View in the app

A better way to browse. Learn more.

A full-screen app on your home screen with push notifications, badges and more.

To install this app on iOS and iPadOS
  1. Tap the Share icon in Safari
  2. Scroll the menu and tap Add to Home Screen.
  3. Tap Add in the top-right corner.
To install this app on Android
  1. Tap the 3-dot menu (⋮) in the top-right corner of the browser.
  2. Tap Add to Home screen or Install app.
  3. Confirm by tapping Install.

Forever thankful for Goody's part in the Premiership.

I agree it was time for the club to move on.

I have the upmost respect for Goody, especially after watching his presser. Very classy response.

Thanks Goody, Go Dees.

2 minutes ago, Sydee said:

You obviously have/had extremely low expectations of Green

To me that was one of the most amateurish performances I've ever had the displeasure to witness

I was working whilst listening to the presser so only half paying attention, what did Green say that was so amateurish?

Genuinely asking too, not saying it was/wasn’t.

14 minutes ago, Adam The God said:

If they'd sacked him in the middle of the year that would have made a lot more sense than waiting until 3 weeks before the end of the season...

Apart from Roos which other midseason caretaker coach has gone on to success? There were 2 maybe 5 years ago that failed rather spectacularly. If it's almost impossible for such a caretaker to go on what is the point of having a holding pattern for half a year?

13 minutes ago, Adam The God said:

If they'd sacked him in the middle of the year that would have made a lot more sense than waiting until 3 weeks before the end of the season...

We didn’t have the StKilda debacle half way through the year , giving up a 46 point lead at 3/4 was the last straw & that last 8 seconds was a coach killer & justifiability

15 minutes ago, Jaded No More said:

3 weeks could be crucial in securing interviews with candidates, especially if Voss is sacked before the season is up.

We would want someone to start ideally as soon as possible, but certainly before the trade and draft period. You want your new coach involved in list management.

Sacking a coach is always terrible, the timing doesn't make it less so. I think we are all quite blind sighted but waiting another 3 games wouldn't have made it any easier on Goody, he might have been even more annoyed to find he was coaching for no reason.

Had we sacked him post the St Kilda loss or mid season, would that have made the decision wiser or better or more reactionary?

Brad Green weaseled out of answering the big 'why now?' question today. Even if right now feels right to him and the Board, they still owe it to members and supporters to have a decent reason why now and not after St Kilda, or after our inevitable thrashing on Saturday... One would assume that the trigger is an indication from a prospective coach that the club is already in talks with, that the time to move is now. But after listening to Green today, yeah nah - that process hasn't even started yet, apparently.

58 minutes ago, JTR said:

It's disappointing how quickly some of our supporters forget that we made the top 4 in 2022 and 2023 and were never outside the top 8 during that entire time.
That's no mean feat, particularly in the seasons immediately following a premiership when you become the hunted and everyone is zeroing in on ways to try and beat you.

2024 there were plenty of reasons outside of coaching that contributed to where we ended up.
No Brayshaw, losing Petracca mid-season, Oliver playing injured, parting ways with Harmes/Jordan before we knew we'd lost Brayshaw and a bunch of kids doing their best to plug the gaps in the meantime.

2024/2025 off season was a shambles and this season hasn't been good at all, but there are still "reasons", the most significant of which (besides poor form of some key senior players at the same time as we are trying to transition to a new game style), was the huge loss of ANB.

It can't be overstated how massive the losses of ANB and Brayshaw have been, both culturally and with their on-field leadership.
You can't replace guys like that during the trade and draft period.

Anyway, I'm sure I'll get howled down by the regular crew, but I personally think Goodwin had done more than enough to deserve the opportunity to see out his tenure and finish what had been started.

2022 and 2023 seasons were pointless given we couldn't even get past the Semi in both seasons. There is a reason why no other team has lost in straight sets two years in a row from the top 4. Even Port has somehow managed to find its way to Prelims. You simply can't excuse that. No one is going to look back at the period and say, "well they were in the top 4 for a really long time." Who cares? We didn't even make a Prelim.

Losing ANB and Brayshaw were the big losses, losing Harms hurt but I reckon losing Hibberd and Brown had a bigger impact than Harmes. BUT to say those losses would translate to being a bottom 6 team... it doesn't compute for me. At least I thought we'd be competing for top 8. Which we absolutely should be. Losing those players doesn't somehow translate to literally all of our top 10 players bar Gawn and Pickett being well below their best despite being under 30 and well in their prime.

We have faced challenges but we are also grossly underperforming. The St Kilda loss was in my view symbolic of where we are truly at.

2 minutes ago, BoBo said:

I was working whilst listening to the presser so only half paying attention, what did Green say that was so amateurish?

Genuinely asking too, not saying it was/wasn’t.

Suggest you sit through the whole thing - make your own mind up - everyone will have their take on it but for me his messaging was underwhelming

I have less confidence in the direction of this club today than I did yesterday - and frankly it wasn't very high yesterday

Thanks for everything Goody, bit of a sad day I personally quite liked him as a bloke but hard to argue with the decision….usually when results start going south as badly as they have this last two seasons it only gets worse. Smart to do it now before we end up run into the ground in a West Coast Eagles situation.

4 minutes ago, Billy said:

We didn’t have the StKilda debacle half way through the year , giving up a 46 point lead at 3/4 was the last straw & that last 8 seconds was a coach killer & justifiability

Absolutely, some people are trivialising and underselling just how much a nail in the coffin that result was for Goodwin. It was horrendous and there's no point in passing it off as anything else.

Edited by BLWNBA

Just now, BLWNBA said:

Absolutely, some people are absolutely underselling just how much a nail in the coffin that result was for Goodwin. It was horrendous and there's not point in passing it off as anything else.

prior to that result, i was on the 'he goes on after 2025'

after it... no chance

at the end of the day, he was in charge for a decade of seasons, if you include the 2016 year, when he was effectively coach in all but title

we made finals 4 times out of 10

ultimately, that's a failure

22 minutes ago, Jaded No More said:

Had we sacked him post the St Kilda loss or mid season, would that have made the decision wiser or better or more reactionary?

I think it's a reactionary decision anyway. The net trend was upward in the second half of this season, so they've done it to placate some angry members who have stopped attending because they don't like Goody.

Well I've read through all 20 pages of this discussion and I'm still mildly shocked that it happened. Not completely surprised but I thought it would be at the end of the season.

Thanks, Goody, for the Premiership and the year or two of believing that my club isn't actually rubbish. I never thought I'd see us win a Grand Final. When I need a pep up, I still go back and watch that last ten minutes of the third quarter.

Go Dees.

3 minutes ago, Adina88 said:

But after listening to Green today, yeah nah - that process hasn't even started yet, apparently.

If you are choosing to believe that, that's on you.

We have very clearly started the process of at least sounding out our options.

As for why now? I believe we wanted to be the first, and not fall behind Carlton.

Voss is unlikely to continue at Carlton, and who knows what will happen with North.

So long and thanks for the premiership, if this is the wrong decision I’m sure we will have many learnings.

Glad to see the decision has been made.

3 minutes ago, Adam The God said:

I think it's a reactionary decision anyway. The net trend was upward in the second half of this season, so they've done it to placate some angry members who have stopped attending because they don't like Goody.

I think the 'net trend' is not enough. We will be lucky to get 8 wins this year, after an 11 win season last year. It's just not a good enough result, because rightly or wrongly, the club believes our list should be competing in finals.

Sacking a coach is never not reactionary. Sacking Dean Bailey was reactionary, we were 9th at the time we lost to Geelong and very much trending upwards with a bog ordinary list.
Goodwin has not just had 2 very poor seasons, especially this year off the back of minimal injuries, but he was at the helm of some pretty poor off field issues with our list since 2023.

Now of course it's never just the coach who is at fault, but sadly senior coaches always take the fall. To be fair we sacked our CEO first, which was the right decision.

I am sad to see Goody go, and I have no idea if the decision is right. I don't think anyone really does. Only time will tell us.

Mark Neeld is the only coach I think everyone universally rejoiced to see go. I still remember how conflicted I was about Daniher leaving.

Green deflected the questions smartly, what else does he say? We sacked him now because he was coaching poorly, players have regressed, game plan is outdated and we have hardly won games the last two years, and we wanted to get a start on his replacement, or yeah we started looking 3 weeks ago... sure its the truth, but with Simon sitting next to him he would have been smashed by members and media for saying that (or something similar).

Surprised by what people want when he cant say the truth without being judged poorly for it.

As he said multiple times, today is not the day to discuss those agendas.

11 minutes ago, Adam The God said:

Since round 11, we've beaten North Melbourne and West Coast. That's supposedly an upward trend?

The most telling comment Goody made in his presser was he came to the club because of Peter Jackson and the then football department including Todd Viney and Josh Mahoney. Let’s not forget Jason Taylor too. These guys ( and Paul Roos) established the platform for Goody to achieve what only 3 other Melbourne coaches have achieved. Since the departure of Jackson,Mahoney and Todd Goody has had the “support” of Pert, his good mate Richo and Tim Lamb. Goodwin can coach his record proves that he should not be held entirely responsible for results since 2021. In my nearly 50 years of being a financial member I was never more excited than when Peter Jackson was running the club. Now… well I Fear it is back to mediocrity which unfortunately is what we do well.

Thank you Simon I look forward to seeing which club is lucky enough to get your services going forward.I hope wherever you land you will have a United Board a wise CEO with football nous, a talented football department and a first class training base ….,none of which you have had at Melbourne recently (or ever with the training base).

40 minutes ago, Adam The God said:

But ATG that would limit our options with replacements and their people who maybe contracted. I thought he deserved to serve out his contract but once the decision is made, it has to be short, Sharp and swift. Simon had the option to coach out the last three games but chose to go immediately and I applaud him for that.

20 minutes ago, Adam The God said:

Debaser got there before me but we have not had a good ‘second half’ of the season. We had a great 6 week stretch and won two games outside of that.

2 minutes ago, The Trunk said:

The most telling comment Goody made in his presser was he came to the club because of Peter Jackson and the then football department including Todd Viney and Josh Mahoney. Let’s not forget Jason Taylor too. These guys ( and Paul Roos) established the platform for Goody to achieve what only 3 other Melbourne coaches have achieved. Since the departure of Jackson,Mahoney and Todd Goody has had the “support” of Pert, his good mate Richo and Tim Lamb. Goodwin can coach his record proves that he should not be held entirely responsible for results since 2021. In my nearly 50 years of being a financial member I was never more excited than when Peter Jackson was running the club. Now… well I Fear it is back to mediocrity which unfortunately is what we do well.

A very good point that shouldn't be lost in all this.

Good governance and stability is SO important to success. Just look at Geelong and Brisbane. Stable from the top down, excellent leadership and consistent governance.

Now look at Essendon who 20 years on have still not recovered from the debacle of the supplement saga.

Since the end of 2021 we have been dealing with some form of off field drama or another. The endless lawsuit, the leaking, the board room battles, hiring Pert despite PJ's opposition, caretaker president, no CEO, it's just been one thing after another.

It's taken a toll on the coaches and the players, it made us an unfavourable option for assistant coaches and players alike.

Goody has had to deal with more than most senior coaches, and he has always done so with dignity and respect for the players and the club.

Let us hope that in 2026 we can finally get some permanent, strong leadership from the board all the way down to the footy department, because without it we will never succeed.

2 minutes ago, Adam The God said:

I think it's been a difficult season to judge. Goodie was talking performances over results, but performances have been wildly inconsistent (as has our kicking!)
At the end of the day we have 7 wins, 4 of which against the bottom 3 teams.
But we also beat Brisbane at the Gabba so who knows what this team is - and that's part of the problem.

Anything on the players' socials?

Just now, Timothy Reddan-A'Blew said:

Anything on the players' socials?

They’re all sharing/liking Goody tributes on Instagram. And the photos of them from the presser don’t suggest they’re exactly happy with the decision…

Brad Greene was never going to divulge the reasons for the sacking or the timing at todays press conference. Nor should he have

the purpose of the presser was to give Goody his opportunity to speak before heading off into the sunset.

i'm not a big fan of Brad Greene and think he should step off the board given he was in situ for our decline but i thought he handled todays presser perfectly fine.