View in the app

A better way to browse. Learn more.

A full-screen app on your home screen with push notifications, badges and more.

To install this app on iOS and iPadOS
  1. Tap the Share icon in Safari
  2. Scroll the menu and tap Add to Home Screen.
  3. Tap Add in the top-right corner.
To install this app on Android
  1. Tap the 3-dot menu (⋮) in the top-right corner of the browser.
  2. Tap Add to Home screen or Install app.
  3. Confirm by tapping Install.

If it is Buckley he needs to burn a collingwood flag and and see a dentist

possibly orthodontist too

If people got annoyed with Goody saying not much in the media, prepare for Longmire to give even less. Not sure I’ve ever heard him say anything that doesn’t leave me wondering what he’s actually saying.

4 hours ago, Gator said:

I suppose I can now share the following, which I sent as a private message here on April 3 this year:

''I don't often post rumours but I can tell you with certainty that Steven Smith has met for a coffee with Nathan Buckley re potentially coaching the MFC.

I can't tell you how the meeting went or if Buckley has any interest, because I don't know. I only know that they met.

I won't post this on the main forum because it serves no purpose and could potentially cause (further) instability. It's just not needed at the moment.

For me, Smith should conduct this sort of due diligence and I'm glad he's on the front foot. Of course, it may all come to nothing.''

I then heard from a second unrelated source, not long after, that Melbourne was keen on Buckley.

Accords with my understanding of Smith's modus operandi. He has NOT been an inactive pres in waiting. In fact, completely the opposite. Shaw is not the first to have“came up on him like a librarian!” More will be revealed.

Horse worked very hard to avoid saying no.

longmire sounded like a politician. very cagey. didn't scream to me like he's all that interested

16 minutes ago, lorn said:

I don't think top four in two years is realistic. We have a lot of problems and it's unlikely they can be fixed that quickly particularly considering players like Gawn, May and Melksham are close to the end.

As individuals the best 22 on our list is presently rating marginally ahead of the 2021 premiership team rating during the 2021 H&A season.

That tells me, that we have a decent base to go on.

Does it need tweaking, adjusting to suit the fast transition / skills side of the game and to address some of the pitfalls forward of center? Fitness possibly also an issue in terms of running out games plus capability of bringing AFL levels of pressure for three to four quarters?

The bulk on this playing list haven't lost their ability.... yet. And for many that ability took us to the holy grail.

The basic ingredients, no doubt with a few personnel additions/changes needed at player / FD level, are still there.

Make no mistake.... with the right coach / coaching crew and some changes / additions per above, we can absolutely bounce back within two seasons and barnstorm our way into a prelim imho. And who knows from there.

Never say never. Some new personnel, tweaks to game style, a return of confidence and belief. Change can be an amazing tonic.

Edited by Demon Dynasty

I'm going with Rhyce Shaw, Tony Shaw as head of footy and Ray Shaw as pres in waiting. And if not this, I only want Buckley if he comes as a package deal with Eddie (who once floated being pres of the Deez).

Edited by Queanbeyan Demon

9 minutes ago, Ted Lasso said:

Horse worked very hard to avoid saying no.

He never said "neigh".

7 minutes ago, Queanbeyan Demon said:

I'm going with Rhyce Shaw, Tony Shaw as head of footy and Ray Shaw as pres in waiting.

I don't think it's a shaw thing at all.

FWIW Gerard Healy was on SEN about half an hour ago claiming that he's hearing Buckley is the clear front runner, and that he hasn't heard any noise around Longmire.

44 minutes ago, chook fowler said:

I thought we might be regarded as a poison chalice - it seems not.

"Hey horse, how'd you like to drive to casey 3 times a week?"

"No thanks."

"Here's a million+ bucks, how about now?"

19 minutes ago, Jaded No More said:

If people got annoyed with Goody saying not much in the media, prepare for Longmire to give even less. Not sure I’ve ever heard him say anything that doesn’t leave me wondering what he’s actually saying.

I give it a solid 6 months before a ‘Is Horse the right guy’ thread starts if he gets the job

Ideally we want someone who's re-invented a list to challenge again quickly and Longmire is that guy.

Bucks sounds keen but not totally sold on his record.

Originally I wanted an assistant as it's in fashion and done well recently.

Now logically Longmire definitely first for me but have my doubts he wants it.

If not then I'm happy to back in whoever we get.

1 hour ago, Deez21 said:

Also on Goodwin - will not be short of media offers for next year. He is so highly rated in the industry

I actually think if you abstract yourself away from his Dees pressers, he is quite good in the media.

8 minutes ago, gs77 said:

"Hey horse, how'd you like to drive to casey 3 times a week?"

"No thanks."

"Here's a million+ bucks, how about now?"

It does make me laugh when anyone earning ludicrous amounts of money complains about commuting to Casey. I stand still on the Monash for a lot less than that. Will happily swap.

10 minutes ago, Davos said:

FWIW Gerard Healy was on SEN about half an hour ago claiming that he's hearing Buckley is the clear front runner, and that he hasn't heard any noise around Longmire.

Gerard hates the MFC. I'm not saying he's wrong but i can't see how he'd have much inside running on this.

Looking forward to the meltdown with a few on here when Buckley is named coach.

And then, slowly but surely, the come around once we bounce next year.

Was Simpson asked in 360 after Longmire? What was his response like?

Longmire was cagey and avoidant. Buckley was positive about the club and was keen.

39 minutes ago, DubDee said:

If it is Buckley he needs to burn a collingwood flag and and see a dentist

possibly orthodontist too

And knock out #4.

3 minutes ago, Lord Travis said:

Was Simpson asked in 360 after Longmire? What was his response like?

Longmire was cagey and avoidant. Buckley was positive about the club and was keen.

Simpson didn’t say no and danced around the answer by saying it’s essentially not front of mind. I reckon he would definitely take a call.

Bucks for mine. Has the profile we actually need. We are a small club we need someone like Bucks. He might get us back on the map. His effort to make the 2018 GF was phenomenal. 2019 lost a prelim as massive favourites. 2020 smashed in a semi. After that pies were done and he was gone in 2021.

Longmire cagey as he doesn’t want to commit and not get the job.

Bucks $1.05. Yes please

10 hours ago, YesitwasaWin4theAges said:

Longmire is still based in Sydney forget about him as an option.

Like other posters have said and I agree he's had everything handed to him on a silver platter up in Sydney and 1 premiership to show for it.

Yes he made 3 other grand finals got smacked by 12 goals in 2 of them and lost to a team who finished 7 on the ladder after 22 rounds.

Buddy gifted wrapped for him, the academy picks, COLA, favourable scheduling, No pressure from the Sydney public, not living in the fish bowl environment etc....

Its a big no from me.

Totally disagree . Horse is an excellent, proven , experienced coach . Just having a team make four grand finals is a great achievement in itself . We’ve been only involved in three since 1964! He is more proven and has a better record than any of the other contenders. The fact that he is “an outsider” is I think a strength as I think he could bring needed new ideas and approaches. I agree the fact he is Sydney based may make the coaching position less attractive to him.

Goody dropped the bomb, Casey, who would be insane enough to drive there, wherever it is.

That immediately takes out everybody but a few struggling assistant coaches.

A man like Bucks is not going to start his motor up every day and traverse to that place.

1 minute ago, bluey said:

Goody dropped the bomb, Casey, who would be insane enough to drive there, wherever it is.

That immediately takes out everybody but a few struggling assistant coaches.

A man like Bucks is not going to start his motor up every day and traverse to that place.

Live on the Ninsh and make it easier

Do they go there every day?