Posted
12 minutes ago, BLWNBA said:

Did you happen to see who else was used as a forward, alongside Jefferson?

Match sim - White team: Jeffo & JVR. Petty playing higher up the ground, but as a fwd. Navy team: Disco

Posted

Saw on the news, ambos had to be called for some bloke that fell out of a tree. Turns out he was ok, had just fainted.

Weirdest thing though, he had this strange glove on one hand, and some black substance around his mouth.

• Haha 10

Posted
12 minutes ago, Swooper said:

Match sim - White team: Jeffo & JVR. Petty playing higher up the ground, but as a fwd. Navy team: Disco

Thanks mate, similar to Monday when I down.

Posted

I love and hate the off-season 

Ive gone from expected a rebuild year and to hang on to players to expecting top 4 

Posted
9 minutes ago, Rolling Stone said:

Some glowing reports about the players.

My question is whether the trackwatchers who have been going down to Gosch's think we can improve enough to return to the top half of the ladder in 2025?

Yes. I’d go so far as to say we’ll make top four. Of course, I’m delusional and have my head in the sand, a happy clapper if you will, but this year’s preseason is different in so many ways. If I had to pick one word to describe the biggest difference it would be… HUNGER. It’s spread around the entire group, they’re all driven by it. 

• Love 8

Posted

Attending training today was not quite as exciting as it was two weeks ago when the newbies were on display for the first time and the odd  player was being trialled in unusual positions, but it's still good to see what's going on and who's making inroads.

I was particularly interested in the match sim work, which lasted about an hour and generally saw 14-a-side lining up - so plenty of space and plenty of running.

As I said last Friday, it's hard not to be impressed by Caleb Windsor as a defender. He gives us the line-breaking pace and decision making that we need. Salem, Bowey and even McVee are all generally safe disposers and capable players in their own right, but adding Windsor into the mix will give us that dash we've been lacking allowing us to transition on occasions with real venom.

So far this pre-season Kossie is spending the majority of time with the mids and he's nailing it. It's like watching Aaron Davey in his prime - his ability to baulk and weave out of trouble is amazing. Last year his forays into the middle were also dynamic, but he kept turning the ball over. Hopefully with a full summer he can iron out his gives, because he now wins the majority of the contests - even more than Trac and Ollie. With him no longer playing forward, it seems Jack Viney has been assigned the task of being an extra small up forward and you'd be surprised how good a mark he is for his size and you'd hate to be the defender that turns the wrong way and gets nailed in a tackle by him.

Disco Turner looks to be mastering the art of forward-play and looks at home in the role now. Our key forwards are in a battle for spots this year and you'd be doing well to predict our round 1 trio. Jeffo had a day out in match sim kicking about four goals but he still gets pushed off it by bigger defenders. Aidan Johnson is starting to look the part, he's quick and physical and he definitely will be considered for round 1, although he'll need to nail our practice games. Petty keeps swapping roles, but spent most of today as a forward and with Jed Adams clearly on the improve, it may be that he will stay up front after all. JVR is finding the going tougher this year - he's got the yips with his kicking for goal routine and I suspect it's sapping his marking confidence. But he still looks a brute and is mega determined - the only issue being that Turner and AJ are similar models. The class and variety that Fritta provides was clearly missed today, while Melky was on light duties.

Don't be surprised if Tom Campbell plays quite a few times this year. As good as Gawny is, big Tom is beating him in the ruck tapouts contests, although he can't match him in marking duels around the ground. Tom was huge at Sandringham in the VFL last year and he has made a huge impression so far at training. He's mobile in the Brodie Grundy mode, but he has extra height, which means he can monster the throw-ins. Given there's 23 in a squad these days, surely it's time to take the pressure off Gawny a bit this season by occasionally playing TC as well with a view to subbing him out for fresh legs at three-quarter time. As to Will Verrrall, he laid a couple of ripping tackles today, but he's up against it, conceding about three inches and 10kg to TC and Gawny. 

If I was giving votes at training today, then I'd be considering Ed Langdon - there was one magic bit of play where he just kept running to provide the spare and after a chain of quick handballs it finally to fell to him. He pulled a 90-degree kick that found Viney lace up for a shot on goal. 

Such was Ed's form that I barely noticed Harry Sharp who was often doing his best to keep up with him. Our other newbie mid Harvey Langford won a bit more of the ball today, but I suspect he's still trying to adjust to the extra pace and will enjoy the X-mas break to recharge. Kynan Brown spent much of match-sim as a small forward and got a few nice touches. But I think he needs to play on the wing or half-back to make it.

As mentioned by others, Clarry and Trac had a nice chat about body positioning after match sim, and both are clearly a step ahead of our other mids (aside from Kossie), barging and baulking their way out of stoppages. If they can keep in a good headspace all season, then there's no doubt that with our draw we will challenge again.

• Like 25
  • Thanks 14
Posted
4 hours ago, Demonland said:

Fritsch not present 

He’s unwell. He’ll be right by Monday. 

Posted
3 minutes ago, Demonland said:

JVR doesn't lose one-on-one contests, even when he's out of position. Just fights and finds a way to bring the ball to ground.

Posted
34 minutes ago, FireInTheBennelly said:

Saw on the news, ambos had to be called for some bloke that fell out of a tree. Turns out he was ok, had just fainted.

Weirdest thing though, he had this strange glove on one hand, and some black substance around his mouth.

Keith Richards?

Posted
4 minutes ago, Demonland said:

Jeffo with the smarts, long arms and clean hands

AJ and JVR with power 

Disco with the combination of reading the drop and timing on the bump.

If you could pick and choose the best parts you’d have 2 stars, just a matter of who plays to their strengths the most.

Posted
19 minutes ago, Ghostwriter said:

Yes. I’d go so far as to say we’ll make top four. Of course, I’m delusional and have my head in the sand, a happy clapper if you will, but this year’s preseason is different in so many ways. If I had to pick one word to describe the biggest difference it would be… HUNGER. It’s spread around the entire group, they’re all driven by it. 

Better to be a happy clapper than a nappy crapper who 'dumps' you know what on their team and players.

I much prefer to be and remain positive.

Posted
19 minutes ago, Deespicable said:

Attending training today was not quite as exciting as it was two weeks ago when the newbies were on display for the first time and the odd  player was being trialled in unusual positions, but it's still good to see what's going on and who's making inroads.

I was particularly interested in the match sim work, which lasted about an hour and generally saw 14-a-side lining up - so plenty of space and plenty of running.

As I said last Friday, it's hard not to be impressed by Caleb Windsor as a defender. He gives us the line-breaking pace and decision making that we need. Salem, Bowey and even McVee are all generally safe disposers and capable players in their own right, but adding Windsor into the mix will give us that dash we've been lacking allowing us to transition on occasions with real venom.

So far this pre-season Kossie is spending the majority of time with the mids and he's nailing it. It's like watching Aaron Davey in his prime - his ability to baulk and weave out of trouble is amazing. Last year his forays into the middle were also dynamic, but he kept turning the ball over. Hopefully with a full summer he can iron out his gives, because he now wins the majority of the contests - even more than Trac and Ollie. With him no longer playing forward, it seems Jack Viney has been assigned the task of being an extra small up forward and you'd be surprised how good a mark he is for his size and you'd hate to be the defender that turns the wrong way and gets nailed in a tackle by him.

Disco Turner looks to be mastering the art of forward-play and looks at home in the role now. Our key forwards are in a battle for spots this year and you'd be doing well to predict our round 1 trio. Jeffo had a day out in match sim kicking about four goals but he still gets pushed off it by bigger defenders. Aidan Johnson is starting to look the part, he's quick and physical and he definitely will be considered for round 1, although he'll need to nail our practice games. Petty keeps swapping roles, but spent most of today as a forward and with Jed Adams clearly on the improve, it may be that he will stay up front after all. JVR is finding the going tougher this year - he's got the yips with his kicking for goal routine and I suspect it's sapping his marking confidence. But he still looks a brute and is mega determined - the only issue being that Turner and AJ are similar models. The class and variety that Fritta provides was clearly missed today, while Melky was on light duties.

Don't be surprised if Tom Campbell plays quite a few times this year. As good as Gawny is, big Tom is beating him in the ruck tapouts contests, although he can't match him in marking duels around the ground. Tom was huge at Sandringham in the VFL last year and he has made a huge impression so far at training. He's mobile in the Brodie Grundy mode, but he has extra height, which means he can monster the throw-ins. Given there's 23 in a squad these days, surely it's time to take the pressure off Gawny a bit this season by occasionally playing TC as well with a view to subbing him out for fresh legs at three-quarter time. As to Will Verrrall, he laid a couple of ripping tackles today, but he's up against it, conceding about three inches and 10kg to TC and Gawny. 

If I was giving votes at training today, then I'd be considering Ed Langdon - there was one magic bit of play where he just kept running to provide the spare and after a chain of quick handballs it finally to fell to him. He pulled a 90-degree kick that found Viney lace up for a shot on goal. 

Such was Ed's form that I barely noticed Harry Sharp who was often doing his best to keep up with him. Our other newbie mid Harvey Langford won a bit more of the ball today, but I suspect he's still trying to adjust to the extra pace and will enjoy the X-mas break to recharge. Kynan Brown spent much of match-sim as a small forward and got a few nice touches. But I think he needs to play on the wing or half-back to make it.

As mentioned by others, Clarry and Trac had a nice chat about body positioning after match sim, and both are clearly a step ahead of our other mids (aside from Kossie), barging and baulking their way out of stoppages. If they can keep in a good headspace all season, then there's no doubt that with our draw we will challenge again.

JVR when the ball comes in harder has cricketers hands when they catch a high ball elbows bent towards the body and palms bent skywards, when it comes in soft he's alright.

Posted
20 minutes ago, Deespicable said:

Don't be surprised if Tom Campbell plays quite a few times this year. As good as Gawny is, big Tom is beating him in the ruck tapouts contests, although he can't match him in marking duels around the ground. Tom was huge at Sandringham in the VFL last year and he has made a huge impression so far at training. He's mobile in the Brodie Grundy mode, but he has extra height, which means he can monster the throw-ins. Given there's 23 in a squad these days, surely it's time to take the pressure off Gawny a bit this season by occasionally playing TC as well with a view to subbing him out for fresh legs at three-quarter time.

TC (officially his nickname) is a big strong unit. There’s a marked change in terms of muscle definition in the time we’ve had him. He’s been told he’ll be doing what you described above. He puts it as “helping Max out as needed.” 

Posted
4 minutes ago, Ghostwriter said:

TC (officially his nickname) is a big strong unit. There’s a marked change in terms of muscle definition in the time we’ve had him. He’s been told he’ll be doing what you described above. He puts it as “helping Max out as needed.” 

Seems like a great clubman and selfless player. Definitely what we needed with the loss of Gus

• Like 14
  • Clap 3
Posted
10 minutes ago, DistrACTION Jackson said:

Seems like a great clubman and selfless player. Definitely what we needed with the loss of Gus

Yeah I reckon that’s something the club was expecting, like an added bonus. You only need to speak with him for a couple of minutes and you see why he’s a close friend of BBB’s, has a similar nature. I can’t imagine a personality clash happening between TC and anyone.

Posted
17 minutes ago, Ghostwriter said:

Yeah I reckon that’s something the club was expecting, like an added bonus. You only need to speak with him for a couple of minutes and you see why he’s a close friend of BBB’s, has a similar nature. I can’t imagine a personality clash happening between TC and anyone.

Channel 10 sport news did an interview with him which was shown on Tuesday night.

Seems like a cracking, intelligent bloke and you can tell that he's genuinely excited to be at the joint.

Proudly (in a funny way) mentioned that he probably holds the AFL/VFL record of most times listed as an emergency....by a county mile.

He's definitely a more viable back up option than throwing JVR and Petty to the wolves as first and second rucks. 

• Thanks 4

Posted
1 hour ago, Ghostwriter said:

Have to say I've never been happy with the Clapper. 

Edit. Not that I have ever had the Clapper mind you. But I wouldn't be if I did. 

• Haha 5
Posted

Had a busy day at training catching up with some Demonlanders and the Podcast Team so my focus on the session was not high.

A couple of things that I will highlight was Harvey Langford's double tap tackle on Windsor during a One on One Ground Ball drill. Langford ferociously tackled Windsor to the ground twice within the same segement of the drill. We have a very special one here. Hungry and on the hunt for the ball. Uses it very well.

Windsor's kicking to targets in the forward 50 is elite.

Tholstrup's overhead marking in the middle of the ground is very strong.

Kozzy is looking in super great nick. He is not as bulky in the shoulders and looks to have slimmed down. His ball movement is sublime.

Trac and Clarry look so focused and if we get maximum output from the two of them this season then look out.

Judd McVee is one of the hardest workers I have ever seen on the training track and that includes watching Jack Viney on the training track over 12 or 13 years.

JVR rarely loses a one on one marking contest. Granted neither May or Lever was training with the main group in todays session.

I was super impressed with Jefferson's leading and marking. He kicked some nice goals from outside 50 and I only saw 1 poor shot for goal that he didn't kick through. A one stage he was on a lead and the kick was a little bit wayward. Whilst on the lead in a straight line up the field towards 50 he read that it was not going to hit him and he moved laterally to mark it. A little thing but I was impressed with the speed that he recognised it and made the decision to move to get to the ball. I've seen bits and pieces of him at Casey and have been anywhere from very impressed to a little underwhelmed. I'm cognizant of the fact that key position players take longer to develop and that he was always going to take a little longer that JVR but I think this year will be his make or break. He will likely start at Casey but this is the season he needs to take the step up. I like what I have seen in the preseason but his destiny is in his hands. 

Aidan Johnson is a very nice size for a forward. Moves well. Has a good pair of hands. A nice kick for goal. I will not be surprised if we see him trialed in the preseason matches and providing all goes well in those matches or early at Casey I won't be shocked if he gets a call up particularly because he would be a better option as the relief ruck for Max than having those duties fall on JVR. This is not a knock on JVR; ruck work because I think he did an excellent job in that relief ruck role. However I think that was to the detriment of his development as a forward as ruck work can be punishing on the body not to mention all the running up and down the field exhausting him when he has to go back to playing key forward. The less rucking he has to do outside of the forward 50 arc the better. He is a key forward and should only be used as such. We don't want to rob Peter to pay Paul.

Disco Turner has the safest pair of hands in the business. I am very bullish on him this season and firmly believe that he will breakout even more this season. He reads the ball in the air so well and just has the ability to clunk them.

On Kalani White. He is only doing warm ups and non-contact stuff and isn't involved in the larger drills and match sims but boy do I love what I see and pray to all of the footy Gods that he chooses his beloved Demons. He is a tall and skinny kid as you've seen in the photos and he is 17 and still growing but a couple of preseasons under his belt and a good nutrition plan and he will put on some bulk. He is very athletic for someone of his height and has very nice and clean skills which often times player of that height don't possess.

It was great to see Charlie Spargo running sprints along the boundary. Since the team has returned to the track Spargo has progressively increased the intensity of his training from stationary handballing and kicking to some light movement and agility training with the trainers to slow jogging along the boundary to running and today was the first time I have seen him sprinting at a good clip. Hopefully he is not too far away from returning to the main group. I would love to see him in the full training after the Christmas/New Years break.

It is fantastic to see such a small rehab group and this time of the preseason. In past years we have had many players in various stages of rehab and as we have all surmised the less body of training work that is put in during the preseason it is almost impossible to make that up during the Season. Only having a handfull of players in the rehab group and the majority of players in full training can only be a positive heading into the 2025 season.

Lever is recovering from post season surgery. I heard someone mention shoulder surgery but he also had a thin strap under one of his knees. He had slowly increased his running load while at training and I hope he too returns to the main group after the break.

New recruit Xavier Lindsay had post season surgery on his PCL. I'm not sure what his timeline to return is but he would be chomping at the bit to get involved. The little I have seen of his skills when he has been able to participate in now contact stuff is something to be excited about.

Melksham is new to the rehab group. I don't know what his ailment was and I'm sure it's been mentioned in some of the previous training reports but by the end of today session he was joining in with the main group in the match sim and did not look to be hampered by anything. He too looks to have come back in great nick (as does our other veteran TMac). Both could be playing their final seasons and neither of them will die wondering.

The one player I am most disappointed with in this preseason is McAdam. Another poster has reported that he was doing intense training sessions over the offseason. My hope after an injury interuptted preseason last year and then an injury interrupted season with only 3 senior berths and 11 games at Casey was that those injury concerns were all behind him. Since his return he has spent another preseason, at least the pre-Christmas block, in the rehab group. Granted I do not have any insight or knowledge as to what the issue or injury concern or if it is just precautionary, but I was hoping that he too could have a full preseason under his belt and hit the season running. I do believe that if fully fit he has a lot to offer which is why it is so disappointing that he is not tearing up the track. Finger crossed he is back on the track after the break.

• Like 20
  • Thanks 7
  • Clap 5
Posted
20 minutes ago, Bring-Back-Powell said:

Channel 10 sport news did an interview with him which was shown on Tuesday night.

Seems like a cracking, intelligent bloke and you can tell that he's genuinely excited to be at the joint.

Proudly (in a funny way) mentioned that he probably holds the AFL/VFL record of most times listed as an emergency....by a county mile.

He's definitely a more viable back up option than throwing JVR and Petty to the wolves as first and second rucks. 

I saw that interview being conducted then I watched it on the news that evening. What you see is what you get. TC is very intelligent, well-spoken and humble. He’s grateful for this opportunity and it shows. He is forever upbeat and has a lovely disposition and a broad and friendly smile. I can’t imagine anyone not liking him.

Fully agree about Rooey in the ruck… we need to avoid this. He’ll be smashed and bashed just like Max is. 

Posted
5 minutes ago, Demonland said:

Disco Turner has the safest pair of hands in the business. I am very bullish on him this season and firmly believe that he will breakout even more this season. He reads the ball in the air so well and just has the ability to clunk them.

Someone posted a few weeks back they thought Disco would have a Jake Waterman like break out year, I reckon they will be bang on

Posted

A million thanks to all who have contributed to all but particularly this training report.  The vibes seem almost universally positive and it seems we can look forward to a far better season in 2025.  Sounds like we have got over the physical and mental traumas of 2023 and 2024 allowing for far better preparation for the long season ahead - 🤞5 weeks longer than last.

I was beginning to worry that Mr fence had been envenomated en route and missed his fave Mr J showing his wares it seems with some aplomb 

The whole team balance sounds better with more alternative options available in ruck, mids, forwards and defence.   I hope the selectors and match day team show more flexibility and use these options more, when needed.

Seasons greetings to all fellow Demonlanders    

Really looking forward to the next podcast when our hardworking dedicated team get a chance to- no pressure 🤔