View in the app

A better way to browse. Learn more.

A full-screen app on your home screen with push notifications, badges and more.

To install this app on iOS and iPadOS
  1. Tap the Share icon in Safari
  2. Scroll the menu and tap Add to Home Screen.
  3. Tap Add in the top-right corner.
To install this app on Android
  1. Tap the 3-dot menu (⋮) in the top-right corner of the browser.
  2. Tap Add to Home screen or Install app.
  3. Confirm by tapping Install.

1 hour ago, Ghostwriter said:

And that’s exactly what that was.

Folks don’t wanna hear it but what Max said doesn’t reflect how the players feel. It likely doesn’t even reflect how he feels. But he had to do it.

I asked six players privately and individually how they feel and I’m not about to elaborate but let’s just say they range from not happy to very [censored] off. Again, people don’t wanna hear it but this is how it is.

Get real.

You tell us you won't elaborate.

Then you elaborate.

Mischievous post. And if true appalling lack of accountability not to mention lack of professionalism by players who contributed to Goodwins demise.

We will see the true backbone and spirit of the playing group today and especially the playing leaders. Goody is no longer there to hold the team together. So we will see one of two things. Either that Goody had a massive influence on the team and it was his resolve and determination to fight through the recent adversity and fractures within the playing group OR despite his closeness with his team, Goody was unable to get the most out of players as they grew too complacent and comfortable and knew that Goody would look after em as they are all premiership hero's.

We will all get to see what Goody has meant to them today and see how much resolve and grit they have.

If i was a betting man (and i am not) i expect a 10 goal+ smacking today and Roos like farewell game.

Last week, I came out before the game and said to my mate ans girlfriend that we'd probably smash West Coast by 80 points after the St Kilda debacle. That's just the kind of side we are at the moment, capable of putting in a good performance when you don't expect it.

I've got no real sense of how we will play today though. Everyone is expecting a sacked coach rebound, but I'm not confident we will. I have a feeling that we spent alot of mental energy in responding to the St Kilda game and wouldn't surprise me if we put in a flat mediocre performance and loose by 30 - 50 points.

Really hope I'm wrong. I'd also rather we have plenty of fire in the belly for Hawthorn and Collingwood.

Edited by Rodney (Balls) Grinter

For the love of god, I hope we give big Jed a full game.

Really don't see the value in him sitting on the bench as sub for 3/4 in the position we're currently in.

Start him in the 22, get him on early and give him maximum game time and experience to build on for 2026.

As harsh as it sounds, but the players have nobody to blame but themselves for Simon Goodwin getting sacked. If they had won more games it would have never had happened! You reap what you sow....

If the players put in stinkers over the remaining 3 rounds, then the new coach, whomever it may be, will probably show them the door. I only want players at the Melbourne Football Club who will play for the jumper. Either bleed red and blue or leave....❤️💙

I will definitely not elaborate on names but I met 3 players out at breakfast this morning and none seemed overly fussed when I asked how they felt upon the Goodwin sacking.

When asked about the possible incoming coach, Buckley got 2 nods and interestingly Hird got the other .

2 minutes ago, joeboy said:

Buckley got 2 nods and interestingly Hird got the other .

I’m going to guess Melksham was not one of the players you ran into 😂

The Bulldogs have won their last 2 games by an average of 90 pts against teams that beat us this year

Did I crush anyone else’s spirit just now?

52 minutes ago, Jaded No More said:

It is certainly not in the player’s best interest to sulk and put up an average performance. Their future coach will undoubtedly be watching today.

I heard Paul Roos say that he watched the last few games of the season before he took over as coach, and was so impressed with Nev Jetta he saved him from a certain delisting.

Opportunity aplenty for players to show their next coach what they’re made of.

As Gawny said, footy waits for nobody.

I think two things can be true at once. I'm actually glad that the players came out in defence of Goody, which shows the level of respect and loyalty they had for their coach and mentor for he past 10 odd years. But I also don't sense a mass player dissatisfaction and revolt against the board.

I'm personally not expecting the players to sulk. I think Max set the tone well, when he said words to the effect that he was originally shocked and hurt, but that he's moved on. I think it's also possible the playing group will also be thankful for a fresh start and some clean air without the conjecture of having calls to axe the coach hanging over them after every loss.

15 minutes ago, joeboy said:

I will definitely not elaborate on names but I met 3 players out at breakfast this morning and none seemed overly fussed when I asked how they felt upon the Goodwin sacking.

When asked about the possible incoming coach, Buckley got 2 nods and interestingly Hird got the other .

My three-word summary of that chance meeting

Hird, please no

18 minutes ago, Supreme_Demon said:

As harsh as it sounds, but the players have nobody to blame but themselves for Simon Goodwin getting sacked. If they had won more games it would have never had happened! You reap what you sow....

If the players put in stinkers over the remaining 3 rounds, then the new coach, whomever it may be, will probably show them the door. I only want players at the Melbourne Football Club who will play for the jumper. Either bleed red and blue or leave....❤️💙

Effort hasn't really been the problem apart from a couple of starts. List management needs to take some responsibility. There's been no injection of slick ball users and good runners apart from some kids via the draft.

Edited by At the break of Gawn

7 minutes ago, DubDee said:

The Bulldogs have won their last 2 games by an average of 90 pts against teams that beat us this year

Did I crush anyone else’s spirit just now?

Nope, my spirit was crushed a long time ago.

One word for today

"LEARNINGS"

2 hours ago, Ghostwriter said:

And that’s exactly what that was.

Folks don’t wanna hear it but what Max said doesn’t reflect how the players feel. It likely doesn’t even reflect how he feels. But he had to do it.

I asked six players privately and individually how they feel and I’m not about to elaborate but let’s just say they range from not happy to very [censored] off. Again, people don’t wanna hear it but this is how it is.

Seriously, if true we have a real bunch of babies at this club and the sooner we ship some out the better.

It's great that they liked their coach but from the outside looking in it is starting to feel like there was not enough tough love. Their individual and team performances have bordered on shambolic at times and they are largely to blame for their coach getting shown the door.

I have absolutely no doubt that any prospective coach will be in attendance today or at least watching on the TV - sook it up and play dead at your own peril would be my advice.

5 hours ago, Older demon said:

Why can't we take the players on face value and see that, as professionals, they can move on quickly? They do it every week. Recovery and review day 1, and move on and plan the next game 2 days later, irrespective of whether we win or lose. They assess and move on. That is what they are trained to do.

What we think they are really saying or judging how they feel is more a reflection of our own thoughts and feelings, not theirs. If Max says they have moved on I believe him.

I believe that the interim coach, having declared he is not going to apply, has been as open and honest as possible. He isn't going to change much, as it is so late in the season. They may make a few tweeks and have selected a largely unchanged side. Casey played a belter yesterday up north with all of the MFC players showing up.

Look at the vision of the players as they announce Adams impending debut. They really don't look like sad, maudlin, woe-is-me victims. 7 of our last 8 quarters have been some of the best football they have played this season. The one shocking quarter has affected us all.

I hope they have a red hot go, play good attacking football and start gathering some momentum to take into the pre-season.

Brilliantly put.

Just now, At the break of Gawn said:

Effort hasn't really been the problem apart from a couple of starts. List management needs to take some responsibility, there's been no injection of slick ball users and good runners apart from some kids via the draft.

If you can't trade for them, the draft is the spot you get them. I think we've done well with our recent selections at the draft, but as good as those kids are, it takes a few years to develop them into reliable AFL level performers.

Today will be a good test for our on-field leaders. Gawn, Viney, Trac etc will be able to tell straight away if some efforts are off and should pull them into line.