Matthew Warnock wants out

The club doesn't agree with you if you go by the Bluey results and I suggest the footy world doesn't either. Josh Gobson made the AA team doing a similar role to Jared. Nick Maxwell does the same.

Gibson and Maxwell are more than a shade better than Rivers, come on.. lets be realistic here ffs Id have either of those two over jared in a heartbeat.. Chip got AA..thats fair dinkum across the board recognition.

Bluey finishes are relative to our club only. Moloney has attained some cred generally across various polls whilst not too many others form the Dees did.

But back to Matt, I think hed go well at the Suns. A good fit actually. if they could take half baked fill-ins like Josh Fraser then Matty could be a star !!

The club doesn't agree with you if you go by the Bluey results and I suggest the footy world doesn't either. Josh Gobson made the AA team doing a similar role to Jared. Nick Maxwell does the same.

The football department who were giving the votes have proven to be extremely incompetent, and were sacked. Bailey had no idea how to coach a side and develop players, or a game plan, so it is no surprise that he thought that Rivers was doing a great job. To have someone with such poor footskills playing loose in the backline in today’s football is an example of why Bailey was a pathetic coach.

Collingwood showed that they view Rivers as a liability when playing Melbourne, so it will be interesting to see how he is used under Neeld.

Back on topic, if Gold Coast want Warnock, I'd give them him and pick 12 for Toy, if the rumours about Toy wanting to move home are correct. Toy will be a gun, so it may take two picks (a compo), but he is exactly what Melbourne need off halfback, will be the next Luke Hodge.

Gibson and Maxwell are more than a shade better than Rivers, come on.. lets be realistic here ffs Id have either of those two over jared in a heartbeat.. Chip got AA..thats fair dinkum across the board recognition.

Bluey finishes are relative to our club only. Moloney has attained some cred generally across various polls whilst not too many others form the Dees did.

But back to Matt, I think hed go well at the Suns. A good fit actually. if they could take half baked fill-ins like Josh Fraser then Matty could be a star !!

Really? Gibson yes, Maxwell no. Maxwell may have leadership qualities, but plays fairly ordinarily in a backline that is hardly ever under siege.

And given Warnock's experience with Melbourne 2007-2009.........Perfect fit IMO.

Warnock has dominated at vfl level. His making and execution has cost him at afl level. Going to gold coast could revive him.

Wow. Some extremely harsh assessments of Rivers there.

I couldn’t give a stuff about best and fairests – personally, I thought there were far better players than Moloney this year when things weren’t going our way – but I do think Rivers had a good year and is an important part of our team.

I think he improved his one-on-one play significantly, often made himself an option out of defence when the more creative Garland and Rivers were being “well-held” and played the old third man up role as well as he ever has. People have been declaring the death of the “kick it long” philosophy for many years, and have said that without indiscriminate kicking into the forward line, Rivers no longer has a place in the game. I disagree, but there’s no doubt it suits him to a tee. If the last few weeks of the year are anything to go by, “just kick it” footy is well and truly back in vogue.

I think his kicking is average, but nowhere near as bad as Warnock’s or Macdonald’s. He has a tendency to panic under pressure, but is neat with a bit of space.

Interesting to see what Neeld does with him. I’d be very surprised if he consigned him to Casey duties.

According to Terry Wallace on SEN Warnock a done deal to the Gold Coast

I heard that on SEN radio too!

Hopefully the Demons get something decent in return from the Gold Coast...??

I doubt we will get much for Matty if he is going to GC. He could walk and go to them in the pre-season so if this is where he is going then they should not need to offer much.

Wat do you think we SHOULD get? Don't get it confused with what you WANT!

I doubt we will get much for Matty if he is going to GC. He could walk and go to them in the pre-season so if this is where he is going then they should not need to offer much.

How do you know there weren't more than one club after him?

I dont but assuming that is where he wants to go if there is more than one club he could walk regardless. Unless one of those clubs is GWS, multiple clubs makes no difference.

Really? Gibson yes, Maxwell no. Maxwell may have leadership qualities, but plays fairly ordinary in a backline that is hardly ever under siege.

And given Warnock's experience with Melbourne 2007-2009.........Perfect fit IMO.

True Maxwell is really poor

Pick 4 + Swallow?

Seriously - would be ecstatic with Warnock + 54 for 32, happy with Warnock + 36 for 27.

I dont but assuming that is where he wants to go if there is more than one club he could walk regardless. Unless one of those clubs is GWS, multiple clubs makes no difference.

Well I guess my point is you don't know. Like you, I'm not expecting much but I'm glad he's found a home.

My understanding is he could enter the Pre season draft, GC have first pick and they could take him for nothing.

So not expecting much if anything.

He gave us his best and we basically told him he was not wanted last season,

So Good luck Matthew I hope it all works well for you.

Why hasn't this been done yet?

If its simple surly we would have done it by now.

And I agree I hope it works out for him as well.

Why hasn't this been done yet?

If its simple surly we would have done it by now.

And I agree I hope it works out for him as well.

GC spent all day gaining O'Meara

What, he is more important than Warnock?

I want mini draft pick 1, for two comp picks and warnock....get it done Dees!!

Better start reading the Mini Draft thread quick. Gone , gone , gone !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Mini draft picks can be on-traded... unlikely but they're still in play.

Not for long though and I would reckon the asking price would be even higher at both adelaide and gold coast.

My understanding is he could enter the Pre season draft, GC have first pick and they could take him for nothing.

So not expecting much if anything.

He gave us his best and we basically told him he was not wanted last season,

So Good luck Matthew I hope it all works well for you.

Except that we could pressure on GC to give us something by dealing with say Carlton, Hawks or who ever else may be interested. Warnock would have to want to go but we could get a little "competitive tension" into the process

I think the round 2 pick that GC got for their trade for O'Meara is what we will get for Warnock

maybe this with a swap of picks also...maybe.