Posted

anyone know how he went at draft camp

Unimpressive. I've just been looking through the results. He made one top ten list for the running vertical jump, where he came seventh at 85cm. No other mentions. Is there a place where they publish all of their scores? I haven't been able to find it so far.

Incidentally, look out for Elliot Yeo. Looks like he killed in the agility testing, although he isn't too fast.

Posted

Apparently, Manson kicked 8.5 on debut last weekend for NTFL team Waratahs, the team that Fev's playing with this week - http://m.youtube.com/#/profile?desktop_uri=%2Fuser%2FAFLNorthernTerritory&sort=p&channel_id=0&livestreaming_tutorial=False&ytsession=%7B%7D&start=0&user=AFLNorthernTerritory&use_new_videos_tab=False&page=1&autoplay=True&gl=AU

Tahs prevail in modern classic

I understand today's game is being streamed live on afl.com.au from 5.30 pm.

Posted

Manson kicks 10, Fev 8 (5 in the last quarter) to guide the Waratahs to a 15 goal win over the Wanderers.

Daniel Morlop reported.

That makes 18 goals in 2 weeks for the Kimberley Kid.

Posted

I wouldn't worry about him not testing in the top bracket at draft camp.

The kids he'd be going up against would have been in "the system" for years on end, getting sports science and proper training techniques pumped into them.

I remember Jurrah having never done a preseason before coming to MFC.

If Manson is anything similar, he's bound to improve greatly and rapidly.

Posted (edited)

The returns on his last couple of matches are hellishly impressive.

Edit: I really want to see some footage of that game. Sounds like the two forwards put on a clinic.

Edited by RalphiusMaximus

Posted

Small crumbing forward Alroy Gilligan, young indigenous boy from Fitzroy Crossing was very impressive for Claremont's league side today

(Rookie) Drafted by Richmond in 2008. Don't know how long he lasted

Posted

I think we have invested enough in the indigeneous players at the moment. All have to stand up next year whom are on our list. We had a poor year from Davey, Liam was ok-Wona- we understand his troubles- but now we have to gain something back from our investment , Bennell- went OK and Jetta- just.These boys are inconsistant and we do not want any more at this point in time is my opinion.

Do you think we should have a quota system?

Lucky its just indigenous players that are inconsistent otherwise MFC could have a bigger problem.

I think JCB is making a point which is probably missed, but still valid.

Change the culture, & get the best. But then don't spoil them with a soft culture pervading our Indig boys.

I dont know why you make a specific point about our indigenous players. There is nothing like an ignorant generalisation like "a soft culture pervading our Indig boys."

And blow Wheels, lets get Robbie Muir.....now he was tuff.

Posted

Do you think we should have a quota system?

Lucky its just indigenous players that are inconsistent otherwise MFC could have a bigger problem.

I dont know why you make a specific point about our indigenous players. There is nothing like an ignorant generalisation like "a soft culture pervading our Indig boys."

And blow Wheels, lets get Robbie Muir.....now he was tuff.

No quota needed just good management.Muir,whom I grew up with his family was unique.Not many would smack you in the mouth just looking at you.His brother Freddie was just as tough,good mate growing up.

Posted

I think we have invested enough in the indigeneous players at the moment............................

That's absolute garbage jcb, so I'll respond with a bit of self-indulgent garbage of my own!

I love the romantic notion of having Waylen on our list. I know footy is not supposed to be about romance, but I'm an old romantic from way back, and the thought of having another LJ type in our team makes me drool. We know we have a strong support network for our indigenous players, and having LJ around the place certainly wouldn't do any harm if we were to recruit Waylen. I'm delighted to know that we are at least having a look at him.

Posted

Imagine, as an opposition defender, trying to deal with the unpredictability of a forward line with Jurrah and Manson. Of course I haven't seen Manson play, but it's fair to say he is unorthodox, talented and worth the risk.

Posted

Skinner, Patrick, this kid Manson... All compared to Jurrah but observors...

Maybe people call Jurrah a one off special talent because he is actually a ONE OFF SPECIAL TALENT!

Annoys me that every aborginal kid who has a bit of height and can jump is 'the next Jurrah'.... Jurrah is special beyond freakish abilities and we all know it.

Posted

Ok, I was quite sceptical about this at first but 18 goals over two weeks, wow! Fev was dominating VFL level and Manson has upstaged him, he has to have something to show on an AFL list! If he is available at our 1st pick, please get him! Jurrah and Manson in the same forward line is too exciting a prospect to pass up!

Posted

There's scarce resources at our football club. Players that require extra management require extra management. There's a cost and we're already paying it in a couple of cases.

Posted

There's scarce resources at our football club. Players that require extra management require extra management. There's a cost and we're already paying it in a couple of cases.

We have got 50 development coaches. Surely they would manage if necessary.

Posted

We've got coaches coming out our ears, I reckon we'll manage

Posted

All i hear about is how good this guy is ect, height and all things.

Can anyone tell me how he plays what role ect? he is around 193/80 yeah? is he a Jurrah type, who can play midsized and crumb or otherwise?

Posted

I'm with BB.

Pick the talent, work out how to deal with the owner of the talent later.

Unless they are a nutcase...

Yes, I am looking at you Lawrence Angwin...

Because you stole things.

Posted

If it was only about football coaching ...

No it isn't but if we were to draft a Manson or a carbon-copy of Colin Sylvia we would need 'extra management' to properly handle either property.

Posted

re managing him and already doing that for a number of other players, it is obvious we already have a framework in place to support these guys and as such increased overhead should be minimal due to them being an addition within that framework. Who knows, there may be capacity within the framework (i.e. staff member who is not as abusy as they could be) to cater for people of this cultrual background.

As such, believing the club know what they are doing I will support their decission. Speculation on the clubs capabilites amounts to writing a fiction novel. I proffer dicussion (and ok it' probably fiction but atleast far more interesting) to focus more on how we may benifit from player x.

Posted

A framework or massive welfare effort at the expense of every other player on the list?

Posted

A framework or massive welfare effort at the expense of every other player on the list?

Staff assistance (welfare?) programs are nothing new and it would be an act of descrimination if these business fuctions were not available to all players. The fact that indervidual needs differ and as such inderviduals will have differing involvements with them does not mean it comes at an expence of everyone else. I would have thought the idea would be through supporting staff (players) they are better engaged and as such perform to their full potential within their given workplace (playing field). The benifit possibly being difficult to quantify may in this instance be that a team wins more games through improved performance, there is a wining culture developed and as such results in a benifit to every other player on the list.