View in the app

A better way to browse. Learn more.

A full-screen app on your home screen with push notifications, badges and more.

To install this app on iOS and iPadOS
  1. Tap the Share icon in Safari
  2. Scroll the menu and tap Add to Home Screen.
  3. Tap Add in the top-right corner.
To install this app on Android
  1. Tap the 3-dot menu (⋮) in the top-right corner of the browser.
  2. Tap Add to Home screen or Install app.
  3. Confirm by tapping Install.

3 minutes ago, Hopeful Demon said:

I really hope that we don't get Simpson. Given that West Coast are a far bigger and much more resourceful club than it us it says a lot that that they ended up becoming Melbourne 2013 levels of bad under his watch. They don't look like getting back on the up anytime soon either.

His philosophy along with Buckley and Longmire is outdated it would be a disaster we need new thinking.

We are not starting from ground zero there is talent on our list to work with.

We can challenge again in a couple of years with sound drafting and trading but we need to be clever.

We need a coach with a new philosophy on the game and has a network of people who respect him this helps attracting new assistance along side them.

Something Simon had trouble accomplishing.

Enright or Bruce either one of them that can attract or put a decent team together around him.

Bartel might help Enright in some capacity.

Please look at all candidates equally. The fact that a candidate is a former player is irrelevant.

15 minutes ago, lorn said:

Craig Bellamy

Throw every last cent at him to come here in some role to fix our low player expectation culture.

Look how filthy he was with the missed kicks by Papenhuyzen last week. There's no excuses, no buts. He expects effort and competence. Two things that we don't expect enough of.

12 minutes ago, Robbie On Skates said:

The optics of this..?

Cam Bruce with Brad Green coming home.....

Its Old School values, but Passion for the Club trumps Footy as a Business, and anyway, he's well credentialled!!

Stick with Red and Blue!!!

Edited by DeeBlood

5 minutes ago, chook fowler said:

If the time taken to find a CEO is anything to go by, we may be in for a long wait.

I doubt it because we may be competing with Carlton

Buckley looked awkward a couple of weeks ago when the question of coaching again was floated during On The Couch.

Maybe conversations were already happening

35 minutes ago, YesitwasaWin4theAges said:

His philosophy along with Buckley and Longmire is outdated it would be a disaster we need new thinking.

We are not starting from ground zero there is talent on our list to work with.

We can challenge again in a couple of years with sound drafting and trading but we need to be clever.

We need a coach with a new philosophy on the game and has a network of people who respect him this helps attracting new assistance along side them.

Something Simon had trouble accomplishing.

Enright or Bruce either one of them that can attract or put a decent team together around him.

Bartel might help Enright in some capacity.

Simpsons always did it differently at WC his way of coaching never chased the latest trends, the fact he won a flag proves he knows what was doing, if he came to Dee’s i certainly think he would bring something different to the table next year. The fault with Simpson was not seeing the cliff and thinking the group had one more go in them, because of that it’s really set them back.

I heard Brad Green in the press conference say we are still a top 8 side so if that’s where the board is coming from we could be trouble as they already have preconceptions of what the expectation is next year and they won’t hire someone who isn’t aligned with that thinking. It will be super important that whoever comes in gets that right, it helps no one if the reality is we are outside the 8 for some period while we rebuild but the board is expecting someone to come in and get us back to the 21-23 level immediately

Edited by Garbo

Can we even interview assistant coaches at finals clubs until their season is over?

Just now, Clintosaurus said:

Can we even interview assistant coaches at finals clubs until their season is over?

Clubs can't stop assistants from interviewing for senior roles, but certainly I would expect no assistant would start a new job until after their current club's season was finished, be it week 1 of finals or post grand final.

You think Richmond didn't speak to Yze during the finals in 2023?

How many recent examples are there of experienced coaches achieving the ultimate success?

I'd rather go for an experienced assistant how has been involved with multiple successful teams. It also might mean we have more $$ to put towards a better coaching group.

Buckley. Not a fan previously, however has football nous, will make us a destination club and has a hard edge. If he is not interested, then we should look at a Skipworth type or someone in the macrae mould. Simpson or Longmire as head of football and mentor if we choose an experienced assistant.

17 minutes ago, Clintosaurus said:

Yes you can interview assistant coaches while their club's season is still going

Edited by lorn

I'd want to go for assistants that have been involved in teams that have performed above expectations with their list.

I hate Geelong with a passion more than any other team... but they looked completely cooked in 2021. They went through a process of starting fresh and designing a game plan that suited the strengths they had. They had a couple of good kids but looked like they were going to fall off a cliff... when in fact they have evoled and now we look more likely to fall off a cliff.

Obviously it's a lot to do with recruiting (and what they offer out of contract players etc) but it's more than that to stay up for so long.

Heard more than one whisper that the Dees have Buckley lined up and locked in. From some relatively trustworthy types.

If it is Nathan, odd they pulled the trigger on Goody like this though… surely it could’ve waited till season end.

We should not give out long term contracts to coaches and players. After our 2nd year of double elimination that's when Goody should have be gone. Hopefully the rest of Goody's assistants apart from the caretaker coach also take a running jump. One of Goody's big p.ss off was he dropped senior players then reinstated them despite underperforming in the reserves.

The future coach would be one of the following Hird , Longmire or Buckley .

1 hour ago, chook fowler said:

If the time taken to find a CEO is anything to go by, we may be in for a long wait.

Funnily chook I was thinking the same thing. I wonder if the two absent employees had any say in this decision.

16 minutes ago, Coolx2 said:

We should not give out long term contracts to coaches and players. After our 2nd year of double elimination that's when Goody should have be gone. Hopefully the rest of Goody's assistants apart from the caretaker coach also take a running jump. One of Goody's big p.ss off was he dropped senior players then reinstated them despite underperforming in the reserves.

The future coach would be one of the following Hird , Longmire or Buckley .

If we take your one and three option there coolx I will definitely return my membership.

So to sell the club to a new coach, which they will know anyway

We don't have a proper training ground

You have to drive put to casey or sometimes use goshs paddock

Our admin aren't under the same roof

Our ceo hasn't started yet, but he'll probably go for a walk with you

We haven't got our president yet

Some key players may want out

We can't kick straight & we'll frustrate the hell out of you

Longmire is the only one of the recycled coach that excites

i do not understand the obsession with Buckley at all.

Swap one coach who presided over a steady decline with another.

Please God no, not that FIGJAM. how many years has he been out of the game pontificating in the AFL media