Posted

I didn't think Jack was that bad last night. However, he wasn't exceptional either.

What i do know is that everytime he has the ball, i know that he will use it well. There have been signs in the last month that his intensity is lifting. He wrestled another bulldogs player whilst going for the mark and he managed to take it... this was a positive for me, however there were also a few occasions where he ran past the ball.

I think that he is getting better though (in contested situations)

Posted

It is rumoured that Young Jack was actually integral in the bombing of the world trade centre on 9/11.

Although he was only about 9 at the time I am sure the guilt of it is weighing heavily upon him.

Posted (edited)

He did one or two really nice things last night and he's actually frequently involved in the team's push forward of center. He has a presence where even if he doesn't get the ball he's involved some how. It's easy to miss but with a stronger and improving midfield he'll win more ball. He is invaluable to a GOOD team. He's not the role player we need him to be in a poor side. The better this team plays, the more valuable he is to the side. Harsh reality but still a positive one. If (when) this team is up and running, he'll be one of the fastest. Just can't expect him to be Nathan Jones.

Edited by Cudi_420
Posted

Two things that impressed me were the two goal-saving tackles, and perhaps even more so he twice had the ball sat on his head - first time he crashed the contest, the next time he held the mark.

Noticed those 2 tackles as well. Encouraging signs. Expecting a fully rounded contribution by R22.

Posted

thought there was a big improvement the past few weeks.

Some of his kicks were just sublime last night and he saved us at least 2-3 goals by laying some ripper tackles.

Some people can't see the forest for the trees of jack watts insults.

I was over him at times this year, yes, but the kid is noticeably trying to improve himself.

agree with all this Song. I listened to T Wallace n Finey on SEN this morn and they pointed out a moment where the Dees crowd seemed to get stuck into JW on the members wing for not making enough effort to tackle. What the crowd missed was the previous 300 metres of gut running from one end of the ground to the other.
Posted

agree with all this Song. I listened to T Wallace n Finey on SEN this morn and they pointed out a moment where the Dees crowd seemed to get stuck into JW on the members wing for not making enough effort to tackle. What the crowd missed was the previous 300 metres of gut running from one end of the ground to the other.

I remember that. It's hard not to notice the 6'4 blonde kid that reaches out for a tackle he was never going to get.

Some fans have an unfortunate muscle reflex where they see Jack at a contest and train their eyes on what he could have done to affect the contest, rather than what the MFC players in the vicinity could have done.

Watching him last night I was reminded again of TJ (and don't give me this 'TJ stood up in tough finals' - he played two quarters in a loss to Adelaide in the 'greatest final of all time' and dominated against Ess in another loss) as his skills and vision are just exquisite.

If Roos turns us into the tough tackling, lock down, hard nosed team we look like becoming - do people think that someone of Watts' talents become more or less potent and important?

Posted

I remember that. It's hard not to notice the 6'4 blonde kid that reaches out for a tackle he was never going to get.

Some fans have an unfortunate muscle reflex where they see Jack at a contest and train their eyes on what he could have done to affect the contest, rather than what the MFC players in the vicinity could have done.

Watching him last night I was reminded again of TJ (and don't give me this 'TJ stood up in tough finals' - he played two quarters in a loss to Adelaide in the 'greatest final of all time' and dominated against Ess in another loss) as his skills and vision are just exquisite.

If Roos turns us into the tough tackling, lock down, hard nosed team we look like becoming - do people think that someone of Watts' talents become more or less potent and important?

TJ won a B&F.

Posted

He definitely needs to improve core strength. He seems to get thrown off like a rag doll at times

application I reckon beelz. many a player in the past has avoided the weights room. and just as many again don't like hard physical contact.

application, & a good dose of hurt; tap into it & use your anger when tackling. just don't disrespect the laws.

Posted

It is rumoured that Young Jack was actually integral in the bombing of the world trade centre on 9/11.

Although he was only about 9 at the time I am sure the guilt of it is weighing heavily upon him.

I reckon he forgot to wear his cape that day, & hasn't forgiven himself since. & it hasn't been the same since mum last Ironed it.

Posted

Watts is a required player.

Roos knows that. And that man knows what he's doing.

someones told Roos, have they. glad to hear that I can tell you. I'd hate for him to play watts in the wrong spot. or worse.

Posted

blah blah blah........just let him play footy, he's doing fine at the minute

Posted

The comparisons to TJ are killing me. I wish jack was as good as him.

He hasn't been bad the last 2 weeks but we really wanna start getting some more output soon hey? You don't want a No 1 "Just going".

Posted

jacks been alright.

Posted

saw it,and read 3 million comments about him.

have written a couple myself,for the life of me i cant see the upside everybody talks about.

im amazed at how many people swoon when he does the smallest thing{basic} during a game.and little else.

i hear people say "hes getting better", hes "improving slowly".

just proves we are all different and our opinions are so.

You are right jazza These posters are the same ones who waited for Colin (I dont have to try coz I'm so good )Slilvia to become the player all thoght he could /should be

Rather have a terrific player than a "terrific guy"

Posted

thought there was a big improvement the past few weeks.

Some of his kicks were just sublime last night and he saved us at least 2-3 goals by laying some ripper tackles.

Some people can't see the forest for the trees of jack watts insults.

I was over him at times this year, yes, but the kid is noticeably trying to improve himself.

I got stuck into him 2 weeks ago for putting in a seriously pathetic performance.

But he was good on Sat night!

His tackles were excellent, kicking good, but just didn't get enough of it. The biggest letdown of his game for me on Saturday was his marking, which I felt was poor. He didn't present well enough up forward and didn't hold his marks.

Posted

Stood up in the final quarter in front of 60k in a high pressure high intensity nail biter

Just rose to the occasion

Today may have been the making of Jack Watts

Posted

Stood up in the final quarter in front of 60k in a high pressure high intensity nail biter

Just rose to the occasion

Today may have been the making of Jack Watts

Bloody oath hh.

Enough of the negative comments.

GO WATTS

Posted

He needs to believe he is the man and more performances like this will follow. Roos is holding his nerve with our players and it's paying off. Watts and Pedersen were huge. Who would have thought?

Posted

Effort and intensity have been better the last fortnight and today the performance came with it.

If he plays with this effort and intensity every week he will have more good games than bad.

Posted

He needs to believe he is the man and more performances like this will follow. Roos is holding his nerve with our players and it's paying off. Watts and Pedersen were huge. Who would have thought?