View in the app

A better way to browse. Learn more.

A full-screen app on your home screen with push notifications, badges and more.

To install this app on iOS and iPadOS
  1. Tap the Share icon in Safari
  2. Scroll the menu and tap Add to Home Screen.
  3. Tap Add in the top-right corner.
To install this app on Android
  1. Tap the 3-dot menu (⋮) in the top-right corner of the browser.
  2. Tap Add to Home screen or Install app.
  3. Confirm by tapping Install.

11 minutes ago, William said:

I agree with @binman. There is an undercurrent on this forum against CarolIne Wilson’s journalism that is unhealthy and obsessive.

I have detected the same bias against Kellie Underwood, who may not be everyone’s cup of tea but is a pioneer and very knowledgeable.

Both women have carved a path in a shockingly male-dominated sport and environment to their credit.

They also expose the deficiencies of many of the male commentators and journalists in our sport.

Sam McClure, Tom Morris, Gerard Whateley, Kane Cornes, Eddy McGuire, Michael Warner, David King, Mark Robinson, the list goes on.

These are sports media people who are also frequently taken to task (to put it mildly) on this forum.

This has nothing to do with gender.

19 minutes ago, William said:

I agree with @binman. There is an undercurrent on this forum against CarolIne Wilson’s journalism that is unhealthy and obsessive.

I have detected the same bias against Kellie Underwood, who may not be everyone’s cup of tea but is a pioneer and very knowledgeable.

Both women have carved a path in a shockingly male-dominated sport and environment to their credit.

They also expose the deficiencies of many of the male commentators and journalists in our sport.

You're suggesting the criticism is based solely on gender? I mean how is it any different to "have you played footy before' or 'what's the highest level'.

I have zero doubt there is bias, it is in human nature, but to base on gender says more about you and your perception of this world.

Caro is trying to stay relevant by drumming up issues (right or wrong) and will cop flak for it. It's what she's paid to do a la. Kane Cornes aka Corn

10 hours ago, picket fence said:

Still in Venice and I have to say, the joint has lots of water,secret passages,laneways, spooky alleys, dodgy types and many many women looking in admiration at the Aussie Icon. If anyone asks me my name I say Solemnly Picket Fence. Signed quite a few hankies, and left a few heart flutters in my wake. Ah um Mrs.Fence keeping an eagle eye on things so nothing untoward! Next stop Florence, then Rome then... Home, yeah and have to say after 6 weeks happy to be going home. Best to all, And for me its Buckley's or Nunn and or Lade, or Skipworth.

NOW WHATS THIS ABOUT JEFFO???

I am certain you are an outstanding ambassador for our fine country picket.

Sir Les would be proud of you!

Irrespective of her Gender, Caro is pushing Buckley to Tassie as hard as she can.

I thought journos report the news, not try and create it.

She is clearly trying to assist her mate Brendan Gale, it is actually becoming pathetic,

Edited by Redleg

Let's face it - in the AFL ecosystem we are towards the bottom in terms of clubs, maybe below Tasmania even. Geelong and Collingwood at the top - it's all determined by either $$$$$ or level of influence.

1 hour ago, Ghostwriter said:

Something indisputable is that Caro takes her job seriously…

DA OGs told me that when Joe Gutnick was President, during a match he came down to sit in the cheer squad for “refuge.” A little while after he sat down, the person next to him turned around and there’s Caro sitting directly behind Joe, with pen and notebook.

I don’t know what she expected to hear that could be newsworthy but I can’t help but admire such a ballsy move

Funny that G u think ballsy move by her whereas I think what a leech.

Just goes to show everyone has a diff opinion on what happens or people see.

1 hour ago, Adam The God said:

I haven't watched AFL media in a few years. I was surprised to see Riewoldt as host in a clip I saw yesterday.

He has the charisma of a donut.

As you go through life

Let this be you role

Keep your eye upon the Donut

And not upon the hole

Donut Arthur GIF by Un si grand soleil

Buckley wants to win a flag. That won't happen with Tassie, unless he is keen to coach until he's 70.

let it go GIF

50 minutes ago, Redleg said:

Irrespective of her Gender, Caro is pushing Buckley to Tassie as hard as she can.

I thought journos report the news, not try and create it.

She is clearly trying to assist her mate Brendan Gale, it is actually becoming pathetic,

If Buckley is announced our Coach, I actually expect Caro to boo the announcement.

Just now, bing181 said:

"The game plan stuff is totally irrelevant"

Nathan Buckley on candidating for the MFC coaching

46 minutes ago, Clintosaurus said:

Let's face it - in the AFL ecosystem we are towards the bottom in terms of clubs, maybe below Tasmania even. Geelong and Collingwood at the top - it's all determined by either $$$$$ or level of influence.

So we have grow some Cohunas and battle hard and make the right decisions to become a bigger, respected club and organisation, we started doing this after the flag than it went to sh#$t on our own doing...

Start again.. and get it done. The right leadership on all levels will do this

Just now, Redleg said:

If Buckley is announced our Coach, I actually expect Caro to boo the announcement.

I am actually predicting the opposite on this. I think she'll immediately stop talking about how bad Melbourne is and pivot to Carlton the second they look like sacking Voss.

After watching Djokovic just beat Taylor Fritz, in yet another hostile environment as he isn’t as loved as past champions, rose to the challenge again and won against absolute quality through all the heckling from the crowd. Reaches yet another Slam final.

Whoever the coach is, I really hope they work on the mindset and the psychology. Should be the first port of call. At this level of Aussie Rules, everyone has talent and the top echelon of talent will always have elite skill sets. What sets apart a good and great team is the mindset.

A lot of wallowing and even self loathing from our players over the past few years and wouldn’t it be nice to channel the mindset of Djokovic in 2026. As he himself said, a strong mindset is worked on, it isn’t a natural gift.

The mental side of sport is so underrated as we only get to see the physical and tangible aspect and I hope the new coach can come in and change the mindset of the entire club. I hope this is part of the criteria when selecting the next coach.

Edited by VNightCityLegend

1 hour ago, Bitter but optimistic said:

I am certain you are an outstanding ambassador for our fine country picket.

Sir Les would be proud of you!

Ah Uncle, lovely to hear from your eminence! Yes both les's Les Patterson and my favourite Les.... LES NORTON! Can I humbly suggest you check out his books by Robert G Barrett? His first one " You wouldn't be dead for quids" is a sensational read and would be right up your alley!!

2 minutes ago, picket fence said:

Ah Uncle, lovely to hear from your eminence! Yes both les's Les Patterson and my favourite Les.... LES NORTON! Can I humbly suggest you check out his books by Robert G Barrett? His first one " You wouldn't be dead for quids" is a sensational read and would be right up your alley!!

As always picket - your advice is invaluable!

Caro is merely doing the bidding for the greater dark force.😮

According to theological and folkloric traditions, the Devil is a powerful fallen angel who orchestrates evil, whereas demons are the various fallen beings or corrupted souls that act as their agents to spread corruption, sin, and chaos in the world

The devil is a single, specific being (also known as Satan or Lucifer), the leader of all demons, while demons are many individual, lesser evil spirits that serve the Devil.

3 minutes ago, RickyJ45 said:

According to theological and folkloric traditions, the Devil is a powerful fallen angel who orchestrates evil, whereas demons are the various fallen beings or corrupted souls that act as their agents to spread corruption, sin, and chaos in the world

The devil is a single, specific being (also known as Satan or Lucifer), the leader of all demons, while demons are many individual, lesser evil spirits that serve the Devil.

Interested in your thoughts on energetics as they relate to Kade Chandler.

5 minutes ago, RickyJ45 said:

Caro is merely doing the bidding for the greater dark force.😮

And they all hang out in a place called pandemonium. Which word , in modern usage, often aptly describes the state of our club.

16 minutes ago, RickyJ45 said:

Happy to accept that title! 🙂😁🙃!

Edited by Lucifers Hero

2 hours ago, Clintosaurus said:

I wouldn't say we're below Tasmania - there's no guarantee at all that Tasmania will even go ahead. There's no AFL licence until the government signs off on the stadium, and that's currently a long way off.

Whoever is our next coach get a goalkicking coach - and get the players to do what Dunstall, Lockett and the best goal kicking and most accurate would do all the time, practice practice practice, they all were pretty durable, so no BS about too much kicking! That’s everyone midfield and forward - maybe even the defenders!

Kick 3 more goals a week instead of 2 points and an out on the full, adds 3 goals a game, would lead to another half a dozen wins per year!

21 minutes ago, Adina88 said:

I wouldn't say we're below Tasmania - there's no guarantee at all that Tasmania will even go ahead. There's no AFL licence until the government signs off on the stadium, and that's currently a long way off.

Yes it’s not like the AFL would ever let a new team come in with a sub standard stadium to the competition. Demanding Tassie has a roofed stadium will uphold the ground quality traditions of news teams, just like GWS!

Edited by D4Life
Clarification

3 minutes ago, D4Life said:

Whoever is our next coach get a goalkicking coach - and get the players to do what Dunstall, Lockett and the best goal kicking and most accurate would do all the time, practice practice practice, they all were pretty durable, so no BS about too much kicking! That’s everyone midfield and forward - maybe even the defenders!

Turn our 9 - 13 into 13 - 9 and that’s 20 points turnaround!

Yes it’s not like the AFL would ever let a new team come in with a sub standard stadium to the competition. Demanding Tassie has a roofed stadium will uphold the ground quality traditions of news teams, just like GWS!

Our forward issues are beyond ‘goalkicking’. That’s first world issues. We do not have a functioning forward line (most of the time) and rely on guile (Melksham) or spasmodic genius (Pickett).

We need to evolve how we move the footy and leverage the space that is given to us by the opposition. JVR seems one dimensional, Fritsch largely incapable of providing the main threat, Jefferson barely rates a mention for me, and Petracca admittedly up in the air with his role.

The backline being inert doesn’t help but the years spent smashing the ball into the forward line for ‘territory’ and ‘repeat entries’ has bastardised the instincts of the team.

The ‘accuracy problem’ is a misnomer - we get bad looks that are wide or we force long kicks that are rushed or create rushed shots.

3 minutes ago, rpfc said:

Our forward issues are beyond ‘goalkicking’. That’s first world issues. We do not have a functioning forward line (most of the time) and rely on guile (Melksham) or spasmodic genius (Pickett).

We need to evolve how we move the footy and leverage the space that is given to us by the opposition. JVR seems one dimensional, Fritsch largely incapable of providing the main threat, Jefferson barely rates a mention for me, and Petracca admittedly up in the air with his role.

The backline being inert doesn’t help but the years spent smashing the ball into the forward line for ‘territory’ and ‘repeat entries’ has bastardised the instincts of the team.

The ‘accuracy problem’ is a misnomer - we get bad looks that are wide or we force long kicks that are rushed or create rushed shots.

Agree we have a range of forward challenges!

Our most recent quarter of football against Pies and last quarter against the Saints looked like goalkicking and panicking to me!

4 minutes ago, rpfc said:

I agree. The entire system led to this.

Missing goals that would get kicked in most other circumstances is just a small part of the problem and isn't separate from other problems.

3 hours ago, Golden fist said:

You're suggesting the criticism is based solely on gender? I mean how is it any different to "have you played footy before' or 'what's the highest level'.

I have zero doubt there is bias, it is in human nature, but to base on gender says more about you and your perception of this world.

Caro is trying to stay relevant by drumming up issues (right or wrong) and will cop flak for it. It's what she's paid to do a la. Kane Cornes aka Corn

I've just heard enough criticism of Caro, Underwood, Daisy Pearce, Laura Kane etc to take their criticism with a grain of salt. Things are rarely black or white - someone can be racist without setting houses on fire and someone can be sexist without assaulting women. Some of the criticism levelled at these women is just ridiculous (even if this time it may not be. I don't know. Surely Buckley isn't just obeying the advice of footy commentators so whatever.)

2 hours ago, VNightCityLegend said:

After watching Djokovic just beat Taylor Fritz, in yet another hostile environment as he isn’t as loved as past champions, rose to the challenge again and won against absolute quality through all the heckling from the crowd. Reaches yet another Slam final.

Whoever the coach is, I really hope they work on the mindset and the psychology. Should be the first port of call. At this level of Aussie Rules, everyone has talent and the top echelon of talent will always have elite skill sets. What sets apart a good and great team is the mindset.

A lot of wallowing and even self loathing from our players over the past few years and wouldn’t it be nice to channel the mindset of Djokovic in 2026. As he himself said, a strong mindset is worked on, it isn’t a natural gift.

The mental side of sport is so underrated as we only get to see the physical and tangible aspect and I hope the new coach can come in and change the mindset of the entire club. I hope this is part of the criteria when selecting the next coach.

I'd almost agree. But for years experts told him what to eat, how to get fitter, get stronger, had him using or wearing the best technology/equipment etc, improve his strokes and skills, and, yes, even mentally tough. Then suddenly he decided to stop following the experts and start following BS on social media which even had him missing an Australian Open. That sounds kinda weak-minded.