2 hours ago, Roost it far said:

Not as far as you imply and he’s missed a lot of football. Who playing at Casey would you say replaces him with an extended run of games? AMW may have been his competition but I simply don’t see a logical replacement for him.

3 hours ago, Clayton van Oliver said:

Or save that for Maynard

Maynard is out....He'll keep... Save that for the finals...Greater justice then anyway!!

3 minutes ago, DeeBlood said:

Maynard is out....He'll keep... Save that for the finals...Greater justice then anyway!!

Still a chance apparently.

Viney for Spargo. I'd be comfortable making that change even if Spargo is fit - IMO he's clearly 23 out of 23 right now and Viney will come back assuming he's fit.

Interesting question if Spargo's injured and Viney still isn't right. Laurie?

TMac for Lever if there's even a shadow of doubt over Lever's fitness. Wouldn't be surprised to see May "managed" this week either.

AJ stays until JVR puts together weeks of good VFL form. Not one match against the bottom side.

18 hours ago, binman said:

I'm not saying he's been brilliant (though he's been way better than many have suggested) but he has played his role, is presumably meeting his KPIs and is clearly an important part of our forward line structure and system. That's why he is selected each week.

I'm not convinced by this.

As in, I accept he's doing more than the raw stats often show us, but I'm not convinced that's keeping him in the side.

Who is at Casey right now who is banging the door down to take his place? Laurie?

And that aside, if he and Viney are both fit this week, and noting you've already accepted Viney is an automatic selection, who makes way for Viney?

25 minutes ago, titan_uranus said:

Viney for Spargo. I'd be comfortable making that change even if Spargo is fit - IMO he's clearly 23 out of 23 right now and Viney will come back assuming he's fit.

Interesting question if Spargo's injured and Viney still isn't right. Laurie?

TMac for Lever if there's even a shadow of doubt over Lever's fitness. Wouldn't be surprised to see May "managed" this week either.

AJ stays until JVR puts together weeks of good VFL form. Not one match against the bottom side.

I'm not convinced by this.

As in, I accept he's doing more than the raw stats often show us, but I'm not convinced that's keeping him in the side.

Who is at Casey right now who is banging the door down to take his place? Laurie?

And that aside, if he and Viney are both fit this week, and noting you've already accepted Viney is an automatic selection, who makes way for Viney?

Good question. Probably sharp or spargo.

11 hours ago, bing181 said:

Not to mention, Saints have lots of negative press this week. Suspect that in reaction they'll come out firing on all cylinders.

Could be a challenge.

Am expecting A very hard and even slog.

3 minutes ago, binman said:

Unlikely Spargo as that's the premise of the question.

If neither Spargs or Viney ... then I would think Harry comes in .. with Laurie as sub .

Just my thoughts.

3 minutes ago, binman said:

Given 1 quarter to execute your role and you finish with 7 touches and 2 goals as a half forward, I think it would be entirely unfair to drop Sharp

20 hours ago, FTB said:

OUT: Spargo

IN: Viney

Sharp to remain as the sub. He is such a good sub but doesn’t have enough of an impact when playing a full game.

AJ doesn’t get much of it but it’s what he does without the ball that has an impact. Think we persist with him for now.

Feel sorry for T Mac. Did nothing wrong to get dropped but there just isn’t a spot for him right now with all of May, Lever, Disco and Petty fit.

Id have T.Mac FORWARD for Petty any day of the week! Even if I dont rate A.J it seems that the Brainstrust at Demonland have Brainwashed the selection commitee and he will probably stay. Viney for Spargo is a given, the later will spend months at Casey waiting for another game and Sharp is becoming a damaging link player and finisher. So those are my changes and Petty is the sub! Anyone else want to buy in?

8 minutes ago, Dannyz said:

Given 1 quarter to execute your role and you finish with 7 touches and 2 goals as a half forward, I think it would be entirely unfair to drop Sharp

Sure, but they have to drop someone.

Tmac has arguably been our best tall defender tgus year, certainly the most consistent and he got dropped.

1 minute ago, picket fence said:

Id have T.Mac FORWARD for Petty any day of the week! Even if I dont rate A.J it seems that the Brainstrust at Demonland have Brainwashed the selection commitee and he will probably stay. Viney for Spargo is a given, the later will spend months at Casey waiting for another game and Sharp is becoming a damaging link player and finisher. So those are my changes and Petty is the sub! Anyone else on board??

Picket, I think your train left long ago - and there's no one else on board but you.

18 hours ago, D Rev said:

Genuine question, are St Kilda any good?

Genuine answer, No

😂

11 hours ago, Jaded No More said:

He’s going to knock someone out with that thing one day and then his hair will get suspended

No suspension. It was a footy act.

Just now, The Taciturn Demon said:

I'm stunned that they've won four games. Absolute disaster of a list.

Yeah, apart from Owens and Wanganeen-Milera who else do they have.

12 hours ago, jnrmac said:

He's only played 4 games. People's expectations are out of whack

Given his journey I would be very surprised if he still doesn't pinch himself to reassure himself he is actually out there in a Dees jumper playing the big game. So I very much doubt he's truly settled in. I'd never want any player to take for granted any game but I think we'll see him mature quite a bit with more games.

The supposed 'sitter' could have been fumbled by anyone as the ball dropped a bit shorter than the pack expected... you only need watch it a few times to see that. Not excusing him..just explaining.

AJ thinking led to that intercept which led to a goal. That shows a much greater awareness and ability than pining for some bloke whose 'trick' is pack marking... ( when he does )

For mine JVR needs to thoroughly improve and expand his work craft if looking to displace Johnson. Let's see him do that at Casey, with consistency, and against better opponents ( as opposed tge Ants )

AJ is no refined dining....he's meat and 3 veg. Nothing wrong with a Sunday Roast eh 😋 😉

38 minutes ago, binman said:

Picket, I think your train left long ago - and there's no one else on board but you.

Not so Bin, I’m on the Picket train and would replace AJ with JvR.

In four games AJ has had 23 disposals, two marks, 2 goals and 18 hit outs. I said it about Fullarton and I think the same with AJ; people are looking for positives but the reality is he’s not AFL standard yet, he drops marks he should take, he isn’t clean below his knees, his disposal is poor and when teams play two rucks against us because of Max he isn’t competitive. He was quite poor against Callum Brown as well.

Like everyone I love his attack on the ball, but you need more. IMO JvR is a better player all round and if you compared the two players JvR is clearly better. What people are doing is saying that JvR is well below his best so shouldn’t be in the team. Even well below his best JvR offers more.

To those that say AJ has played in winning teams and JvR hasn’t I say it is correlation not causation. Our results would have been the same with either.

It probably comes down to JvR’s mindset. If he believes he needs another game at Casey then fine but if he’s got his confidence back it’s a no brained for me.

8 minutes ago, Slartibartfast said:

Like everyone I love his attack on the ball, but you need more. IMO JvR is a better player all round and if you compared the two players JvR is clearly better. What people are doing is saying that JvR is well below his best so shouldn’t be in the team. Even well below his best JvR offers more.

Sums up my thinking.

Improving at Casey is a tough ask when we have so many talls there as well

1 hour ago, picket fence said:

Id have T.Mac FORWARD for Petty any day of the week! Even if I dont rate A.J it seems that the Brainstrust at Demonland have Brainwashed the selection commitee and he will probably stay. Viney for Spargo is a given, the later will spend months at Casey waiting for another game and Sharp is becoming a damaging link player and finisher. So those are my changes and Petty is the sub! Anyone else want to buy in?

Hasn't TMac said his days as a permanent forward are over because his feet can't take the constant need for 180 degree turns? Or did I just make that up?

13 minutes ago, Slartibartfast said:

Not so Bin, I’m on the Picket train and would replace AJ with JvR.

In four games AJ has had 23 disposals, two marks, 2 goals and 18 hit outs. I said it about Fullarton and I think the same with AJ; people are looking for positives but the reality is he’s not AFL standard yet, he drops marks he should take, he isn’t clean below his knees, his disposal is poor and when teams play two rucks against us because of Max he isn’t competitive. He was quite poor against Callum Brown as well.

To those that say AJ has played in winning teams and JvR hasn’t I say it is correlation not causation. Our results would have been the same with either.

It probably comes down to JvR’s mindset. If he believes he needs another game at Casey then fine but if he’s got his confidence back it’s a no brained for me.

I reckon AJ is a ripper bloke so i'm not being mean spirited here

but I agree 100% with your post

a handpass here and a tap there is not going to cut it

if bullocking, chaos and intimidation is the measure then head down to doherty's gym and you'll find plenty of candidates (although their aerobic capacity might be a problem)

1 hour ago, binman said:

He’s making Olisik look like Einstein, concern for mental stability

Re AJ's dropped chest mark which much has been made of: It wasn't as if he was standing on his own. If I recall it was in a pack and the ball almost dropped into his arms, maybe unexpectantly. Would need to view it again.

43 minutes ago, La Dee-vina Comedia said:

Hasn't TMac said his days as a permanent forward are over because his feet can't take the constant need for 180 degree turns? Or did I just make that up?

Nah, you're spot on. And if I recall, there was a period where he was up forward and was not cutting it, and was berated by many on here as being 'finished', before he was sent back for his (very successful) re-re-imagining as a backman.

Won't be returning up forward, save for very minor, desperate/curve-ball stints.

45 minutes ago, BDA said:

I reckon AJ is a ripper bloke so i'm not being mean spirited here

but I agree 100% with your post

a handpass here and a tap there is not going to cut it

if bullocking, chaos and intimidation is the measure then head down to doherty's gym and you'll find plenty of candidates (although their aerobic capacity might be a problem)

What does .... cut it ??

12 minutes ago, sue said:

Re AJ's dropped chest mark which much has been made of: It wasn't as if he was standing on his own. If I recall it was in a pack and the ball almost dropped into his arms, maybe unexpectantly. Would need to view it again.

Ahh .. someone else paying attention.

Exactly .. the pack expected the ball to travel further... then didn't. A tad clumsy I'd concede but... hardly a "sitter" as some purport.

Certainly a lot less "hangable offence" than using wrong kick 30/40 m out from goal..... just sayin'