View in the app

A better way to browse. Learn more.

A full-screen app on your home screen with push notifications, badges and more.

To install this app on iOS and iPadOS
  1. Tap the Share icon in Safari
  2. Scroll the menu and tap Add to Home Screen.
  3. Tap Add in the top-right corner.
To install this app on Android
  1. Tap the 3-dot menu (ā‹®) in the top-right corner of the browser.
  2. Tap Add to Home screen or Install app.
  3. Confirm by tapping Install.

4 minutes ago, mo64 said:

It's still a double whammy. Essentially losing Clarry for nothing, and still paying whatever part of his salary.

If he was an UFA, we'd be getting an early 1st rd pick.

I’m not here to argue semantics!

Ā 
28 minutes ago, mo64 said:

It's still a double whammy. Essentially losing Clarry for nothing, and still paying whatever part of his salary.

I agree, it's enough that we're losing our best ever (arguably) mid but he's in his prime years ... especially the next 4 years as a 28, 29, 30 & 31yo

But it looks like we might end up getting virtually nothing back and have to pay a percentage of his salary (for 5 years)

Nothing to show for it. And it's my bet that Oliver will now put his head down, stay out of trouble and play good football. If he's ever going to learn a lesson, it will be this time

And if he falls into bad habits and bombs it long, he's got a competitive beast as a target in Hogan, who can win his own ball

Ugh

10 hours ago, beelzebub said:

Wonder what the day will bring šŸ¤” šŸ‘€ šŸ¤”

Well..............

Ā 
52 minutes ago, Dee Boys said:

Can confirm that our salary contribution for Clarry won’t be nearly as much as has been speculated.

We’re not going to get much in the way of picks. But it’s not the ā€œdouble whammyā€ that’s been reported.

We’ll still get misinformed journos and fools on social media saying we’re paying him $13,522,482.43 and a bag of mars pods each year when he has a good game though.

1 hour ago, Dee Boys said:

Can confirm that our salary contribution for Clarry won’t be nearly as much as has been speculated.

We’re not going to get much in the way of picks. But it’s not the ā€œdouble whammyā€ that’s been reported.

1 hour ago, mo64 said:

Nah - it's now only a 1.5 whammy. Feeling much better.

2 hours ago, Lucifers Hero said:

Just using this post as an example: I reckon picks around ND40 will come in a long way this year because the many top rated academy and F/S players will use up lots of picks in the 25 to 40 range.

Specifically on Oliver to the Pies they will probably want to do a trade for Mihocek!!!! I put nothing past them!

But I hope he goes to GWS as imv he doesn't need the scrutiny that comes with the pies and those fans turning on him if it doesn't go well early on. Also, at GWS I can barrack for him as I do Jesse!

How much are AFL players paid? Average salary, amount of million dollar players, gross payments | Sporting News Australia

" For AFL players in 2024 who have played at least one senior match, the average salary was $493,592 - a rise from the amount of $476,215 in 2023."

Salary for 2025 for a player who has played at least 1 game will be a fair bit more than 2024.

GWS are getting a bargain priced (after we kick in $$$) ready made player in a time of need.

I am still absolutely filthy about the whole thing. Obviously, he has been very hurt by it and has said things that he shouldn't have said, but which one of us has not said stupid things when in pain? I do not understand why the Club was determined to force him out the door, And I will absolutely be devastated to see him in another teams colours, let alone playing brilliantly as I expect he will. I'll still be keeping my signed photographs on display though.

21 minutes ago, Ollie fan said:

I am still absolutely filthy about the whole thing. Obviously, he has been very hurt by it and has said things that he shouldn't have said, but which one of us has not said stupid things when in pain? I do not understand why the Club was determined to force him out the door, And I will absolutely be devastated to see him in another teams colours, let alone playing brilliantly as I expect he will. I'll still be keeping my signed photographs on display though.

Slowly, to myself:

If you can’t say anything nice, don’t say anything at all.

šŸ§˜ā€ā™‚ļø

Ā 
1 hour ago, mo64 said:

Nah we're losing him for the betterment of our culture, this is a lose lose situation.

The end result will fall between a salary dump and a pick purchase.

We want rid of Clayton and they can do with a ready to go inside mid. I feel we'll eventually settle somewhere down the middle, maybe slightly losing but it is what it is.

Ladies , Gentlemen and bald headed babies.

For yonks, indeed years beyond yonks we've collectively bemoaned the lack of Proper culture prevalent at our beloved Club.

Bad culture is like a cancer. It pervades, it reignites if you leave best practice unattended.

How do you remedy this. You cut out all the things, all the influences, all the malignancy that you see. It can be rugged, brutal indeed . To the untrained eye you might be forgiven for excising more than needed. To the trained eye you worry you might not have cut deep enough.

We're now instituting a new culture into the club. There will be collateral damage.

It's for the best.

It's not about where we might find ourselves today, a fortnight, month even a year. It's where we're heading.

Not all will make the journey.

From Fox Footy this arvo:

4:25PM — CLARRY TO CONFIRM GIANT MOVE

Melbourne midfielder Clayton Oliver has reportedly settled on GWS as his preferred destination, according to News Corp’s Lachlan McKirdy and confirmed by Jon Ralph on Fox Footy’s Trading Day.

The 28-year-old is expected to join the Giants after more or less being told by the Demons to explore his departure options.

It means Collingwood has been ousted in the race for the inside midfielder, just hours after Craig McRae cheekily said he’d been ā€œhard to get a hold ofā€ recently while in Sydney visiting with the Giants.

McKirdy reports that ā€œa key part of their (the Giants’) pitchā€ to Oliver is ā€œthe allure of removing himself from the Melbourne bubbleā€.

Ralph noted on Trading Day that the Giants — who hold picks 13, 34, 36 this year at present — would only surrender a late selection in a deal.

(...No mention of paying part of salary, and only a nominal pick in return suggests contribution, if any, would be small?)

p.s. ...and I could almost have GWS as my second team with Jessie, Toby and Clayton in it...

Edited by Timothy Reddan-A'Blew

What stinks is how the media now pump up Oliver as a player and he is suitability to GWS now that he is being ousted. Before when he was a Melbourne player the rhetoric was always negative.

I have accepted it but he was never going to be pre ā€˜22 Clarry again no matter how much hope we had.

If we can get anything better than a 2nd rounder, I’d be stoked but not holding my breath.

p.p.s. Not sure, though, how a ranga goes in an orange jumper? He'll constantly look like one of those soccer jersey-over-the-head goal celebrators.

15 minutes ago, beelzebub said:

For yonks, indeed years beyond yonks we've collectively bemoaned the lack of Proper culture prevalent at our beloved Club.

Bad culture is like a cancer. It pervades, it reignites if you leave best practice unattended.

How do you remedy this. You cut out all the things, all the influences, all the malignancy that you see. It can be rugged, brutal indeed . To the untrained eye you might be forgiven for excising more than needed. To the trained eye you worry you might not have cut deep enough.

We're now instituting a new culture into the club. There will be collateral damage.

It's for the best.

It's not about where we might find ourselves today, a fortnight, month even a year. It's where we're heading.

Yeah well... about to drop of in next few days and this for me means. No Demonland and absolutely no 2026 membership,can't get my head around it!🤯

1 minute ago, picket fence said:

Yeah well... about to drop of in next few days and this for me means. No Demonland and absolutely no 2026 membership,can't get my head around it!🤯

we'll miss you

Edited by BDA

12 minutes ago, beelzebub said:

It's for the best.

This post is pretty true. I have a pies player mate who has let me I on some terrible stuff coming out of mfc regarding culture. If you don't think the players of all clubs know what's going on your blind. Remember these guys play juniors together then get split up. They don't stop being mates and talk shop when they catch up.

Our new coach would know what's gone on at mfc and it looks like he is doing something about it. We have some great kids coming through who need good leadership and clear air,hopefully now they get it.

He’s gonna star for them and I will cry watching it happen

Sad The Office GIF

If they are offering rubbish picks, do we try get a player back?

6 minutes ago, picket fence said:

Mate, you're as tragically connected to the fortunes of this club as anyone here. You're most definitely not alone.

I do totally understand that sometimes you need to stand back. Whatever works for you and go well. I have no idea how the rest of the šŸŽŖšŸ¤”šŸŽŖ pans out. In that same vein, no idea as to the exact nature the team will look, will play...etc etc ..on and on.

I do however think we're heading in the right direction. Apologies as I can only offer ...time will tell.

I do think šŸ¤” it will make more sense later

Bub out šŸ‘

Ā 
8 minutes ago, Very Jaded said:

He’s gonna star for them and I will cry watching it happen

Sad The Office GIF

We'll be better

What other teams do...they do.

Let us do what we do BETTER

13 minutes ago, demonzz said:

This post is pretty true. I have a pies player mate who has let me I on some terrible stuff coming out of mfc regarding culture. If you don't think the players of all clubs know what's going on your blind. Remember these guys play juniors together then get split up. They don't stop being mates and talk shop when they catch up.

Our new coach would know what's gone on at mfc and it looks like he is doing something about it. We have some great kids coming through who need good leadership and clear air,hopefully now they get it.

Enlighten us…