Latest murmurings of a crazy time

The AGE reporting Melbourne is talking to Port about inside mid Matt Thomas. Possibly as part of a deal on Beemer.

Really tough player, but doesn't get a lot of it.

Hogan is 17. He's an investment in the future. Dawes and Pederson are investments in the present.

but surely not both Dawes and Pederson ??

I think Wines and Viney arent as similar as people are worried about. Yes they're both tough competetors, but whats wrong with that?

I'd prefer to pick a safe mid like wines who is going to compete with the bif boys from day dot with pick 4, rather than draft a skinny skill full bloke who might end up being the best available.

Not saying this needs to be the way we draft every year, but doesnt hurt to get some safer, ready made types this year after 3-4 years of punting on talent alone

If we could get two Jack Vineys who would refuse?

And we picked a "highly skilled" skinny at pick 4 ?7 years ago, as I recall the same draft as Cyril - NO MORE SKINNY SKILLED boys who "may turn out well"!!!!!!!!

Moloney or Thomas?

Usually has one game a year where he has 30 touches and 10 tackles but is usually pretty quiet. Decent tagger but I'd still have McKenzie in the team over Thomas. Doesn't offer much.

I tend to agree. You'd think Pedersen capable of the role at a much more economic cost.

Maybe we were just seeing how good a deal we could get from the filth and if not palatable then come on down Cam !

How are we trading Moloney, unrestricted free agent?

we will get better compo than Thomas is worth also?

If we could get two Jack Vineys who would refuse?

And we picked a "highly skilled" skinny at pick 4 ?7 years ago, as I recall the same draft as Cyril - NO MORE SKINNY SKILLED boys who "may turn out well"!!!!!!!!

crap ?

We will lose gysberts and Martin for Dawes and a 2nd end pick from the pies. then get wines at 4,then with 20 the. Pies pick and Maloney compo we will get quick spreading players with good foot skills. Then late in draft and rookie draft try to. Get a tall Blackman and a developing ruckman. Let's see how I go.

Port don't want to pick anyone up as a free agent - it'll hurt what they've got coming back to them from the loss of Chaplin and Pearce.

Thomas is a terrific trainer, has a great attitude, works hard, loves doing anything for the various other parts of the club (media, promo, etc). He's not the greatest footballer but I reckon he'd be starting 22 for us.

If we can get him and Surjan for Moloney that'd be great.

We will lose gysberts and Martin for Dawes and a 2nd end pick from the pies. then get wines at 4,then with 20 the. Pies pick and Maloney compo we will get quick spreading players with good foot skills. Then late in draft and rookie draft try to. Get a tall Blackman and a developing ruckman. Let's see how I go.

Mightn't happen but I like it :)

Where do we sign ?

Get a tall Blackman and a developing ruckman. Let's see how I go.

At the risk of being politically incorrect, should we be canvassing the Harlem Globetrotters? (sorry, just couldn't let that go past).

BACKMAN BACKMAN lol

I like Matty Thomas. Had a ripper 2011 and is a tackling machine.

Could he play off the halfback flank?

Meanwhile, it's been reported that former head recruiter Barry Prendergast doesn't rate Melbourne's draft decisions thus far in the 2012 draft and trade period.

QDa7g.gif

would rather Toumpas (likely to GWS) or O'Rourke over Wines, as they both offer something different, whereas Wines offers more of the same as Viney.

I don't think that's a problem. Mitchell and Sewell are very similar players who end up complimenting each other.

Indeed. But we don't have either of them for the moment, so maybe we should wait to see how it plays out.

Meanwhile, it's been reported that former head recruiter Barry Prendergast doesn't rate Melbourne's draft decisions thus far in the 2012 draft and trade period.

QDa7g.gif

Stop posting these gifs B-H, I keep getting distracted and foget the point you are making.

Oliver Wines at Pick 4 lock it in.

Good to see you around the place HG..

Getting Wines is the difference between a really good draft period and a fracking great one, IMO..

How about you and olisik stop clogging up the boards

2nd that..

I recommend you put me on ignore. It will serve two purposes. You won't see my posts and in turn you won't bore me with your complaints.

Soon everyone will have you on ignore and you'll be talking to yourself..

Just got to hope GWS won't bid on him as they'll most likely take Whitfield, Toumpas & Grundy.

Fact is Wines has been told we will take him if he's available.

Would be great if in amongst the whole Hogan / Barry deal, there was a 'gentlemans agreement' that wines would be left for us at no.4..

the way weve been going about it of late, it wouldnt surprise me!

How funny... We've now got to the point of arguing over Porsches, ferraris and Lambos.!!

Wines is a Veyron..

Or

2. Shrug tackle

3. Dish off to Blease/Strauss/Sylvia/Grimes/

4.kick it to Clark/Watts/Hogan(2014)/Howe/

5. Goal

6. We celebrate

All thanks to a strong mid getting the ball and either breaking or standing up in the tackle. Tough,hard,accountable footy, Melbourne style

Cant wait to see that style Maloney didnt do it in 2012 Ihope we improve greatly in that area would love it particulaly "WE celebrate"

The AGE reporting Melbourne is talking to Port about inside mid Matt Thomas. Possibly as part of a deal on Beemer.

The article doesn't link Thomas with a swap for Moloney.

Melbourne is interested in Port Adelaide inside-midfielder Matt Thomas, with its own inside-midfielder Brent Moloney seeking a move as a free agent. The Brisbane Lions are understood to be interested.
Pie heads home to Perth