as a mentor.

mate i agree he is way better than Neeld. Anyone is.

I actually dont mind Ayres, but we are a club on deaths door and we must land a bigger fish.

Mate the amount of readily available big fish is limited, even smaller if you remove the ones who are just unatainable.

Williams meets some of our criteria but I'm not sure he meets them all, while as much as I would love Clarkson,Matthews or Roos we have the same chance of having Norm Smith coaching us next year, none.

Exactly what we need is probably not available so we will have to take next best, and while he doesn't float everyones boat Ayres meets as many of our needs as the others who are genuinely available.

As for anyone being better than Neeld, that is fairly representative of the pissweak standard of posts being put up about this subject at the moment.

If Neeld goes soon, you would have to think the AFL would be in on the selection process. They'd be pushing for Paul Roos hard IMO, reckon Vlad would help chip in, we have little money to pay him. Weve f'ed up too many times on our own to have another crack. Can't say I'm a Mark Williams fan. Not sure he could raise a team from the dead. Who the f can?

If MN is sacked post Mondays board meeting. how long will "we" give the new coach before the "Sack <insert name here>" threads appear?

Unless Malthouse, Clarkson or Roos were available, I would not bother with another unknown coach.

I heard that choco has taken the young tigers players under his wing by showing them and interstate draftee's the sights of Melbourne and also showing them how to perform a hook turn in the city. On the other hand he can give a spray at a break that could melt the skin off a player. He does have the footy smarts to know when to spray a team and then protect his players which I believe is Neeld's biggest downfall. My question is does Choco have the gameplan to bring us back from the dead?

If MN is sacked post Mondays board meeting. how long will "we" give the new coach before the "Sack <insert name here>" threads appear?

Unless Malthouse, Clarkson or Roos were available, I would not bother with another unknown coach.

Unknown/untried senior coaches will be off limits. My guess is a proven coach will bring a succession plan with him, like they did at Sydney.

I've been told by a reliable source that Neeld is staying until the end of his 3 year contract.

I want Roos, but I am warming to choco.

Craig as caretaker, mind you, I remember when the crows were struggling, Craig changed his gameplan overnight and the crows started to dominate. Same thing could happen at MFC?

I've been told by a reliable source that Neeld is staying until the end of his 3 year contract.

Yeah right, if so you might aswell start working on the design for the new Melbourne kangaroos jumper.

It's ridiculous to think that there is a salary cap which should prevent these type of smashings, yet it happens week in week out.

8,1/2 wins in 2011, talk about the baby and the bathwater.