J. McKenzie for Rising Star Nomination

DeezMan

• Replies 69

Jackson Trengove got this weeks nomination... Did have a ripper match... Time definitely running out for Jordie...

Congrats to Jackson. He did get me 97 SuperCoach points this week (albeit as an Emergency backman!).

Whilst a Rising Star Nomination isn't at all neccessary for us Dees fans to realise that Jordie is a little gem, it's simply some good recognition for a a guy such as him who will see himself elevated off the rookie list in 2011.

2 more weeks.

McKenzie. Watts. Blair.

Righto well here we are again. McKenzie vs Port had a better game than his team mate in Watts IMO.

McKenzie: 9 kicks, 15 handballs, 5 marks, 2 tackles, 2 free's for and 2 against.

Surely...?!?!

Watts: 7 kicks, 1 handball, 6 marks, 1 goal, 1 free for and 1 against.

Blair: 7 kicks, 12 handballs, 4 marks, 3 tackles, 2 free's for.

Righto well here we are again. McKenzie vs Port had a better game than his team mate in Watts IMO.

McKenzie: 9 kicks, 15 handballs, 5 marks, 2 tackles, 2 free's for and 2 against.

Surely...?!?!

Watts: 7 kicks, 1 handball, 6 marks, 1 goal, 1 free for and 1 against.

Blair: 7 kicks, 12 handballs, 4 marks, 3 tackles, 2 free's for.

Your dreaming!

He had no impact in a side that got crushed. We had 60 more touches than Port. Possies mean [censored] in our side. We can have 5 or 6 possies within 10 meters of each other and result in a turnver goal!

McKenzie does stuff all around the ground and is as slow as Nanna having a [censored]!

Your dreaming!

He had no impact in a side that got crushed. We had 60 more touches than Port. Possies mean [censored] in our side. We can have 5 or 6 possies within 10 meters of each other and result in a turnver goal!

McKenzie does stuff all around the ground and is as slow as Nanna having a [censored]!

No need for some of that sledging on Jordie, mate. This is NOT a thread to abuse said player!! Jordie gives bloody 110% each bloody week, ok??? He is one of few that refuse to die; that refuses to give in; that refuses to give up. And this from a Rookie Listed player!! He is a nugget that goes into all the hard stuff with his head over the ball and you earn respect that way!!

So "f" off if you're gonna talk like that about a player whom we have really unveiled this season and who deserves nothing but praise in what he has achieved and how he goes about his footy seeing as he was from the Rookie List.

Sorry but it's posts like that muppet's that get me riled up. It's so unwarranted, uncalled for and unnecessary.

Your dreaming!

That is a disgracefully harsh call on a 2nd year rookie who plays his heart out every week doing much of the unheralded grunt work for our team.

Maybe you should watch the game a little more closely and see some of the repeated efforts in close Jordie does. He is one of the few players we have continually diving in and burrowing for the hard conteseted ball, and exactly the kind of player every successful team needs.

Edited by Jerry Lundergard

Just pipped ya in posting the exact same sentiments as you, Jerry.

Expect some harsh words to come your way, jungle dee. Absolute joke of a post...

Edited by DeezMan

Couldn't agree more about Jordie's efforts, Deezman and Jerry.

However, looking at it from a Club point of view, it probably saves the Club a fortune when contracts are up for negotiation, when players miss out on official awards(rising star noms., etc). Jack W. would be in a much better bargaining position with a nomination under his belt, as would Jordie.

Isn't Jurrah eligible? Maybe behind Dennis-Lane because Sydney won, but probably ahead of Jordie this week. Still Jordie has a chance imo because Dennis-Lane has plaayed like 2(?) games this season and Jordie has been very consistent over the past 2 months and was solid again today.

Dennis-Lane is too old to win the Rising Star - turns 22 later this month.

McKenzie will surely be considered, as will Lewis Jetta and Luke Shuey. It's this time of year that the AFL starts looking to hand out nominations over the course of the season, so there might be a couple of surprises.

Your dreaming!

This post is the equivelant of missing the ball with your foot.

Jordie's in close work is fantastic, his hands when he gets the ball are as clean as anyone in our team. And without it he is behind only McDonald for tackling pressure, and not by far. He is the perfect player to take over J-Mac's role next year, in name and type.

Plus he is no flash in the pan, he has continued to build his game and put in quality game after quality game, albeit without ever having a "breakout". There are a number of rising star nominated players that have struggled to keep their spot in teams for the year. Phil Davis was nominated ahead of Jordie then dropped the next game.

Your dreaming!

Dumbest post of the year!!

Jordie missed again- Steve Wright from the Kangas won it this week.

I thought Sam Wright won it but hey Steve must have been good to beat Jordie. (round of applause for the AFL, again...)

Your dreaming!

121 tackles so far from a second year player. And he's a rookie. Not sure what else you could ask for.

He's 6th in the league for tackles per game with 6.72, total of 121 which is 8th.

Not bad for a kid in his 2nd year who is still on the rookie list.

I like to look at the other string he has to his bow though; he's not just a one-trick pony.

Just a shame that Wattsy won't get that recognition that the young N. Riewoldt's of the world got...

It'd be faaaantastic to be able to say, "We have close to 20 Rising Star nominees in our side!!".

Davey, Rivers, Trengove, Scully, Jurrah, Jones, Frawley, Garland, Bartram, Morton, Sylvia, Bennell, Gysberts, Grimes...

Unsure of Moloney, Aussie and Joel MacDonald?

Talent personified. Would have loved Killer Watts to be in that fine crop of players.

Bring home the bacon, Jordie Mac!