The Demonland Terms of Service, which you have all recently agreed to, strictly prohibit discussions of ongoing legal matters, whether criminal or civil. Please ensure that all discussions on this forum remain focused solely on on-field & football related topics.

how about some protection for watts

deewakka

Posted

G'day everyone i am new to posting on demonland but am I the only one who came away from the match yesterday scratching my head wondering why no one flew the flag when the west coast got into jack watts come on guys show a bit of G.U.T.s help him like geelong Stkilda collingwood would have had he started with those sides

Posted

Jones was looking after him at the opening bounce. He did pretty well for himself otherwise I thought. You'll probably see Miller there next week to do the job, if not maybe someone like Rivers will go to CHF and fly the flag for Watts if need be?

Posted

G'day everyone i am new to posting on demonland but am I the only one who came away from the match yesterday scratching my head wondering why no one flew the flag when the west coast got into jack watts come on guys show a bit of G.U.T.s help him like geelong Stkilda collingwood would have had he started with those sides

G'Day deewakka. No need I reckon mate unless something untoward happens. If you are a forward you have to expect to niggled and there is no point in remonstrating because the trolls will pay a free. I thought Glass looked like a clown yesterday. I would much rather our blokes show up opponents by running rings around them like they did at times with Nik Nat.

Posted

Welcome and you are right. I am sure Miller will be back next week to provide some support. I have seen Watts and Miller play together on the Casey forward line twice this year and Miller has actually been quite good at blocking and creating space for Watts, especially in the Coburg game this was very noticeable. It'll be interesting to see how they go together at the next level.

Posted

Welcome deewakka.

I posted this somewhere else but it fits better here. I actually thought Watts handled the niggling pretty well. But if he gets help from an enforcer I'll be first to cheer...

I thought Schofield (31) was a bit of a dog towards Watts yesterday, Watts went to ground in forcing the ball over the boundary in the member's pocket, and Schofield stood menacingly over him giving him quite a bit of lip. Watts got up and there was a bit of shoving. Thought it was pretty cheap from Schofield.

Posted

Welcome deewakka, not something I'd thought about. Though I reckon Jack would probably prefer worthwhile delivery into the forward 50.

Posted

There's nowhere to hide on a footy field.........the boy is going to have to stand up for himself!

Posted

It was pretty weird that Moloney, Jones, McDonald, Sylvia & co showed very little aggro to those who were hassling Watts. Yes, he has to look after himself but the lack of willingness to fly the flag for Watts reflected the general lack of energy and cohesion in the whole game. I was puzzled by it and thought, "Gee, they don't appear switched on". As it happens, they weren't.

Posted

Said the same thing to my bro at the game, great minds think alike!!!!!!

Posted

A minor bump and shove from his opponent was quite minimal I thought. Wouldn't say they got stuck into him at all to be honest.

Other than a few glancing bumps from the odd WCE player during the match, I thought Watts handled it quite well.

Posted

I don't believe in this flying the flag rubbish. Jack's not a small boy, let him deal with it if its just one clown, exceptions being if its Barry Hall or some other unit. If its more than one jump in but we should only use players getting into Jack for our benefit and not give away soft frees. The more Jack and anyone else reacts the more they will do it week after week especially if it puts him off his game.

Posted

Jack looked like he was happy to give as good as he got. It didn't look like he needed help.

Posted

Jack looked after himself just fine out there. He must learn the real ropes now.

It wasn't as if he was flattened or anything even remotely like that

Posted

"Protection" doesn't mean having to get into a fist fight to help a guy out does it?

I mean it could just be a bigger body pushing opponents out of the way to make space or something, couldn't it?

And I would have thought that this is an important aspect of team work for all forwards. Plus it's always nice to know someone is there.

Other than that I have no doubt that young Jack will learn the physical rigours of the sport just fine.

Posted

A minor bump and shove from his opponent was quite minimal I thought. Wouldn't say they got stuck into him at all to be honest.

Other than a few glancing bumps from the odd WCE player during the match, I thought Watts handled it quite well.

Agree. Nothing in it.

Calls for players to "fly the flag" really appeal to the LCD supporters base sense. You have to foight to show you are tuff!! :wacko:

Watts is going to be tested in every sense out there. He knows it and he has to overcome it.

Posted

It was pretty weird that Moloney, Jones, McDonald, Sylvia & co showed very little aggro to those who were hassling Watts. Yes, he has to look after himself but the lack of willingness to fly the flag for Watts reflected the general lack of energy and cohesion in the whole game. I was puzzled by it and thought, "Gee, they don't appear switched on". As it happens, they weren't.

Before the siren even went Beau Waters ran passed Tom Scully and gave him an almighty push which Tom obviously wasn't expecting and before he could recover Waters had run on but James McDonald had seen it and ran from the centre circle to confront Waters and gave him a rustle up. No one touches our Tom.

Posted

Not sure if its been mentioned on here, but at one point two of the WC players got stuck into Scully and were pushing him around like a pinball. Junior ran 50mtrs out of his way and smashed into the two of them breaking the scruffle up. Was good leadership I thought. And in the second half Watts was easily able to defend himself I thought. Did quite well standing up to the bigger bodies.

Posted

Moloney or Jones was "flying the flag" in Q1 and frankly I dont think the WCE gave him that much actually.