View in the app

A better way to browse. Learn more.

A full-screen app on your home screen with push notifications, badges and more.

To install this app on iOS and iPadOS
  1. Tap the Share icon in Safari
  2. Scroll the menu and tap Add to Home Screen.
  3. Tap Add in the top-right corner.
To install this app on Android
  1. Tap the 3-dot menu (⋮) in the top-right corner of the browser.
  2. Tap Add to Home screen or Install app.
  3. Confirm by tapping Install.

What no one has mentioned re Buckley is cost and contract length.

Both may be too rich for us to swallow especially if he wants to bring his nominated assistants.

That soft cap is rather tight to say the least

20 hours ago, The heart beats true said:

It’s about optics. The appearance of a process is the process. Think of it as a kind of insurance for the board, so they can say ‘We went through a thorough process’.

Look at Andrew Dillon. Took the AFL a year of multimillion dollar recruitment fees to discover that, unbelievably, the best man for the job was in the room at the initial meeting.

You can imagine the millions of dollars lost on free world trips and junkets for these maggots and their media acolytes.

12 minutes ago, Diamond_Jim said:

What no one has mentioned re Buckley is cost and contract length.

Both may be too rich for us to swallow especially if he wants to bring his nominated assistants.

That soft cap is rather tight to say the least

My guess is that terms are already broadly agreed and have been so for some time.

It’s a guess before people start jumping down my throat!

1 hour ago, speed demon said:

Not quite unprecedented: Malthouse did not win a flag in his first coaching stint (Bulldogs '84-89) and neither did David Parkin (Hawks '77-80) with both going on to win three flags each.

I wouldn't summarise Buckley's time at the Pies as a failure. I'd say there were successes (turning over the list, improving culture, improving training standards) and failures (player relationships). If not for a Dom Sheed miracle he would be a premiership coach with a winning percentage of 53.6 from 218 games. Similar to Leigh Matthews time at Collingwood with one premiership and a winning percentage of 55.6 from 224. Matthews did alright in his second gig too.

People forget what was going on at Collingwood when Buckley was coaching and also the forces that were in charge.

2 hours ago, Adam The God said:

I had a chat yesterday with some guys we regularly sit near at the footy. We discussed Buckley and all four of us agreed that none of us liked Buckley, so we were having to shift that in our heads, but that if Buckley won a flag with Melbourne instead, we wouldn't be complaining.

The second chance saloon is definitely an issue though. It would be unprecedented (correct me if I'm wrong) if Buckley won a flag having failed in his first time as a senior coach.

That doesn't mean you don't employ him, but he has to, pardon the pun, buck history.

Leigh Matthews....better coach 2nd time around...by his own admission

Both John Longmire and Adam Simpson pulling out of the opportunity to coach the Melbourne Football Club is disappointing but not surprising. They both were exhausted mentally and felt cooked. However, is coaching the Melbourne Football Club seen as a "poisoned chalice" perhaps? Simon Goodwin certainly wanted to keep coaching the Demons though!

Our list isn't that bad is it? I think we have a good mix of senior players and up-and-coming younger players who would make coaching the Demons an exciting opportunity. Wouldn't becoming the "new voice" be an amazing challenge?

It looks like it's Nathan Buckley's role to lose?

I also think Nathan Buckley is pragmatic and knows it would be a tougher chance to get the coaching job at the Tasmania Devils. Why not coach the Melbourne Football Club, especially if you have a deep and burning desire to win a Premiership. We all know Nathan Buckley still has that intense desire to do it and win a Flag in his own right.

My only concern is how will Nathan Buckley relate with the players? I think he has "mellowed" a bit but also hope he has a hard edge too. Nathan Buckley definitely gives the impression of authority and commands respect. Lastly, I would rather the coach be respected by the Demons players than liked too much as a "best mate". In the end it will be up to Nathan Buckley to find that balance between respect and likeability.

Edited by Supreme_Demon

6 minutes ago, BScotti said:

Leigh Matthews....better coach 2nd time around...by his own admission

He won a flag the first time around though.

2 minutes ago, Supreme_Demon said:

Both John Longmire and Adam Simpson pulling out of the opportunity to coach the Melbourne Football Club is disappointing but not surprising. They both were exhausted mentally and felt cooked. However, iscoaching the Melbourne Football Club seen as a "poisoned chalice" perhaps? Simon Goodwin certainly wanted to keep coaching the Demons though!

Our list isn't that bad is it? I think we have a good mix of senior players and up-and-coming younger players who would make coaching the Demons an exciting opportunity. Wouldn't becoming the "new voice" be an amazing challenge?

I also think Nathan Buckley is pragmatic and knows it would be a tougher chance to get the coaching job at the Tasmania Devils. Why not coach the Melbourne Football Club, especially if you have a deep and burning desire to win a Premiership. We all know Nathan Buckley still has that intense desire to do it and win a Flag in his own right.

I must admit I think it’s probably more simple than that. Simpson said he never even spoke to us, Chaplin didn’t even apply. I think a few things are pointing to the idea we’ve had bucks as our target a long way out.

No one wants to publicly express interest and not get the role.

Well I know one thing...I'll be tuning in to watch On The Couch tonight to see what Bucks has to say about the Dees...I am all of a sudden very interested.

Edited by Young Angus

Yes agree on all counts now that Simmo and Horse have ruled themselves out I’m keen for the Board to get moving with the a Buckley signature before Kero sends him into the Tasmanian wilderness to spite MFC. Jeez what did we do to her, was it the 2021 Premiership???

57 minutes ago, Deez21 said:

I imagine only Pickett and Viney are truly upset at this news

Pickett can sleep soundly, because every incoming coach would die to coach him and would be so spectacularly happy to have him part of the long term future. I know he was very close to Goody, but he shouldn't worry that a new coach will love him any less. He also still has Matty Whelan there.

If Buckley is our next coach, I hope he learnt a whole lot of what not to do working in an organisation where systemic racism was a big issue. Again, thank god for Matty Whelan doing such a marvellous job!

6 hours ago, worldwideweb_demon said:

He failed as a coach for Collingwood even though the Pies absolutely adored him. I was surrounded by so many Pies friends that I wanted him out year after year.

True, he almost pinch a premiership but people should inspect that season closer. Collingwood had an easy draw and did not beat anyone in the top 8 except for us during the home and away season! They were extremely lucky to finish in the top 4 which handed them a second chance after they lost to West Coast in the first finals. Then of course went to win the next two games and almost a third.

I do hope we explore all options.

The same could be said for MacRae's premiership - ordinary list, good draw, won every final by two millimetres and with overtime umpiring assistance.

A failure would be to not make finals consistently after being there long enough to implement game plan and personnel.

Edited by Norm Smith's Curse

18 minutes ago, Supreme_Demon said:

Both John Longmire and Adam Simpson pulling out of the opportunity to coach the Melbourne Football Club is disappointing but not surprising. They both were exhausted mentally and felt cooked. However, is coaching the Melbourne Football Club seen as a "poisoned chalice" perhaps? Simon Goodwin certainly wanted to keep coaching the Demons though!

My only concern is how will Nathan Buckley relate with the players? I think he has "mellowed" a bit but also hope he has a hard edge too. Nathan Buckley definitely gives the impression of authority and commands respect. Lastly, I would rather the coach be respected by the Demons players than liked too much as a "best mate". In the end it will be up to Nathan Buckley to find that balance between respect and likeability.

If you know they know you are available yet you don't even hear a thing from the club and you have a cushy job already why would you put your hand up and potentially embarrass yourself?

Gosh I dont know...if only we could find a premiership winning coach, committed to keep evolving our game plan, who we know could elecit a strong team bond and unity and someone who had the work ethic of a bull. ie the one we just had! The more I think about Goodys sacking and everyone screaming for him to go the angrier I feel. Even if Buckley is available Im not sure I wouldn't prefer Goody. Im willing to be proven wrong in time and please come back and bite me later.... but I cant get past feeling that this was a big mistake.

Experienced senior coaches, especially premiership winning ones, don't go through the same vetting process as assistants when trying to get another senior role.

Simpson and Longmire would not put themselves through rounds and rounds of presentations and interviews, only to be told sorry but no.

We will likely go through a process of interviewing some good assistant coaches as a preliminary process, having already spoken with Buckley. And if one of them really impresses, then Buckley might have more work on his hands.

Just because the job is Buckley's to lose, doesn't mean he can't or won't lose out to a new name. But Longmire and Simpson were never going to put themselves into a process without being told they are going to get the job after some formalities and a power point presentation to the board. Buckley is not in the same space as those two, as he's been out of the coaching game for a while.

If Buckley goes through a quicker process than some other candidates we might approach, it's only because he's had a longer lead time to get himself ready for a role that he likely knew was coming. I have no doubt we've spoken with him, Longmire and Simpson (don't believe the media spin from them) throughout the year before we sacked Goody.

19 minutes ago, Wells 11 said:

Gosh I dont know...if only we could find a premiership winning coach, committed to keep evolving our game plan, who we know could elecit a strong team bond and unity and someone who had the work ethic of a bull. ie the one we just had! The more I think about Goodys sacking and everyone screaming for him to go the angrier I feel. Even if Buckley is available Im not sure I wouldn't prefer Goody. Im willing to be proven wrong in time and please come back and bite me later.... but I cant get past feeling that this was a big mistake.

This ^^ ...I hope you're wrong but yeah can't help feeling a bit like this. Doesn't matter now I guess.

1 hour ago, Willmoy1947 said:

People forget what was going on at Collingwood when Buckley was coaching and also the forces that were in charge.

100%. He had Eddie breathing down his neck before he even transitioned into the senior coaching role. There was tension before he even took the seat, and then the pressure placed on him while the club battled through certain off-field things was enormous. He was the favourite son of the club too, so would've had additional pressure to deliver. He managed to rebuild a list to another grand final slot whilst under that external pressure. He didn't win the ultimate, but he was one kick away - just like Ross Lyon.

His time in the media the past few years shows his growth and his understanding of the modern game. I'm not saying he should just walk in as our next coach, but if he got the gig then I reckon he'd be up for the task.

58 minutes ago, Jaded No More said:

Pickett can sleep soundly, because every incoming coach would die to coach him and would be so spectacularly happy to have him part of the long term future. I know he was very close to Goody, but he shouldn't worry that a new coach will love him any less. He also still has Matty Whelan there.

If Buckley is our next coach, I hope he learnt a whole lot of what not to do working in an organisation where systemic racism was a big issue. Again, thank god for Matty Whelan doing such a marvellous job!

Oh no doubt

Kozzie would've signed that deal knowing full well theres a chance Goody could be gone and was happy to sign it.

7 hours ago, worldwideweb_demon said:

I don't post much but I can't believe that so many supporters want Buckley as our coach.

He failed as a coach for Collingwood even though the Pies absolutely adored him. I was surrounded by so many Pies friends that I wanted him out year after year.

True, he almost pinch a premiership but people should inspect that season closer. Collingwood had an easy draw and did not beat anyone in the top 8 except for us during the home and away season! They were extremely lucky to finish in the top 4 which handed them a second chance after they lost to West Coast in the first finals. Then of course went to win the next two games and almost a third.

I do hope we explore all options.

Well done on pointing this out. To this you can add they were lucky to be so close in the GF, WC had five more scoring shots in a relatively low scoring game. Had the Eagles taken their chances in the last quarter the game would have been well and truly over long before any Dom Sheed heroics were necessary. The "Buckley was a kick away from a premiership" argument is really ignoring just how lucky he was to be so close.

Why is no-one talking about Stuart Dew? If we can't have The Ooze, let's look at Dew. He lifted the Suns from the bottom to mid-table as his player list was plundered. He was recommended by Roos before Roos left, but the Suns grabbed him first, leaving the door open for Goodie. Dew joined the Lions last year as the skills coach and THE LIONS WON THE FLAG. Just sayin' ... Dew is still skills coach for the Lions (don't we need more of that?). From 2018 the Suns went 17, 18, 14, 16, 12. We stole Steven May in 2017 and the Suns lost Adam Saad and Gary Ablett for 2018, Callum Ah Chee in 2019, Izak Rankine in 2022, Mabior Chol in 2023. I'm not saying they would have made a premiership team if they had all stayed (Ablett only had one more year in him), but the Suns would have been better than 12th.

Edited by Go Lordie

4 hours ago, Adam The God said:

That too.

There's little recent history, Malthouse being the last coach to win having coached elsewhere, but I don't believe there has ever been a coach that failed to win a flag in his first job, win one in his second job.

And/or Lindsay.

I reckon you'd be going back to someone like Robert Walls or Malcolm Blight.

Long time.

1 hour ago, Jaded No More said:

Experienced senior coaches, especially premiership winning ones, don't go through the same vetting process as assistants when trying to get another senior role.

Simpson and Longmire would not put themselves through rounds and rounds of presentations and interviews, only to be told sorry but no.

We will likely go through a process of interviewing some good assistant coaches as a preliminary process, having already spoken with Buckley. And if one of them really impresses, then Buckley might have more work on his hands.

Just because the job is Buckley's to lose, doesn't mean he can't or won't lose out to a new name. But Longmire and Simpson were never going to put themselves into a process without being told they are going to get the job after some formalities and a power point presentation to the board. Buckley is not in the same space as those two, as he's been out of the coaching game for a while.

If Buckley goes through a quicker process than some other candidates we might approach, it's only because he's had a longer lead time to get himself ready for a role that he likely knew was coming. I have no doubt we've spoken with him, Longmire and Simpson (don't believe the media spin from them) throughout the year before we sacked Goody.

And just because Tom Morris said that it's Buckley's to lose doesn't mean that it is actually Buckley's to lose..

1 hour ago, Jaded No More said:

Is The Flash still involved in the MFC indigenous program?

4 hours ago, grazman said:

Malcolm Blight says hello.

15 minutes ago, layzie said:

I reckon you'd be going back to someone like Robert Walls or Malcolm Blight.

Long time.

Lethal Leigh? 1990 @ Pies then Lions 3-peat?

MS Copilot

Only a few AFL head coaches have won premierships with multiple clubs, which is a rare and impressive achievement. Based on historical records, here are the confirmed examples:

🏆 Coaches Who Have Won Premierships at Two Different AFL Clubs

1. Ron Barassi

• Melbourne: 1960 (as player-coach)

• Carlton: 1968, 1970

• North Melbourne: 1975, 1977

2. David Parkin

• Hawthorn: 1978

• Carlton: 1981, 1982, 1995

3. Allan Jeans

• St Kilda: 1966

• Hawthorn: 1983, 1986, 1989

4. Tom Hafey

• Richmond: 1967, 1969, 1973, 1974

• Collingwood: Took them to multiple Grand Finals but did not win a premiership there

5. Mick Malthouse

• West Coast: 1992, 1994

• Collingwood: 2010

6. Leigh Matthews

• Collingwood: 1990

• Brisbane Lions: 2001, 2002, 2003

7. Malcolm Blight

• Adelaide: 1997, 1998

• (No premierships with other clubs as head coach)

8. Denis Pagan

• North Melbourne: 1996, 1999

• (No premierships with Carlton)

From this list, the coaches who actually won premierships with two different clubs are:

• Ron Barassi

• David Parkin

• Allan Jeans

• Mick Malthouse

• Leigh Matthews

Edited by Dee*ceiving

20 minutes ago, Go Lordie said:

Why is no-one talking about Stuart Dew? If we can't have The Ooze, let's look at Dew. He lifted the Suns from the bottom to mid-table as his player list was plundered. He was recommended by Roos before Roos left, but the Suns grabbed him first, leaving the door open for Goodie. Dew joined the Lions last year as the skills coach and THE LIONS WON THE FLAG. Just sayin' ... Dew is still skills coach for the Lions (don't we need more of that?). From 2018 the Suns went 17, 18, 14, 16, 12. We stole Steven May in 2017 and the Suns lost Adam Saad and Gary Ablett for 2018, Callum Ah Chee in 2019, Izak Rankine in 2022, Mabior Chol in 2023. I'm not saying they would have made a premiership team if they had all stayed (Ablett only had one more year in him), but the Suns would have been better than 12th.

Win record below 30%. Had 6 seasons as Suns coach and highest finish of 12th. This was in spite of having an endless amount of first round picks and one of the most talented lists in the league - even losing those players you mentioned. He wasn't able to rebuild a club with a heap of draft concessions and additional support the AFL with zero external pressure up there in Qld. Why would we expect him to do better when he'd have less talent and support and have more pressure?

I actually thought he appeared to be quite a good coach when I watched that documentary on Prime a few years back, but at the end of the day his record as a coach was poor. Ooze was an up and coming premiership winning assistant at multiple clubs. Dew is a failed senior coach and not someone you'd chase at this stage. You chase a successful senior coach or an impressive aspiring assistant such as Enright or Skipworth.