Posted

Would love to see Dawes, Viney and McDonald return. Lets hope and see, I guess. If Dawes gets up to play I'd rest Hogan and go with Dawes, Sellar and Pedersen and see if the three can work in tandem.

Having Jack Viney and Jimmy Toumpas opposed to Gary Ablett Jnr. for even brief parts of the game should prove an interesting experience for them.

Posted (edited)

I think this is an important game it provides us with our last real chance to test our structures/gameplan, allow players to gell with eachother, get some confidence into the group. It realy is a chance to go into round 1 with some confidence, I will be greatly disapointed if we lose this game and Neeld will not be able to use the 'lack of experience' excuse this time. I want to see a near best 22 maybe with a few exceptions (fringe players such as Jetta/Strauss).

Edited by Young Dee
Posted

I made the point elsewhere that although the focus this week is on Southport where the Demons take on the Gold Coast Suns, if you've developed a fondness for Casey Fields after last Saturday's NAB Cup game against the Saints, why not come back again this week for the Scorpions' first practice match v Frankston?

The neighbouring Dolphins have recruited well, it promises to be a big day at Cranbourne East and the parking won't be anywhere near as bad as last week. I can't promise which of the Demons will be on show this week as the MFC will probably take up a decent squad and rest a few as well.

SATURDAY MARCH 16

Casey Scorpions vs Frankston at Casey Fields DL 11am VFL 2pm

However, it looks likely that some big guns will be on hand at the same venue following week (March 23) when the Scorps take on VFL heavyweights Port Melbourne and they could have a couple of handy inclusions in Mitch Clark and Jack Trengove.

Demons look to VFL.

Casey will round off its practice match series at home against Box Hill Hawks on 30 March.

Posted

Good on you KC

You are the best PR man the scorps have

Posted

The GC match remains a practice match and should be taken as such.

First - what was our biggest error in the 2nd quarter against the Saints? Defensive running, work rate and positioning/structures. Practice these things.

Second - have those players vying for a position in round one see if they can earn a spot. Players such as Pedersen, Viney, Toumpas, Strauss, Jetta, Tapscott, Evans, Terlich, M Jones, etc... should be the main focus.

Posted

The GC match remains a practice match and should be taken as such.

First - what was our biggest error in the 2nd quarter against the Saints? Defensive running, work rate and positioning/structures. Practice these things.

Second - have those players vying for a position in round one see if they can earn a spot. Players such as Pedersen, Viney, Toumpas, Strauss, Jetta, Tapscott, Evans, Terlich, M Jones, etc... should be the main focus.

Having talked with my dad after the Casey game he said that the work in the middle of Dal Santo and Montagna blew us away. So take what you will of that.

As for the fringe players I would say I can understand the reasoning but I would like us to still have a focus on getting into good habits - with one of those namely winning - and that involves having a midfield that can compete. If I had all the names in the 10 midfield rotations that were pushing for a spot it would be difficult to include any of the established pros of the team: Jones, Grimes, Sylvia and McKenzie.

M.Jones, Magner, Couch, Toumpas, Viney, Kent, Barry, Evans, Taggert, and Bail are all looking to make up the other 5 or 6 spots.

Posted

Subject to injury and niggles virtually all clubs try to play their best and most likely team for round 1 in NAB 4. I can't see why this will be any different. Trengove and Clark are an outside chance for round 1, but probably won't be risked, and Tom McDonald has an ankle injury, but that's about it I would imagine.

Posted

Subject to injury and niggles virtually all clubs try to play their best and most likely team for round 1 in NAB 4. I can't see why this will be any different. Trengove and Clark are an outside chance for round 1, but probably won't be risked, and Tom McDonald has an ankle injury, but that's about it I would imagine.

No, I think Dawes is out too (with a hammy)

Posted

I work at Southport Sharks and I was absolutely thrilled on Sunday night when my manager told me the Dees are coming up for our practice match against The Suns. For those who don't know The ground itself is AFL Quality. The bloke who looks after the Gabba also takes care of our ground.There is an under cover grandstand on the main side of the venue. Facility is by far the Best facility in Queensland. Massive event centre, 2nd largest Pokies venue in Queensland besides the casino, A café, 300 seat food court, 80 seater fine dining restaurant and a balcony bar That overlooks the whole football ground. It's closer to surfers than what Metricon Stadium is and has loads of parking.

So I hope I pump into a few of you die hard Dees supporter up here on Saturday.I will be floating around the venue as I am the events supervisor so if your coming up don't be shy to say hi. Cant miss me. Im the only Asian bloke that works there.

Hope to see a few of you up here and hope to see a big win.

Phuong

Posted

I work at Southport Sharks and I was absolutely thrilled on Sunday night when my manager told me the Dees are coming up for our practice match against The Suns. For those who don't know The ground itself is AFL Quality. The bloke who looks after the Gabba also takes care of our ground.There is an under cover grandstand on the main side of the venue. Facility is by far the Best facility in Queensland. Massive event centre, 2nd largest Pokies venue in Queensland besides the casino, A café, 300 seat food court, 80 seater fine dining restaurant and a balcony bar That overlooks the whole football ground. It's closer to surfers than what Metricon Stadium is and has loads of parking.

So I hope I pump into a few of you die hard Dees supporter up here on Saturday.I will be floating around the venue as I am the events supervisor so if your coming up don't be shy to say hi. Cant miss me. Im the only Asian bloke that works there.

Phuong

PUMP in to a few die hard dees supporters? sorry Phuong, i couldnt help myself :)

Guest Spirit of 39
Posted

Anybody got any idea about livestreams of the game??? Please don't tell me the 5AA boys are doing the game... ;)

Posted

Agree, and I hope this is why Joel Macdonald has been dropped in lieu of Strauss.

He fights to the death and wins the footy, but kills us by constantly giving the ball back.

I'd be much happier with Strauss in his spot.

Posted

Would love to see Dawes, Viney and McDonald return. Lets hope and see, I guess. If Dawes gets up to play I'd rest Hogan and go with Dawes, Sellar and Pedersen and see if the three can work in tandem.

Dawes and T.McDonald not playing. Strauss and Viney in.

Is it 11.30 or 12.30, considering daylight saving.

Posted

PhattDemon, on 13 Mar 2013 - 23:36, said:

Phuong

Great plug mate.

Posted

Teams for Saturday:

Melbourne

1. Jesse Hogan, 2. Nathan Jones, 4. Jack Watts, 5. Jimmy Toumpas, 8. James Frawley, 10. Shannon Byrnes, 12. Colin Sylvia, 13. Jordie McKenzie, 14. Lynden Dunn, 15. David Rodan, 19. James Strauss, 20. Colin Garland, 21. Cam Pederson, 22. James Magner, 26. Daniel Nicholson, 27. Tom Gillies, 30. James Sellar, 31. Jack Grimes, 32. Michael Evans, 35. Luke Tapscott, 36. Aaron Davey, 38. Jeremy Howe ,39. Neville Jetta, 40. Mark Jamar, 42. Jake Spencer, 45. Matt Jones, 46. Dean Terlich

Gold Coast Suns

1 Jaeger OMeara, 2 Zac Smith, 3 Jared Brennan, 5 Jarrod Harbrow, 7 Karmichael Hunt, 9 Gary Ablett, 10 Dion Prestia, 12 Sam Day, 14 Matthew Warnock, 15 Daniel Gorringe, 16 Rory Thompson, 17 Steven May, 23 Charlie Dixon, 24 David Swallow, 25 Danny Stanley, 26 Matt Shaw, 29 Tom Murphy, 32 Brandon Matera, 33 Aaron Hall, 34 Jack Hutchins, 35 Michael Rischitelli, 36 Greg Broughton, 37 Jesse Lonergan, 38 Joel Wilkinson, 39 Timmy Sumner, 42 Kyal Horsley

Posted

Can you buy tickets at the gate and how much

Posted (edited)

Phuong

Phuong,

I will be flying down in the car from Brisbane after work, fingers crossed i'll get there at qtr time. What is the parking like at the Southport Sharks? as mentioned above, will tickets be available at the gate?. I cannot wait to see Toumpas and Hulk running around in the red and the blue!

Carn Melbourne!

Edited by BrisbaneDemon

Posted

Also interested to hear about parking. I'll be driving down from Brisbane and need to make a swift getaway after the game. Any info would be appreciated.

Also planning on taking the two kids (very young) to their first game, so hoping there is a nice hill or other grassed area to chuck a rug down.

Posted (edited)

Just wondering about Dean Kent ,not listed as injuredf,would have thought he was a good chance for round 1 .

Edited by Need neeld
Posted

Phuong,

I will be flying down in the car from Brisbane after work, fingers crossed i'll get there at qtr time. What is the parking like at the Southport Sharks? as mentioned above, will tickets be available at the gate?. I cannot wait to see Toumpas and Hulk running around in the red and the blue!

Carn Melbourne!

Think I read somewhere entry is $5 per person, at the gate. There is a lot of parking at the Club. But, they reckon there could be a fair crowd, so extra parking is being made available at the ground, and to following the parking attendant directions. I'd suggest getting there early...

Posted

No Bennel unless I'm suffering male fridge blindness.... Pity, he had a field day last time and would have made us work harder.

For a few seconds I thought you meant the Jamie one.

Thank god for small mercies

Posted

Am happy to see Jetta back in the side

Still a few bestt 22 out IMO

Clark

Trenners

Dawes

T Mac

Blease

Bail

Looking foward to this game a little - I reckon Kent is a chance rd 1 as well.

Realistically I hope for no injuries and the injured boys can get back asap