49 minutes ago, picket fence said:

Um I have foxtel and I have reviewed and still stand by my comments!

It doesn’t matter what you watch or how many times you don’t know what you’re looking for it’s laughable that you continue to comment

1 minute ago, ElDiablo14 said:

No concussion?

He passed the HIA test but his shoulder is the issue.

24 minutes ago, Chook said:

Am I crazy but were there some serious echoes of the 2021 GF in that game. From Salem to Petracca from 50, to Sparrow's goal, to the absolute landslide in the 3rd quarter. It felt like we're "back" (obviously not back to 2021 of course but there was something in the air).

Trac’s goal from the Salem chip pass just on 50m to the Punt Rd end I think it was, was almost identical to the opening goal of the 2021GF

4 minutes ago, Pennant St Dee said:

Trac’s goal from the Salem chip pass just on 50m to the Punt Rd end I think it was, was almost identical to the opening goal of the 2021GF

Said the same thing to my son when he kicked it

Felt before the game it was one of those 50/50 game (odds wise) which ends up being a flogging cause one part of the loser's game simply falls apart. As it happened, the swans midfield was putrid today and it was outstanding we went for the kill. Cox cant coach either, barely saw a plan A, let alone a B, C or D. Saints will be tougher. They have more than 2 match winners.

Edited by Jjrogan

59 minutes ago, Mel Bourne said:

“Yes, I’m pleased with the result but some of the decisions made by today’s organisers were atrocious and they need to have a good hard look at themselves”

(snippet from Picket Fence’s wedding speech)

Issues with the ins and outs?

An ok (but wasteful) win against a weakened opponent. Many players and coaching staff playing for their careers and it shows. The true tests are ahead. Having said that, there are some encouraging fundamental signals. Critical is evolving competition for spots in the side.

3 hours ago, picket fence said:

We are lauding a guy who got 6 posesions I say again 6 on top of his 4 or 5 last week. Yeah a few LUCKY tap ons but sorry to pop ur bubble He is a very average player!

I reckon he's proving his worth and will only get better. If you haven't noticed you haven't been looking hard in to the forward line pack stoppages.

4 hours ago, Dingo said:

Rubbish

6 possesions in the modern game, seriously??????? You and others hang ur hat on a so called tough guy, coz as supporters we yearn for the Rod Grinter/ Byron Pickett type.... but this bloke aint it PERIOD! GO rubbish urself!

Smiling here with quiet satisfaction with the way we won that one. A strong consistent team wide game.

A few observations,

• excellent pressure from us in all areas of the ground. Quick response to turnovers both ways had our players a half a metre ahead of the Sydney players.

• The defensive team worked well together. Selection was spot on for this game. Talls of May, Turner and Lever repelled many attacks with smaller/mediums all doing exactly what was required. Play Turner back there as much as possible to learn as much as possible from the experienced talls including TMac.

• Bowey is firing on all cylinders with Salem back to somewhere his best. Windsor a better game this week.

• Rivers a good game running with Heeney all game in the middle and when he went forward.

• Midfield looking strong and dominant this week and last week and will get even better with Viney’s return.

• Max doing Max things that we have seen so many times before that we tend to take it for granted. Do yourself a favour, watch the replay and just watch Max whenever he is on the screen no matter where on the ground he is. Will give a different level of appreciation for his gameday work.

• Forward defending by all was as good as it gets and we kicked a bunch of goals. loved it.

• There has been a lot of talk on this thread about Spargo and AJ. Both, in my opinion, fill and execute their roles well. Spargo links well in attack and is like a limpet mine when he tackles. AJ brings an edge of the unexpected to where ever he is playing. He is never going to die wondering. He is a go ahead footballer. Influences ever contest he is involved in.

• A lot of good games from a lot of our players today with Petracca playing his 200th. Lovely game from him and great that Oliver and Salem chaired him from the ground.

• If we maintain this quality of football, there will be a lot of teams looking over their shoulders. Playing likes this we can beat any one, anywhere, any time.

As I said, very satisfied.

Onward and upward.

4 hours ago, Ghostwriter said:

Spargs to have scans on his shoulder tomorrow morning.

I thought he looked super dejected on the bench.

10 hours ago, thirty-one said:

This is a very good way to start my Sunday in Seattle. I can watch the game in full some time later.

So good to see the lads happy - Clarry was going off and Trac is so focused these days.

GO DEES!

Was a great result to read when I finally got internet in Fiji. Look forward to seeing it when I get home

For anyone being critical of Fox Footy commentary especially Dermie, just remember that they weren't even at the ground calling the game.

They called it from their Fox studios in South Melbourne.

7 hours ago, Pennant St Dee said:

Completely agree, and I should know - I’ve seen the GF version at least 100 times

8 hours ago, Demon Disciple said:

Sure, AJ is no world beater, but the physicality, effort and pressure he brings cannot be denied.

There was 1 play there where he could have really ironed out a swans player in a pack but didn't. He's a battler who has had to get to the afl the hard way. I'd give him another week

Credit to fritsch. I've given him a bit of stick but yesterday he chased & actually landed a few tackles & got back to help in defence. He was a bit selfish in the beginning but as the game went on he passed it off

Also we had 10 different goal kickers yesterday. It's a good spread

9 hours ago, Fanatique Demon said:

Sixty years ago we would have said “we kicked the sweep”. Does anyone else remember that?

We used to pay our chimney sweeps three carrots and a turnip, but I guess everyone’s different

4 hours ago, picket fence said:

6 possesions in the modern game, seriously??????? You and others hang ur hat on a so called tough guy, coz as supporters we yearn for the Rod Grinter/ Byron Pickett type.... but this bloke aint it PERIOD! GO rubbish urself!

His role isn't about possessions it's about creating a contest in the ruck when Gawn is off and creating a contest inside 50 to create opportunities for Pickett, Melksham, Fritsch etc

2nd ruck has been an issue for a while and at the moment the balance is working. You need to look at the team being more than the sum of its parts.

12 hours ago, Pennant St Dee said:

That’s a great team win, still building and still room for improvement but we’re heading in the right direction

You would be a riot at a party.::

9 hours ago, picket fence said:

We are lauding a guy who got 6 posesions I say again 6 on top of his 4 or 5 last week. Yeah a few LUCKY tap ons but sorry to pop ur bubble He is a very average player!

I’m desperate for JVR to find his spot back in the side but unfortunately if he can’t be the second ruck option then AJ will be ahead of him.

It’s a real shame because JVR is best suited to an exclusive forward role yet the team needs someone to help Gawn.