View in the app

A better way to browse. Learn more.

A full-screen app on your home screen with push notifications, badges and more.

To install this app on iOS and iPadOS
  1. Tap the Share icon in Safari
  2. Scroll the menu and tap Add to Home Screen.
  3. Tap Add in the top-right corner.
To install this app on Android
  1. Tap the 3-dot menu (โ‹ฎ) in the top-right corner of the browser.
  2. Tap Add to Home screen or Install app.
  3. Confirm by tapping Install.

46 minutes ago, Jaded No More said:

I am just sick of supporters finding any reason to pile on the club.

We select a panel of which half is independent and people complain. If we kept it in house, people would complain.

No matter what the club does someone finds a reason to have a go.

I explained why Lewis was not considered and why I think the accusation that Guerra is still bound to Essendon because of the Watson selection is ludicrous.

I just donโ€™t understand how supporters find the energy to spend so much time questioning every thing the club does, and buy all the rubbish that every media outlet reports.

Caro has a very clear agenda and itโ€™s not pro MFC.

I want to complain about insufficient complaints.

ย 
4 hours ago, Adam The God said:

What a bizarre argument. King of the grass is greener everywhere but the MFC.

Buckley is the right coach for us because some of our players used to barrack for Collingwood? ๐Ÿคฃ

Come on, Steve. If anyone else said this, you'd rightly lampoon them.

Remember that part of my post where I said for a 'number' of reasons?

And then I gave an example of one of the lesser reasons?

Orrrrr did you not read the post properly due to those red and blue lenses getting in the way?

Also, G'day @john delosa

Hope you've got some thoughts of your own somewhere behind those one mouse clicks!

Edited by Howard_Grimes

I think itโ€™s really important that we have a cross-section of the community on the head coach selection panel. I for one applaud the club for selecting a feminist.

jobe-watson-cap.jpg

Edited by Ethan Tremblay

3 hours ago, Adam The God said:

17 coaches have won a flag in a quarter of a century. Okay. How many coaches in that time? The strike rate isn't high.

When are we likely to win a flag again based on stats?

Maybe you should follow another team?!

6 minutes ago, beelzebub said:

Here lies the rub.

Perhaps they put pen to paper just a tad too quick. ( back in 23 )

The bee in many a bonnet was not waiting to see how those 23 finals panned out.

Had we... we might have perhaps tempered our enthusiasm.

He was already contracted for 24.

The timing was ok, they probably should have extended him to end of 2025 instead of 2026 in hindsight.

5 hours ago, dazzledavey36 said:

๐Ÿฅด

It was Guerra who pushed for Jobe Watson to join the coach-search panel, where he will sit alongside Melbourne Stormโ€™s Frank Ponissi with Richardson, the only member boasting coaching experience

What a joke.

1 hour ago, whatwhat say what said:

caro is saying he's changed his mind - i do not recall at any point when green said he would effect the handover

i always presumed it would be at the agm - these days the seasons run until late november with the aflw

in december, at the agm, is when smith will have been on the board - from europe, no less - for 12 months, which seems like a good a time as any for him to take over the presidential position

The timing you describe absolutely makes sense - for some reason my understanding was that Snith would take over when he came back from his euro break and start roughly the same time as the new CEO

5 hours ago, Jaded No More said:

Caro trying to turn Buckley off us so he can go coach for her bestie Gale at Tassie.

I donโ€™t mind her but in this case sheโ€™s just trying to advance her own agenda.

I don't mind her either but she (and Sheahan and Greg Baum also) always has an agenda - usually it's the AFL's agenda.

3 hours ago, Adam The God said:

17 coaches have won a flag in a quarter of a century. Okay. How many coaches in that time? The strike rate isn't high.

Lots of 1 or 2 season coaches though. Not that many that had a decent run of 5 years. For them the strike rate is 50%. It would be a lot lower if Bomber Thompson, Williams, Goody and Hardwick werenโ€™t preserved with.

ย 
5 hours ago, Adam The God said:

Agreed, but on your last paragraph, the board have already been all over the place on what next year's expectations are. First it was, we expected to play finals in 2025. Now it's seemingly become we need to re-set. Hopefully this is cleared up with the incoming coach asap.

But this is a board that have constantly failed to deliver on basic promises and failed to create an environment that lives up to the ethos of a football club where we can all feel proud to belong.

I've said it before but they let a journo attack Goody from the sidelines for two years before finally getting clean air at the end of 2024. Not good enough. They dragged the club through the courts, needlessly spending on legal fees, and creating bad press, on constitutional issues only to eventually accept most of the simple recommendations.

Not exactly a club that will make its supporters or coach feel proud to belong.

Green said in September last year that "we expect to see an outcome on the success or otherwise on the business case around mid-2025โ€. It is August 16th. Nothing.

Green said "I will encourage Steven [Smith] to seek Board endorsement to succeed me as President of the MFC at the end of the 2025 AFL Season." So in a fortnight's time, if Green is true to his word, Smith will be president. In name. Not just pulling strings. That needs to happen.

And who can forget that in April 2025, the CEO was famously going to "hit the ground running", but then we found out he wouldn't be starting for six months.

The way our club is being run is a bit like an episode of the classic Australian satire The Games. Hopelessly out of their depth individuals pretending everything is all a-okay.

And watch them tell us who to vote for again on the board this year, despite a current board member telling the courts that Melbourne members were not happy with this approach. They did it last year and they'll do it again this year.

The decision to sack Goody needs to reap commercial benefits and success immediately. It's a risky move to dump one of four AFL premiership coaches the club has ever had. If it pays off, great, but if it doesn't, the board needs to be held accountable.

On top of that they haven't even had a strategic plan for the last two seasons after failing to deliver on every point of the last one (you could argue they met the onfield performance target but technically they didn't).

Some may see strategic plans as a bit of a [censored] and they probably are to an extent but they also provide some guidance to boards around their aims and direction and holds them to account.

27 minutes ago, Go Ds said:

I'm not sure how the first 2 paragraphs apply to me. I'm only saying that for a struggling team a coach sacking won't necessarily improve things.

As for Goodwin I'm sure you know he took a struggling side to a drought-breaking premiership. To claim that's not success is well...... gibberish.

You mentioned stability and prematurely sacking coaches, but maybe I misunderstood your point. I agree that sacking a coach won't necessarily improve struggling teams, their plight is more often having enough talent (I see us more as having an under performing team, there is enough talent there).

Ultimate success, yes, but there are more measures for evaluating success.

4 hours ago, Lucifers Hero said:

If that is correct one wonders where his allegiance lies.

Not sure what Jobe brings to the panel or whether he has any experience in selection panels, candidate assessment etc

Plenty of other more successful ex players to choose from. Jordan Lewis for one. He has had a couple of similar gigs and knows first hand what makes a successful coach.

Lewis also understands our playing group and club culture.

4 hours ago, Go Ds said:

Why would you bring up Essendon and St Kilda?! For a period longer than most marriages, people's full academic experiences and pets' lives Sheedy was Essendon coach. Essendon had stability and it helped them have success. Eighteen years on they've had SIX permanent coaches and even though two had won premierships elsewhere they've barely even limped into finals series. Maybe Scott (also with some success elsewhere) will still turn things around but I didn't expect them to do much this year even without injuries.

Then there's St Kilda. Sure, the three coaches between Lyon's stints averaging four years each is better but hardly stable stable. Again another team got a previously successful and again here's evidence it's not a panacea.

Clubs rush to sack coaches too fast and plenty find out that even a proven coach was NOT the magic bullet. And of course then they have the potential dilemma of having yet another - a third - coach in four or five years or soldier on with one that hasn't worked out.

I sure hope our board isn't there three or four years from now - especially given we had an extremely successful coach.

Essendon were perennial contenders under Sheedy. When they did have a down year, like 1992, they bounced back quickly. Not sure what relevance this has to Goodwin.

3 hours ago, Jaded No More said:

Jordan Lewis is very good friends with Buckley, and Max. Total conflict of interest.

I really donโ€™t get the hate for Watson. He isnโ€™t the best public speaker but he is a champion player who went thru a lot of turmoil and was captain of his club. He would know more than most about toxic cultures and regrouping after bad times.

He has also been out of the game long enough to have no association with any possible candidates on a personal level and has no affiliation to any of our players like Lewis for example.

You need neutral unbiased voices in this process if you want it to run properly.

Peter Jackson was Essendonโ€™s CEO before he was ours and that never got brought up. So why is it an issue that Guerra was an Essendon fan?

What is the reason for Watson being chosen? Where did that even come from? Just having worked/played in dysfunctional environments and being out of the game for a long time isn't enough to qualify someone otherwise we'd have people bashing down the door to join.

It's a strange call and even stranger knowing it came at the behest of Guerra, our new CEO who hasn't started yet, who has no footy experience and has links to Essendon being touted as a potential board member in recent years.

2 hours ago, Jaded No More said:

Technically he is. He was stripped of his medal but he did win it.

No. He didnt win it. He cheated.

6 minutes ago, Dr. Gonzo said:

What is the reason for Watson being chosen? Where did that even come from? Just having worked/played in dysfunctional environments and being out of the game for a long time isn't enough to qualify someone otherwise we'd have people bashing down the door to join.

It's a strange call and even stranger knowing it came at the behest of Guerra, our new CEO who hasn't started yet, who has no footy experience and has links to Essendon being touted as a potential board member in recent years.

Will Guerra bring the infamous Essington coterie culture to melbourne? Looks like it has already started....

No for Jobe... prefer someone a bit sharper and astute, with proven success

Edited by RickyJ45

2 hours ago, whatwhat say what said:

caro is saying he's changed his mind - i do not recall at any point when green said he would effect the handover

i always presumed it would be at the agm - these days the seasons run until late november with the aflw

in december, at the agm, is when smith will have been on the board - from europe, no less - for 12 months, which seems like a good a time as any for him to take over the presidential position

He wrote in a letter last year that smith would take over at the end of this AFL season. She has basically taken that tidbit and run with it.

1 minute ago, KozzyCan said:

He wrote in a letter last year that smith would take over at the end of this AFL season. She has basically taken that tidbit and run with it.

Right, I just remember it being โ€˜at the end of the seasonโ€™

Clubโ€™s season obviously runs until the end of the aflw; agm to agm

From a financial perspective thatโ€™s how all the clubs operate too, from December to December

I remember thinking how the timing was so odd when I was at port

Edited by whatwhat say what

I reckon goody will get a cushy job with the giants and be far better off than watching this bunch of ball butchers stinking it up at the G.

Goody will be laughing. He will be coaching GWS on 800,000 per year. Additional free payout from us.

Doesnโ€™t have to deal with this bunch and making decisions that either way, wonโ€™t work because the players canโ€™t execute the most basic of things.

1 minute ago, BDA said:

I reckon goody will get a cushy job with the giants and be far better off than watching this bunch of ball butchers stinking it up at the G.

I hope GWS are not looking at Goody for the skills coaching role. His track record is not very good in this dept. Case in point, the MFC..

1 minute ago, whatwhat say what said:

Right, I just remember it being โ€˜at the end of the seasonโ€™

Clubโ€™s season obviously runs until the end of the aflw; agm to agm

From a financially perspective thatโ€™s how all the clubs operate too, from December to December

I remember thinking how the timing was so odd when I was at port

Green has said a couple of times this year that heโ€™s struggled with the role with a young family and has no interest in doing it long term at this stage of his life. I find it hard to believe heโ€™s trying to do some Game of Thrones takeover out of the blue.

ย 
5 minutes ago, GawnOfTheDead said:

Goody will be laughing. He will be coaching GWS on 800,000 per year. Additional free payout from us.

Doesnโ€™t have to deal with this bunch and making decisions that either way, wonโ€™t work because the players canโ€™t execute the most basic of things.

I don't think this performance is a good reflection on Goodwin. The gameplan is still the absolute pits. Chaplin is just doing what he knows. Our skills are as bad as they've always been. There is just no movement or care.

11 minutes ago, praha said:

I don't think this performance is a good reflection on Goodwin. The gameplan is still the absolute pits. Chaplin is just doing what he knows. Our skills are as bad as they've always been. There is just no movement or care.

Considering this is the same we have played for two years running, Iโ€™d say itโ€™s a perfect reflection on Goodwin and Chaplin and co.

We canโ€™t handball easily, mark the ball on our chest, hit people on leads. The most basic things in the game we canโ€™t do and havenโ€™t for years.