Marc Murphy

Posted

Hello Everyone,

My mate, who knows a lot about footy and went around with the Saints in the VFL back in the 70's, reckons Marc Murphy is over-rated. Says he takes "short steps" when the pressure is applied. He can't stand Bruce McAvaney's veneration of him and puerile commentary when it comes to MM.

What do others think? Anyone have any stats that would support the "short-steps" assessment?

S&S

Hello Everyone,

My mate, who knows a lot about footy and went around with the Saints in the VFL back in the 70's, reckons Marc Murphy is over-rated. Says he takes "short steps" when the pressure is applied. He can't stand Bruce McAvaney's veneration of him and puerile commentary when it comes to MM.

What do others think? Anyone have any stats that would support the "short-steps" assessment?

S&S

Yep , takes 20-30 short steps per game S&S .

Even more when he's tired . :mellow::rolleyes:

Sorry S&S ... your mate's a dunce.

The only short steps Marc Murphy will possibly take this year is when he trots up to the stage at Crown to collect a Brownlow.

Sorry S&S ... your mate's a dunce.

The only short steps Marc Murphy will possibly take this year is when he trots up to the stage at Crown to collect a Brownlow.

this, the kid is a star would love him at the dees

Funnily enough, not far off what I think. Don't rate him. Yes, I know in outright terms he is a number 1 draft pick, he is a lynchpin. But.

I don't know that he's penetrating enough. I rate Bryce Gibbs far higher than Murphy, who I feel can simply go through games picking up touches but not make any impact.

Funnily enough, not far off what I think. Don't rate him. Yes, I know in outright terms he is a number 1 draft pick, he is a lynchpin. But.

I don't know that he's penetrating enough. I rate Bryce Gibbs far higher than Murphy, who I feel can simply go through games picking up touches but not make any impact.

Your description of Murphy is a perfect description of Gibbs!

I rate them both. Murphy has been great this year and tore us apart, however he does have that look of front runner about him. The only way he'll shake that is performing in finals, which he may well do this year.

The question remains: what would either of them be without Judd?

Nah, I find Gibbs provides that dangerous rebounding half-back, which I rate far higher than that floating forward-of-mid midfielder who doesn't really seem to do much except kick the occasional goal and handball around the clearances. Admittedly, I do watch for the rebound a lot more but still...just find to be a player who can almost anonymously pick up 30 touches.

Reminds me a bit of Scotty West, really.

He's one of those players that i love to hate.

I would love nothing more than see a demon clean him up.

Much like Brent Harvey.

If he played for us he would be my favorite player.

Absolutely ridiculous. Murphy is twice the player that Gibbs is currently and if you ask any Blues supporter they'll agree. Whilst you might not see him backing back into packs, his gut running and work rate is something that most players in the comp could learn from. His use of the ball whilst not being elite, is still pretty good. Gibbs goes missing for almost entire games whilst a quiet game for Murphy would still be 20-25 possessions. Also, Gibbs is the one that takes short steps, not Murphy, watch closely next time they play.

Whilst Murphy might not be Glen Archer, he doesn't need to be and as mentioned above if he didn't play in the same team as Judd he'd be a monty for the brownlow this year. In my opinion even with Judd he still has a chance.

what is truely amazing is how the blues keep Murphy and Judd? We can't even sign a second year player!

Absolutely ridiculous. Murphy is twice the player that Gibbs is currently and if you ask any Blues supporter they'll agree. Whilst you might not see him backing back into packs, his gut running and work rate is something that most players in the comp could learn from. His use of the ball whilst not being elite, is still pretty good. Gibbs goes missing for almost entire games whilst a quiet game for Murphy would still be 20-25 possessions. Also, Gibbs is the one that takes short steps, not Murphy, watch closely next time they play.

Whilst Murphy might not be Glen Archer, he doesn't need to be and as mentioned above if he didn't play in the same team as Judd he'd be a monty for the brownlow this year. In my opinion even with Judd he still has a chance.

Agree with everything except the last bit. Teams put serious effort into Judd which certainly makes Murphy's job easier. If he played for us he'd get the hard tag every week which considering his age and skill set I think take some shine of his performances.

The question remains: what would either of them be without Judd?

^^ THIS ^^ Carlton would be just going without Ju$$

Scully is better.

Good player, but he's not in the top 10 IMO. I think Sheahan might sneak him in a few times over his career, but he's not the midfielder Judd, Swan, Ablett, Bartel, Embleberry and a number of others are.

Kind of reminds me of a much better Montagna. Montagna at his most damaging is in the top 20 in the league, but that's his ceiling.

Murphy can play. Class player who will be a 250+ game player at Carlton.

Hello Everyone,

S&S

your mate needs a kick in the nuts, Murphy is a bloody ripper. will give the brownlow a nudge for sure, would love him at melbourne, would be prob our best player. he's about the only reason i'd like to see carlton win a flag, just threw up in my mouth. cant believe i just said that.

Totally agree, apart from the reflux issue which I don't have, I think with some watchers of footy there is a bit too much alcohol or other stimulants involved in the watching......I would trade my soul to get Murphy at the DEES....

I would trade my soul to get Murphy at the DEES....

A guy named Lou Cypher just asked me if I could put him in touch with you... (he bore a remarkable resemblance to Robert de Niro)

I agree with you, but I wasn't prepared to do that deal.

Gibbs is a worse NO 1 so far .Murphy is very effective at all levels .Gibbs is just a loose backman racking up a few stats .Yet to see him dominate other players or a match .

yep i agree with those who say Murphy is bettr than Gibbs. Gibbs doesnt do alot, other than rack up easy posessions. He's one of a handfull of players who is highly rated by many becasue he scores well in peoples dream teams, not because he is a influential player on the field. Rhyse Palmer was another one - i reckon he won the rising star award a few years back becasue he averaged ~100 points in dream team, not because he was good. He butchered the ball every time he got it back then and still does....

Gibbs is a worse NO 1 so far .Murphy is very effective at all levels .Gibbs is just a loose backman racking up a few stats .Yet to see him dominate other players or a match .

Regarding Gibbs - he has been given roles to play and taken some big names. Accountable roles players such as Goodes and the like. And he has done quite well. So he hasn't really been the loose backman as you describe.

As for Murphy, he is every bit the no.1 draft pick Carlton would expect and I think he can win the Brownlow this year. Yes someone like a Pendlebury and Judd can win it, but I have Murphy in front at the moment. That's my boxed trifecta ATM*.

* = subject to change.

Not sure many around here will want to talk about Marc Murphy mate.

FWIW, I think he's a star. But lets back onto Demon players, I could name two in particular who take short steps. Anyone want to hazard a guess?!