View in the app

A better way to browse. Learn more.

A full-screen app on your home screen with push notifications, badges and more.

To install this app on iOS and iPadOS
  1. Tap the Share icon in Safari
  2. Scroll the menu and tap Add to Home Screen.
  3. Tap Add in the top-right corner.
To install this app on Android
  1. Tap the 3-dot menu (⋮) in the top-right corner of the browser.
  2. Tap Add to Home screen or Install app.
  3. Confirm by tapping Install.

Posted

We've decided to split the Clayton Oliver and Christian Petracca Trade Thread. For posterity you can read that now closed thread here: https://demonland.com/forums/topic/61260-christian-petracca-and-clayton-oliver-in-2026/

Melbourne have held talks with Clayton Oliver and they’ve laid out where he fits in under Steve King’s vision and been frank about expectations. Oliver is still under contract for five years, but the door is open if he wants to explore his options elsewhere.

Sounds like GWS is main club linked to him at this stage.

Wonder what a deal would look like given we are allegedly prepared to pay a decent chunk of his wage.

GWS have picks 12, 32 and 34.

Could we get 12 with intention to package that to the Suns for Humphries?

Or perhaps there's a decent fringe player we could acquire, of which there are plenty.

1 minute ago, Random Task said:

Sounds like GWS is main club linked to him at this stage.

Wonder what a deal would look like given we are allegedly prepared to pay a decent chunk of his wage.

GWS have picks 12, 32 and 34.

Or perhaps there's a decent fringe player we could acquire, of which there are plenty.

Demons' record recruiting 'fringe players' isn't good.

If its GWS then pick 12 is a start but not enough. We should reach out to Darcy Jones, we are short on pacey small forwards and the kids a little ripper.

1 minute ago, At Least I Saw a Flag said:

Demons' record recruiting 'fringe players' isn't good.

There's fringe players and then there's fringe players. I'd be going for the fringe players instead of the fringe players, make sense?

Edited by Random Task

Just now, Brenno said:

If its GWS then pick 12 is a start but not enough. We should reach out to Darcy Jones, we are short on pacey small forwards and the kids a little ripper.

I’d be more excited if it was Hogan.

Hogan’s probably saying I want out if I have to be leading to Oliver. I’ll never get a kick.

Edited by Neil Crompton

2 minutes ago, Brenno said:

Jones would be a fantastic get.

I'd also be keen on some of their younger players on Oliver, Hannaford and potentially Leake and Gruzewski.

3 minutes ago, Brenno said:

Surely taking the [censored] right?

We have no leg to stand on here. Very clearly we are wanting to part ways, and he has a massive deal, so we have no real choice but accept unders or take a big part of his salary on board.

Incredibly sad that this is how we might be parting ways with probably the best pure midfielder I have ever seen in red and blue. A 4 time B&F winner who had maybe the best first 6 years of a career anyone can ever dream of.

4 minutes ago, Brenno said:

Just not going to happen mate, Clarry is a salary dump. potentially we won't get very much at all in return. if we pay 700k a year or something crazy of his wage maybe we'll get a fringe player if we're lucky... maybe

Personally losing Clarry hits harder than Petracca, I really thought he was coming good towards the end of the season and would have a spot in the team moving forward. Sad end for a guy who will always be an MFC champion and one of the best players to ever wear the red and blue.

Not expecting us to get much at all for him.

11 minutes ago, Random Task said:

Zero chance

4 minutes ago, Ted Lasso said:

Just not going to happen mate, Clarry is a salary dump. potentially we won't get very much at all in return. if we pay 700k a year or something crazy of his wage maybe we'll get a fringe player if we're lucky... maybe

The reports re his salary are dxaggerated as they focus on the year it peaks at $1.3m and not the $1m average over 5 years. If we chip on $300k then its probabpy not the end of the world especially when we consider what we paid for his first 6 years.

I have a soft spot for Oliver and the standing ovation he recieved from supporters when he kicked the goal early this year was one of my favourite footy moments but I feel like we should move on to a younger midfield if we can get a quality player in such as Humphries by trading Oliver. Even better if he goes to GWS as I can get behind them if they play a GF and we don't.

15 minutes ago, Brenno said:

If it’s GWS then pick 12 is a start but not enough. We should reach out to Darcy Jones, we are short on pacey small forwards and the kids a little ripper.

Darcy Jones ruptured an ACL for the second time in their recent finals elimination loss. Will likely miss most or all of next season.

1 minute ago, chookrat said:

...if we can get a quality player in such as Humphries by trading Oliver

Chances of getting Humphreys is slim

If Clarry does go at least we will save heaps on sunscreen

14 minutes ago, lorn said:

Zero chance

He's allegedly meeting the club this weekend so don't think its zero chance.

I suspect unlikely but given the Suns are committed to a contracted Petracca they'll have to come up with an amazing deal. If Humphrey announces he want to come back to Vic then it could be on.

Pick 32 or 34 for Clarry sounds like an easy transaction.

Might get done week 1 of trade week.

Although the way they played hard ball on 0 gamer Wade Derksen last year, perhaps pick 34 will be seen as too expensive for GWS.

11 minutes ago, Little Richard said:

Personally losing Clarry hits harder than Petracca, I really thought he was coming good towards the end of the season and would have a spot in the team moving forward. Sad end for a guy who will always be an MFC champion and one of the best players to ever wear the red and blue.

Me too. Always rated him higher as a player and thought he was more committed to our club through his journey.

If this has been done without any firm commitment from incoming players then it's a big red mark for the new regime for mine. We're looking at bottom 4 for 5+ years now...extraordinary just 4 years out from a flag with a young list.

The fact that info had leaked before the meeting yesterday was an abomination. If the suggestion of us being willing to pay up to 700 of his wage is true then I have no words (surely you'd want to make sure if something might leak you'd put out a low number to start with???). Can you imagine him playing in preliminary finals and grand finals for Geel or Collingwood while we are helping them to the tune of 700k. Far out. I'd rather King have been prepared to back himself to get him back to his best than stomach that (although I guess its possible that behind the scenes there may be circumstances existing that mean removing him from the playing group is the only way we can really move forward).

I do find it odd that the list manager who did the deal is also sitting in these meetings advising people that they can't be guaranteed senior footy a couple of years into the agreement. It's time to move on from that regime...it has failed miserably and is leading us from one calamity to another.

28 minutes ago, Little Richard said:

100%
He's my favourite player.
I dunno what he's like around the club but it pains me no end a 4 time Bluey winner, 3 time All Australian, 2 time AFLCA player of the Year and 1 time Premiership gun has found himself on the outer somehow.
And looks like we're willing to cough our Champ up for bugger all.
Speechless.

Edited by Fork 'em

51 minutes ago, Brenno said:

Rubbish I'd take pick 12 and run. Oliver is cooked.

it'll be sad to see him go

its been sad watching him turn into a middle of the road mid

its just sad all round