3 hours ago, Pirlo said:

Morris, despite his sins, is a passionate Dees supporter.

This is true isn't it...gotta support the supporters I guess, still think Morris shouldn't look so smug all the time but I suspect that is just his look when he's nervous.

31 minutes ago, Roost it far said:

But we lose Petracca and Kozz. I understand where you are coming from but it’s a massive gamble. I’d much prefer to see Petracca and Kozz lead the current list of quality youngsters for the next few years. As every day goes by I’m leaning more towards keeping our talent and moving Richardson and Goodwin on at years end. I think that’s where a fresh set of eyes is most needed.

Its a fine balance between cutting to deep or not going far enough. Id also prefer we hang onto our senior players and hope they are able to change and adapt to the new plan and become elite in their roles. We will launch back into contention if they can do this.

Oliver is regaining some form, however his impact on the game still hasn't reached his pre '23 hammy levels.

With Trac, he was our highest impacting player as well down on his pre-injury levels. I do think he still needs a few more games before he achieves peak fitness.

If we can keep Kozzy and he wants to stay, that will be a massive win.

At the end of the year, we will need to assess the list position, player requests and the like. I wouldnt be surprised if we offloaded all of Oliver, Trac & Kozzy, but i wouldnt be surprised if we kept them all as well.

4 hours ago, Pirlo said:

We'd be better off without supporters like him he likes stacking crud on us and always attacks us.

6 hours ago, Pirlo said:

No, he’s a passionate journalist

He breaks stories regardless of his feelings towards a club

18 minutes ago, whatwhat say what said:

No, he’s a passionate journalist

He breaks stories regardless of his feelings towards a club

Agreed - the worst 'supporter' who I can think of. I still remember Jesse Hogan giving him a clip about using personal information gained whilst he worked for the club to get ahead in the world. I couldn't remember what exactly was said but I found this via good ol google.

"Honest leech. Had a job at Melbourne football club that was private and used it and leaked private conversations to get a leg up," Hogan wrote.

"Not involving me but genuine leech of a personality."

Hogan went so far to call Morris a "fake media personality" before tagging his account at the end of the tead.

Tom is a supporter of Tom only. I still can't believe he has a job in footy after his previous comments towards a female colleague as well. Absolute pig of a human.

But, moving on from that rant, I actually think neither will be with us next year. We'll be loading up for a full re-build whilst holding on to some hard bodies as protection for the young ones coming through in May, Gawn and Viney.

No way I'd let Kozzy go however.

8 hours ago, Roost it far said:

But we lose Petracca and Kozz. I understand where you are coming from but it’s a massive gamble. I’d much prefer to see Petracca and Kozz lead the current list of quality youngsters for the next few years. As every day goes by I’m leaning more towards keeping our talent and moving Richardson and Goodwin on at years end. I think that’s where a fresh set of eyes is most needed.

Agree in principle but these two are our main guys with value who both seem to want out. You won’t get anything for Gawn, May, Viney - may as well let them lead a mini rebuild. Get the picks in pre Tassie, bring them through with a solid core around them, and we could be up and contending by 2028.

Bowey, JVR, McVee, Jefferson, Windsor, Tholstrup, Langford, Lindsay. That’s our first round talent since 2020. Plenty to work with there with the right coach and a decent group of veterans.

26 minutes ago, Pirlo said:

Agree in principle but these two are our main guys with value who both seem to want out. You won’t get anything for Gawn, May, Viney - may as well let them lead a mini rebuild. Get the picks in pre Tassie, bring them through with a solid core around them, and we could be up and contending by 2028.

Bowey, JVR, McVee, Jefferson, Windsor, Tholstrup, Langford, Lindsay. That’s our first round talent since 2020. Plenty to work with there with the right coach and a decent group of veterans.

Mcvee was a rookie, but get your point.

Out of the three (Trac, Clarry and Kozzie) Oliver is the only one I wouldn't be too upset about if he left but he's also the one with the least trade value. We should stand firm on Petracca and Pickett, we would be mad to let either go.

15 minutes ago, Dr. Gonzo said:

Out of the three (Trac, Clarry and Kozzie) Oliver is the only one I wouldn't be too upset about if he left but he's also the one with the least trade value. We should stand firm on Petracca and Pickett, we would be mad to let either go.

Sadly I think the complete opposite will happen.

I think the only one we’ll retain is Clarry.

20 minutes ago, Dr. Gonzo said:

I can't see how Petracca gets traded when he doesn't have a registered agent. He also hasn't made things easy on himself, the debacle last year reflected poorly on him as much as the club.

2 minutes ago, Flowergirl said:

I can't see how Petracca gets traded when he doesn't have a registered agent. He also hasn't made things easy on himself, the debacle last year reflected poorly on him as much as the club.

That's not going to stop opposition clubs from coming again..

If anything, it'll add more fuel to the fire.

1 minute ago, dazzledavey36 said:

That's not going to stop opposition clubs from coming again..

If anything, it'll add more fuel to the fire.

Again, he doesn't have a registered agent.

3 minutes ago, Flowergirl said:

That can change at any point. His brothers is one isn’t he?

Just now, GS_1905 said:

That can change at any point. His brothers is one isn’t he?

His brother works for the company he just parted ways with.

17 hours ago, GS_1905 said:

With Trac, he was our highest impacting player as well down on his pre-injury levels. I do think he still needs a few more games before he achieves peak fitness.

Agree with this. Trac missed a ton of pre season (running around the boundary line doesn’t count) on the back of missing half a season. I expect him to be back to his best in the second half of the season and hopefully we’ll be the beneficiaries of a few wins.

Gawn’s in awful form but he too missed a month of training.

We’ll be firmly rooted in the bottom 2-4 next year if Trac and Kozzie depart.

21 hours ago, BringBackTheDemon said:

Ive gone from wanting Oliver gone to now saying you might as well keep him and see what a new coach can do with him given what you'd get back for him is sweet FA. Buying high and selling low is not the way.

Would be more than happy to move on from Viney for nothing however, his value is only going one way in the next 3 years and we need to get some youngsters into the midfield.

Getting rid of Viney is like getting rid of Junior all over again. Plenty left and heart and soul.

8 hours ago, Dr. Gonzo said:

Honestly I'd rather keep Oliver because in my eyes he's more of a club man. He's a 4x B&F winner and just seems more genuine to me. Nothing against Trac at all but I've turned off him a bit since the off seasons. Seems the only reason he's "happy at Melbourne" is because a trade was always going to be impossible to get done.

1 hour ago, Bring-Back-Powell said:

I expect him to be back to his best in the second half of the season and hopefully we’ll be the beneficiaries of a few wins.

Not sure ... very hard to build fitness in-season. Form, perhaps.

19 hours ago, TeamPlayedFine39 said:

I'd agree.
I'm advocating for 'shopping them around', rather looking for a silver lining if they were to insist on a move.

I'm glad we held Petracca and Oliver to their contracts, but if it comes around again, and the offer is equitable I'd say take it.

It will be significantly less in my view damaged goods and limited opportunities Should have traded last year when hot

no way you get round 1 for them.Myabe best to get player and cash relief

1 hour ago, praha said:

Honestly I'd rather keep Oliver because in my eyes he's more of a club man. He's a 4x B&F winner and just seems more genuine to me. Nothing against Trac at all but I've turned off him a bit since the off seasons. Seems the only reason he's "happy at Melbourne" is because a trade was always going to be impossible to get done.

Sure, but on the flipside Petracca is a professional while Oliver is a man child who may or may not have resolved his off-field "issues".

Petracca is also an impactful player who can change a game, Oliver is an accumulator who doesn't hurt opposition teams going forward and doesn't defend well.

1 hour ago, TheWiz said:

Getting rid of Viney is like getting rid of Junior all over again. Plenty left and heart and soul.

Dont care, the club is already in free fall and the game has changed. We need a modern day midfield dynamic and Viney can only play one position.

6 minutes ago, Dr. Gonzo said:

Sure, but on the flipside Petracca is a professional while Oliver is a man child who may or may not have resolved his off-field "issues".

Petracca is also an impactful player who can change a game, Oliver is an accumulator who doesn't hurt opposition teams going forward and doesn't defend well.

I don't disagree. What a sad predicament, really.

Edited by praha

I reckon Clarry is the biggest reason our culture is shizzen. He is making a contribution on the field but nowhere close to justifying his fat contract.

we won't get much for him but if we can clear his wage and remove a headache from the club I'd support trading him. a shame given his stellar previous performances, but the club comes first. Can't be living in the past

10 hours ago, Flowergirl said:

And?

It's the same agent that also negotiated a new 5 year deal for Tyson Stengle last year.

She is planning to be a fully accredited player agent by the end of the footy season. The process has already started.