View in the app

A better way to browse. Learn more.

A full-screen app on your home screen with push notifications, badges and more.

To install this app on iOS and iPadOS
  1. Tap the Share icon in Safari
  2. Scroll the menu and tap Add to Home Screen.
  3. Tap Add in the top-right corner.
To install this app on Android
  1. Tap the 3-dot menu (⋮) in the top-right corner of the browser.
  2. Tap Add to Home screen or Install app.
  3. Confirm by tapping Install.

18 minutes ago, old55 said:

Yes, the reason Flanders was ranked so low this year is because he lost his midfield/HB position. That's the reason he wants a trade.
https://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/pc-gold-coast-suns--sam-flanders?advv=Y

And Kennedy is 28, Macrae is 31 and Flanders is 24 - big difference.

And it would be a late first round/early 2nd round equivalent anyway in my proposed trade

MFC - Out: Petracca + 23, In: 6 + Flanders
Adelaide - Out: 14 + 41 + F1st, In: Petracca
GC - Out: 6 + Flanders (1659pts), In: 14 + 23 + 41 + F1st (1915pts)

It's easy to throw darts, it's harder to come up with solutions ...

Another fun fact for Flanders 2024 season playing mostly midfield.

He managed to finish 3rd in GC best and fairest ahead of Rowell and Anderson.

• 1st: Sam Collins (68 votes)

• 2nd: Bodhi Uwland (56 votes)

• 3rd: Sam Flanders (55 votes)

• 4th: Matt Rowell (54 votes)

• 5th: Noah Anderson (50 votes)

5 minutes ago, Demonland said:

Reckon we’d have to offer a future first to bring him in (unless Trac requests a move to the Gold Coast)

I think that would be more valuable to Gold Coast than pick 7 in this years draft anyway - they’ve already banked most of their points to match academy bids so pick 7 would just be another one swallowed up

Off to Shelbyville for a future first and a lemon tree

Edited by adonski

1 hour ago, old55 said:

Yes, the reason Flanders was ranked so low this year is because he lost his midfield/HB position. That's the reason he wants a trade.
https://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/pc-gold-coast-suns--sam-flanders?advv=Y

And Kennedy is 28, Macrae is 31 and Flanders is 24 - big difference.

And it would be a late first round/early 2nd round equivalent anyway in my proposed trade

MFC - Out: Petracca + 23, In: 6 + Flanders
Adelaide - Out: 14 + 41 + F1st, In: Petracca
GC - Out: 6 + Flanders (1659pts), In: 14 + 23 + 41 + F1st (1915pts)

It's easy to throw darts, it's harder to come up with solutions ...

The solution would be to distribute midfield minutes across Oliver, Viney, Pickett, Langford, Sparrow, Windsor, Tholstrup, Langdon, Lindsay and Culley (assuming Petracca goes).

Flanders is a B grade mid and a C-Grade half forward. And he will demand good money.

I don't think Flanders improves our midfield that much and he isn't good at any other role.

We would do better to get another high quality small forward.

If we lose out on Flanders to the Saints, and they do indeed pay pick 7, GC will be left with picks 6, 7, 13, 16 and 31.

Highly doubt we would get 6 and 7 for Petracca but 6 and 13 could be realistic.

Gold Coast essentially swap out Flanders for Petracca and pay pick 13 for the privilege. We get our alleged desired 2 x top 15 picks.

45 minutes ago, demoncat said:

Reckon we’d have to offer a future first to bring him in (unless Trac requests a move to the Gold Coast)

I think that would be more valuable to Gold Coast than pick 7 in this years draft anyway - they’ve already banked most of their points to match academy bids so pick 7 would just be another one swallowed up

Lots wouldn’t be but I’d be happy with that. Trac getting old and Flanders is young and can be molded with the new game plan.

Flanders isn’t on Tracs level but has more longevity for the club.

3 minutes ago, Random Task said:

If we lose out on Flanders to the Saints, and they do indeed pay pick 7, GC will be left with picks 6, 7, 13, 16 and 31.

Gold Coast essentially swap out Flanders for Petracca and pay pick 13 for the privilege. We get our alleged desired 2 x top 15 picks.

Throw in 23 with Trac, 6 and 7 could occur

1 hour ago, Young Blood said:

Another fun fact for Flanders 2024 season playing mostly midfield.

He managed to finish 3rd in GC best and fairest ahead of Rowell and Anderson.

• 1st: Sam Collins (68 votes)

• 2nd: Bodhi Uwland (56 votes)

• 3rd: Sam Flanders (55 votes)

• 4th: Matt Rowell (54 votes)

• 5th: Noah Anderson (50 votes)

Who is this Bodhi chap, can we have him too?

5 minutes ago, Random Task said:

I think foe us to trade out Trac we need a mature player who meets our needs in return, e.g. a key forward or a vlassy midfielder, rather than only getting draft picks.

1 minute ago, chookrat said:

I think foe us to trade out Trac we need a mature player who meets our needs in return, e.g. a key forward or a vlassy midfielder, rather than only getting draft picks.

Perhaps Hawthorn could be involved in some way for Mitch Lewis?

Unlikely maybe given our interest in Mihocek..

If we acquire I high pick in this draft, I wouldn't be opposed to stock piling picks for next year and going hard for Butters.

2 minutes ago, chookrat said:

If the club did go down this track they would be conceding we are in a complete rebuild. With May, Max, Viney at the end of their careers, Trac (possibly) leaving, it could be a smart move before Tassie comes into play. Get a young core group now and then worry about needs on the fringes later with trades/trades. We still have good experience to bring on the young fella’s.

43 minutes ago, Fat Tony said:

The solution would be to distribute midfield minutes across Oliver, Viney, Pickett, Langford, Sparrow, Windsor, Tholstrup, Langdon, Lindsay and Culley (assuming Petracca goes).

Flanders is a B grade mid and a C-Grade half forward. And he will demand good money.

I don't think Flanders improves our midfield that much and he isn't good at any other role.

I’m curious, using your own grading system, how you rate Viney, Sparrow, Windsor, Kolt, Langdon, Lindsay and Culley?

45 minutes ago, Fat Tony said:

I agree, a small forward should be at the top of our wish list with Kozzy moving to more midfield.

Which one do you think we should get this trade period?

31 minutes ago, chookrat said:

Who is this Bodhi chap, can we have him too?

Can't imagine he'd be keen given his very highly rated little brother's about to come in through the GC Academy.

53 minutes ago, Nietaphart said:

Throw in 23 with Trac, 6 and 7 could occur

This would be close to the mark as reasonable, should Trac wants to go to GC.

26 minutes ago, old55 said:

I agree, a small forward should be at the top of our wish list with Kozzy moving to more midfield.

GWS have a surplus of small players. I would start there.

That said, I think we have two options this trade period. Go for the flag in 2026 while Max is still a star. To do this, we keep Petracca and May and hope we can get Oliver and Petracca back to their best. (The problem with this strategy is we are unattractive to star players.) Or B, trade Petracca, reset the salary cap and hold future picks. I would go for B, because I see us as only 2-3% chance of winning the flag next year if we go for it.

We don't know if we are Arthur or Martha at the moment.

3 hours ago, old55 said:

Any thoughts from those who know if Ricky Mentha has any chance of filling that role in the next year or two?

2 minutes ago, monoccular said:

Any thoughts from those who know if Ricky Mentha has any chance of filling that role in the next year or two?

I recall seeing a post on Instagram from the club a little while ago asking players to nominate their next prospect from the young players and 3 or 4 out of not many nominated Mentha so there's some hope.

They're hard to find, we tried unsuccessful to trade up for the Wizard and we legitimately warned Essendon we'd nominate Kako which encouraged them to trade their first to us last year.

Edited by old55

3 hours ago, GawnOfTheDead said:

Lots wouldn’t be but I’d be happy with that. Trac getting old and Flanders is young and can be molded with the new game plan.

Flanders isn’t on Tracs level but has more longevity for the club.

Look at Gawn look at Dangerfield 30 is the new 25. Petracca could play on for another 5 years. Flanders could be another bust in 5 years. We shouldn't be looking at Petracca's age.

11 minutes ago, WERRIDEE said:

Look at Gawn look at Dangerfield 30 is the new 25. Petracca could play on for another 5 years. Flanders could be another bust in 5 years. We shouldn't be looking at Petracca's age.

I guess I am, but not from an age point of view.

Trac wasn’t a gun for a few years in, Flanders might hit full potential soon too.

I guess either way you look, both could be a bust or get injured, no way of knowing. But if Trac isn’t interesting in staying, then may as well look for someone who is and is invested. (Obviously that’s unknown, just going off media stories).

I’m happy with either tbh, as long as we get the best out of whoever is on the list.

1 hour ago, WERRIDEE said:

Or Flanders might go to another level and play for another decade

People are rating Flanders based on this year (B rating) rather than last year (A rating). He had his back injury this year so if he comes to the Dees I'm confident we'd be getting a great player.

Lots of Saints fans seem to think he’s a lock to come to them

Really hoping he nominates us - if not it’ll be another in a long line of Lamb failures since 2021

Edited by demoncat