Magpie morons out in force last night.

John Crow Batty

I sort of expected bad behaviour after previous Collingwood grand finals but the magpie fans were particulary bad yesterday evening at least in my area in Richmond. Bad tempered drunks were everywhere last night. My wife was verbally abused and threatened when walking home at about 6pm by a deranged Collingwood supporter. Later in the evening we were menaced by another Collingwood drunk whilst waiting to cross Victoria Street. There was a drunken brawl around the corner from my house with associated screaming yelling and several police cars in attendance. There were many parties throughout the night and associated loud music and shouting and loud noises. This morning there were still people drinking in the streets and had to dodge several spots of chunder during my morning walk. I did not notice any St Kilda supporters in the mix.

I was at Calvin's in Collingwood, and actually thought it was a godsend they didn't win.

Boy was I wrong. Had they won, they might have been bearable. But when they don't win? Wow.

Driving down Smith St., we had to slow down TWICE for two separate drunken Collingwood supporters who were BLIND drunk. One of them then abused a taxi driver who already had people in the car.

Once we arrive into Calvin's, there is a drunk Pies fan at the bar, who eyes me as soon as I walk in the door. I had a checkered shirt on - black, white and red - and when I walked past him he started tugging at my shirt saying "F****** SAINTS SUPPORTER". This is not a joke. He actually started abusing me, and we were all just standing around laughing at the guy.

But to top it off, and this is a gem. At around 8pm, a guy wearing an English soccer jersey, tight, light blue straight-legged jeans, dirty old runners and an old-school Magpies beany walked into the dancing area, tripped over, and then got into a tiff with security, who promptly escorted him out.

This all came to a conclusion at Smith St. McDonald's about 2am. We were tantalizing our taste buds with some fine dining (cheeseburgers and McNuggets) when a drunken Collingwood supporter wearing a CHEER SQUAD T-SHIRT!!!! strolled into the eating area, talking to himself VERY LOUDLY, before casually strolling into the ladies toilets almost immediately after another girl had gone in. Fearing for this girls safety, my mate ran in after him, and found him having a leak in one of the cubicles.

They are a thug club built around the lower class, bottom of the barrel leaches that plague this amazing city. That "COLLINGWOOOOOOOOOD" chant is thuggish to the bone, and belongs in soccer. I know St. Kilda don't have the most pleasant fans, but I would do ANYTHING to see them absolute annihilate the Pies next week and drain that arrogant, thuggish chant out of the MCG and back to that scum heap they call Victoria Park where it belongs.

I was at Calvin's in Collingwood, and actually thought it was a godsend they didn't win.

Boy was I wrong. Had they won, they might have been bearable. But when they don't win? Wow.

Driving down Smith St., we had to slow down TWICE for two separate drunken Collingwood supporters who were BLIND drunk. One of them then abused a taxi driver who already had people in the car.

Once we arrive into Calvin's, there is a drunk Pies fan at the bar, who eyes me as soon as I walk in the door. I had a checkered shirt on - black, white and red - and when I walked past him he started tugging at my shirt saying "F****** SAINTS SUPPORTER". This is not a joke. He actually started abusing me, and we were all just standing around laughing at the guy.

But to top it off, and this is a gem. At around 8pm, a guy wearing an English soccer jersey, tight, light blue straight-legged jeans, dirty old runners and an old-school Magpies beany walked into the dancing area, tripped over, and then got into a tiff with security, who promptly escorted him out.

This all came to a conclusion at Smith St. McDonald's about 2am. We were tantalizing our taste buds with some fine dining (cheeseburgers and McNuggets) when a drunken Collingwood supporter wearing a CHEER SQUAD T-SHIRT!!!! strolled into the eating area, talking to himself VERY LOUDLY, before casually strolling into the ladies toilets almost immediately after another girl had gone in. Fearing for this girls safety, my mate ran in after him, and found him having a leak in one of the cubicles.

They are a thug club built around the lower class, bottom of the barrel leaches that plague this amazing city. That "COLLINGWOOOOOOOOOD" chant is thuggish to the bone, and belongs in soccer. I know St. Kilda don't have the most pleasant fans, but I would do ANYTHING to see them absolute annihilate the Pies next week and drain that arrogant, thuggish chant out of the MCG and back to that scum heap they call Victoria Park where it belongs.

Are you a toff?

Guest melbman

I don't like the chant itself (because it's Collingwood) but it is impressive and I wish that Melbourne had enough supporters to do it.

We sure did in '87

The slow MEEEEELBOUUUUURNE chant as we smashed the roos and swans rangloud and long through the MCG and was fantastic, ours preceded theirs by a quarter of a century, jeepers i feel old now :-D

And this is why I got out of town on Friday.

Was out in Geelong on Saturday night and the place was like a ghost town. Not a single Collingwood supporter in sight, just plenty of "We love Gary Ablett" banners :rolleyes:

Even the Collingwood bogans at the pub in Oceans Grove weren't as bad as you'd expect. I thought they'd torch the place when the Saints came back, but they just proceeded to get more intoxicated and rant in barely-understandable language.

And this is why I got out of town on Friday.

Was out in Geelong on Saturday night and the place was like a ghost town. Not a single Collingwood supporter in sight, just plenty of "We love Gary Ablett" banners :rolleyes:

Even the Collingwood bogans at the pub in Oceans Grove weren't as bad as you'd expect. I thought they'd torch the place when the Saints came back, but they just proceeded to get more intoxicated and rant in barely-understandable language.

I quite like the collingwood chant. Better than our static supporters. We don't even wave flags and some don't even wear our club colours. Cheered hard one day and this prude next to me kept complaining.

Edited by agent_orange

We sure did in '87

The slow MEEEEELBOUUUUURNE chant as we smashed the roos and swans rangloud and long through the MCG and was fantastic, ours preceded theirs by a quarter of a century, jeepers i feel old now :-D

About as old as me.

I remember it well, it made the hair on the back of the neck stand up.

& the noise & chanting when Robbie Flower ran to the bench in the last quarter to be saved for the prelim was deafening.

I quite like the collingwood chant. Better than our static supporters. We don't even wave flags and some don't even wear our club colours. Cheered hard one day and this prude next to me kept complaining.

Just wait 'til we're Premiership contenders and a decent force. It may all start to happen then.

I live in Richmond and escaped to greener pastures for the weekend. Returned to find vomit kindly deposited over my fence. I presume (without evidence) that it was a Pie.

IIRC, the Collingwood chant used to came after a win - not during a game and certainly not in the GF parade. They are all class!

We sure did in '87

Oh yes don't worry that chant will be back, hopefully against the Filth in september.

They have no idea what will hit them when Jimma's MFC make a charge for the 13th Cup (and 14th, 15th, 16th etc....) B)

I live in Richmond and escaped to greener pastures for the weekend. Returned to find vomit kindly deposited over my fence. I presume (without evidence) that it was a Pie.

IIRC, the Collingwood chant used to came after a win - not during a game and certainly not in the GF parade. They are all class!

You can usually tell Pie vomit by the little chunks of meat and pastry strewn around! I kid, I kid.

Come on Melbourne is full of vomit every weekend. So are the idiots. You don't get out much.

Unfortunately, this is true. However Pies supporters make up for about 70% of all idiots (the rest being: 15% Richmond, 10% Carlton, 5% other) so odds are the vomit over the fence was, in fact, a Collingwon't supporter.

Compared to them? Sure.

So you've gone out in Smith Street, on a Saturday night, on GF weekend, and the worst thing you've come across (vis a vis drunks and drug-f*cks) is a couple of guys stumbling onto the road while you're driving, and another guy accidentally walking into the girls toilet at Maccas. That's the WORST thing you saw. On a Saturday Night. On Grand Final weekend. In Smith Street. And somehow, you're genuinely shocked and outraged by all this?

I'm not going to call you a toff, but if you're the regular Aussie bloke, and they're the scumbags, then I'd just about rather be a scumbag. At least I'd have some fun.

Hahaha good call.

I was waiting for something to actually happen in that story... Still waiting.

I think people have been more intimidated by the numbers and the disheveled appearance of the supporters.

The behaviour I witnessed hasn't been that bad.

I saw a few arguments out front of the ground by guys holding "One ticket. Please?" signs, that were getting territorial because they were convinced some good Samaritan would appear 5 mins before the game. A few little scuffles before the game.

In all honesty, the anti-climatic nature of the draw sucked the energy out of a lot of them.

Nothing to celebrate or commiserate. Just... waiting for next week.

No, they weren't particularly memorable experiences, and really no different to anything else I see every other weekend. I just find it concerning that every single one of those moments involved a Collingwood supporter.