Dylan Shiel

Went to high school with Dyl before he defected to Caulfield Grammar.. From when he was a junior, you could always tell he was destined for big things in footy - one of those likely types. Has always had a great build too. He's quick, strong, and skillful (with a hint of arrogance too :) ).

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eO9EPdxtYiY

^This video shows a mix of current and junior footy of his (ignore the terrible music)

Not a bad place to defect to. Judd, Goddard, Ziebell etc. But maybe I'm biased. ;)

I thought we weren't allowed to recruit private school boys anymore? Apparently they're soft.

Scrub Shiel from the list. Not interested in becoming a demon.

who is ??? lol

Scrub Shiel from the list. Not interested in becoming a demon.

I realise this statement is not gospel but I am not surprised

We need to send Roosy and Pia Miller up to Sydney to convince Sheils to come to the MFC :) if not I reckon we are going to the draft with pick 2.......... Which isn't all bad but it's going to be another long year

under no circumstances will tmac be traded. Far too important. Can think of about 20 blokes I would send first

While McDonald is promising whats his kicking and decision making like. H's more likely to turn it over than to hit a target. Ohalpin kicked 4 on him on this year which isnt anything to be proud of

FWIW pretty much all of those goals were absolute gifts, I remember Wayne Carey on MMM saying that he would have been embarrassed to celebrate kicking any of them

I realise this statement is not gospel but I am not surprised

We need to send Roosy and Pia Miller up to Sydney to convince Sheils to come to the MFC :) if not I reckon we are going to the draft with pick 2.......... Which isn't all bad but it's going to be another long year

It is gospel.

He is not interested in being traded to Melbourne.

It is gospel.

He is not interested in being traded to Melbourne.

Got a source fella?

And sewell is not interested either but that does not mean it wont happen. Generally I think most players would not be interested until events start to move and have to decide on what they are going to do.

Got a source fella?

Sleeve has already mentioned he has a mate that works at ESP. And whatever I may think of him he wouldn't air it unless it was rock solid information.

I find it very funny this business of players "nominating" the club they want to be traded to. Their club is under absolutely no obligation to trade them to the club of their choice. The club's sole obligation is to get the best value trade they can. Look at Billy Longer wanting to go the the Hawks. He wants his club to trade him at a significant loss so that he can have an armchair ride with a premiership side. I'd be telling him to go jump personally. The Hawks have virtually no chance of getting him if he goes to the draft, so the club has the best hand here. They would be well within their rights to tell him to nominate someone else or risk the draft.

It all started with Judd, and now everyone, including players with no runs on the board believe they can call the shots. in the past players were traded all the time against their will for the betterment of the club. I agree that clubs like Brisbane and GWS should be looking for the best deal not simply appeasing deserting players.

I find it very funny this business of players "nominating" the club they want to be traded to. Their club is under absolutely no obligation to trade them to the club of their choice. The club's sole obligation is to get the best value trade they can. Look at Billy Longer wanting to go the the Hawks. He wants his club to trade him at a significant loss so that he can have an armchair ride with a premiership side. I'd be telling him to go jump personally. The Hawks have virtually no chance of getting him if he goes to the draft, so the club has the best hand here. They would be well within their rights to tell him to nominate someone else or risk the draft.

Couldn't agree more. Except if Longer did lob in the draft Brisbane get nothing so the clubs aren't all that powerful.

The AFL have made things very much in the players favour at the moment. A few players should go look at the NFL with no guaranteed contracts and players able to be traded whenever and wherever and see how good they want it. If Longer so desperately wants to move back to Melbourne then he should be willing to play for any of the 10 clubs.

This is why I hate how players can nominate a club to choose to be traded to, and then threaten to walk to the PSD if they don't get traded to that desired club. That's why the powerhouse finals clubs will always get their man not only through free agency, but for also when player X is out of contract and not having to give up much in return.

Only the ones from Brighton Grammar or Yarra Valley Grammar.

U still going on about that. I want to know which BGS lad beat you up and snaked your girlfriend.

You have one mighty chip on your shoulder about that one chief.

What I hate is player managers being interviewed on radio all the time. I understand for free agency the manager is involved but we now have managers being asked what deal between X and Y to get their player to a club is. Those deals have nothing to do with the managers, it's between the two clubs.

Edited by Clint Bizkit

Its well and truly covered but I would add that I agree there is no place for players nominating their preferred club. It ruins the honesty of the trade system, puts the club with the player to be traded in a compromised position and is prejudicial to the draft if that is where the player ends up.

The whole reason free agency came in was to provide players with this option. You want to choose your club; wait until you are a free agent
You want to risk a trade, then your club will get the best deal it can.
You want to risk the draft, all clubs should be able to draft you, whomever has the first pick and is willing to spend it, gets you.
That is how it should work, all things being equal(ised).

Absolutely we should trade pick 2 for Shiels. This bloke considered a top 3 pick before he was initially pre picked for the Giants. Killed us the first time this year with his gut running and speed. Highly regarded for his leadership too.

294746.jpg

I would like him but I hope the club plays hard ball and tries for Shiel and pick 9 for our pick 2 and second rounder (18-20ish). Some other sweetener from us may probably be required.

GWS have a massive abundance of mids, they will most likely want Scharenberg to fill their defensive void - I can't see them passing on Boyd and he won't be around at pick 9 (another midfielder).

Anyone listen to SEN? The Ox confident we will get Shiel

I would like him but I hope the club plays hard ball and tries for Shiel and pick 9 for our pick 2 and second rounder (18-20ish). Some other sweetener from us may probably be required.

GWS have a massive abundance of mids, they will most likely want Scharenberg to fill their defensive void - I can't see them passing on Boyd and he won't be around at pick 9 (another midfielder).

Difficult to play hard ball when the player is contracted though.

Anyone listen to SEN? The Ox confident we will get Shiel

Give us a run down man..

The Ox has very good source too. Called the Scully move at the start of the year and got ridiculed.. Had the last laugh at the end of the day.

Give us a run down man..

The Ox has very good source too. Called the Scully move at the start of the year and got ridiculed.. Had the last laugh at the end of the day.

As it turned out I think the club did.

Hogan - $cully