AFL is a JOKE

I just posted about it on 'Ology too... wtf is going on? Suspended for tackling, can't tackle Brownlow medallists smaller than you must have been the official reason.

What a joke.

Bartram has been tackling in a similar fashion all year and I love it.

I would assume Gablett.

On another note Harbrow not charged because he hit Jamie with an open hand whilst trying to smother the ball. What a joke.

tackle was on ablett

"Oooh, the little master won't like that!"

I would assume Gablett.

On another note Harbrow not charged because he hit Jamie with an open hand whilst trying to smother the ball. What a joke.

How do you smother a ball by hitting a player in the face and when the ball is already in another player's hands. I am getting sick of our players being hit in the face and no penalty handed out, not even a free kick. It's a joke.

I've said it before and i'll say it again...If it wasnt for the Melbourne Football Club I wouldn't follow the dog of a game.

and they wonder why Victorians are starting to follow soccer...

I've said it before and i'll say it again...If it wasnt for the Melbourne Football Club I wouldn't follow the dog of a game.

So very true.

I love and support Melbourne, I don't love and don't support the AFL.

If Melbourne ceased to exist (heaven forbid), I would never watch another game of football again.

The game is becoming a joke. The umpires have lost control, the MRP are as consistent as a teenager on smack, and the administration is happy to bury it's head in the sand as long as they are making the television networks happy.

How Harbrow didn't even get a reprimand for his hit on Bennell I'll never know. Bennell had to leave the field after he was hit in the face. No free, no case to answer. Apparently it's OK to hit players in the head, as long as they wear a Melbourne jumper. If the shoe was on the other foot Bennell would have got 9 weeks :rolleyes:

saw some similar mumford tackles on mondays match, almost a spinning wrestling move, be intrested if they get mentioned

In addition to players being hit in the face under the guise of an attempted "spoil", I was also very frustrated on Friday night by the following being flouted:

• Diving (Barry Hall, all night)
  • Kicking in danger
  • Intentional rushed behinds

There will be more, and countless mistakes by the umpires, but these in particular seemed to me to be blatantly ignored. How can the players expect to second guess whether or not a rule is being enforced for a round until they either get penalized OR their opponent gets away with one on them?

Excuse my lack of research but did the umpire report on the day or wasit the MRP ??

So very true.

I love and support Melbourne, I don't love and don't support the AFL.

If Melbourne ceased to exist (heaven forbid), I would never watch another game of football again.

The game is becoming a joke. The umpires have lost control, the MRP are as consistent as a teenager on smack, and the administration is happy to bury it's head in the sand as long as they are making the television networks happy.

How Harbrow didn't even get a reprimand for his hit on Bennell I'll never know. Bennell had to leave the field after he was hit in the face. No free, no case to answer. Apparently it's OK to hit players in the head, as long as they wear a Melbourne jumper. If the shoe was on the other foot Bennell would have got 9 weeks :rolleyes:

Agree with both of you, whilst I am happy to see the ugly side of the game sent to the history books (late high tackles, swinging arms aimed at players heads etc etc) it has become a santisied, unfulfilling thing to watch. Maybe I'm getting old but I love to see hard contested footy rewarded rather than penalised because the umpires think it "might" have been to hard a contest or "might" have been high.

I would struggle to watch footy if it wasn't for our proud on the rise club too guys.

Agree with both of you, whilst I am happy to see the ugly side of the game sent to the history books (late high tackles, swinging arms aimed at players heads etc etc) it has become a santisied, unfulfilling thing to watch. Maybe I'm getting old but I love to see hard contested footy rewarded rather than penalised because the umpires think it "might" have been to hard a contest or "might" have been high.

I would struggle to watch footy if it wasn't for our proud on the rise club too guys.

Exactly. The worst thing for my money is this horrible 'ducking into tackles' malarkey. Happens at least ten times a game, player gets the ball in congestion, and immediately ducks his head to draw the free. I know we have to protect the players' heads, but geez, shouldn't some of the onus be on THEM?

The MRP's take:

Contact between the Western Bulldogs’ Jarrod Harbrow and Melbourne’s Jamie Bennell from the first quarter of Friday’s match was assessed. The panel said contact was made with an open hand as Harbrow went to smother a handball. No further action was taken.

That seems a massive let off to me.

The MRP's take:

Contact between the Western Bulldogs’ Jarrod Harbrow and Melbourne’s Jamie Bennell from the first quarter of Friday’s match was assessed. The panel said contact was made with an open hand as Harbrow went to smother a handball. No further action was taken.

That seems a massive let off to me.

And yet Mumford cops it for implementing a tackle.

According to Walls, Darcy and Quartermaine on One Week it was a perfect tackle on a player in possession. They suggested that the MRP should be fined for their poor decision.

Yeah and suspended

yes but walls and quarterbrain are muppets.

darcy is ok, is actually half intelligent (well he looks it when sitting next to those two anyway)

mumford got 2 weeks instead of 3

ridiculous , should have got a free as Ablett did not dispose of the ball properly...but he is Ablett at Geelong cough..cough

yes but walls and quarterbrain are muppets.

darcy is ok, is actually half intelligent (well he looks it when sitting next to those two anyway)

I think "One Week at a Time" is a great show myself. Robert Walls is ok he has coached Top & Bottom sides-He knows the game well.

i watch it, but fair dinkum robert walls knows [censored] all.

he won at carlton pre salary cap remember

Its all personal taste Mate, i don't mind Walls, he gets stuck into Essendon!!!! And he is heaps better than Christianson or Andy Maher!!!

Don't forget he got Fitzroy & the Bears up the ladder with F all help which would not have been easy.