Just now, FearTheBeard said:

Nope, we have a home game at marvel 

Yep just picked up on that.

Didnt we have an agreement to play 10 home games at the G?

3 games in Adelaide, happy days!

The club and players loves playing in Adelaide.

We have an outstanding record over the last 8 years. 

Sounds like a good draw for the Dees. Don't be too down about a Marvel home game. Marvel is actually a decent ground to watch footy in. Definitely prefer the MCG on a nice sunny day with a solid crowd but if the weather is windy and wet, Marvel is good value and can get a decent atmosphere if you get over 30K in. Handy being next to Southern Cross Station and its easy to get a beer or snack there without lining up too long.

1 minute ago, Demons11 said:

Hello 3.20 Sunday, my old friend 

just like the dark old days.

Hope the the AFL's new love child upon which much has been lavished, crash and burn! 

No, it isn't the bombers altho I don't wish them well either!! 

I will happily 'death ride' both with the only benefit being the dark pleasure of their demise.😁

Edited by Lucifers Hero

I don’t know about you all but I want to win a flag so i’m very happy with that fixture!

Just now, DubDee said:

I don’t know about you all but I want to win a flag so i’m very happy with that fixture!

Yep agreed. Don't give a toss what the fixture is, win enough games to make finals or top 4 and we will make money...

7 minutes ago, No. 31 said:

Sounds like a good draw for the Dees. Don't be too down about a Marvel home game. Marvel is actually a decent ground to watch footy in. Definitely prefer the MCG on a nice sunny day with a solid crowd but if the weather is windy and wet, Marvel is good value and can get a decent atmosphere if you get over 30K in. Handy being next to Southern Cross Station and its easy to get a beer or snack there without lining up too long.

Eagles at marvel late in the season hard to see 20k showing up for that, might be better if fan boycott so the afl stops with the stupidity 

Edited by Garbo

4 minutes ago, Lucifers Hero said:

Hope the the AFL's new love child upon which much has been lavished, crash and burn! 

No, it isn't the bombers altho I don't wish them well either!! 

I will happily 'death ride' both with the only benefit being the dark pleasure of their demise.

Carlton and Hackball

Double up games:

Somehow we’ve avoided the top 6 completely. 

Also avoided Blues and Freo and play freo at home 

Big opportunity for the club next year!

A commercial disaster, but from a 'winnability' point of view, it's a good draw as things stand. Of course every year some teams surprise and some falter, but to only play Brisbane, Geelong, Swans (at home) Carlton, and Freo (at home) once, is a big win as I expect them to do well again next year. 

And given our fans rarely turn up to night games, it's hard to complain about the 3:20 Sunday timeslot. You get what you deserve in this game*.

Also good to have 2 easier game in the first 3 weeks, given we will be missing Kosi!

*unless you're one of the AFL's love child, and then you get a lot more than you deserve

Edited by Jaded No More

8 minutes ago, Roger Mellie said:

Hackball

tbh, I don't wish any team well but right now that new 'love child' is in the same category as the loathsome bombers!

'Death ride' them both!!!

Edited by Lucifers Hero

Premiership here we come! 

This draw is a significant tail wind…

Go Demons! 

Edited by PaulRB

3 minutes ago, DubDee said:

Double up games:

Somehow we’ve avoided the top 6 completely. 

Also avoided Blues and Freo and play freo at home 

Big opportunity for the club next year!

Hawthorn essentially finished 6. But agree with you 

Crazy we get only 12 games at the g next year and blues who split there games between docklands and mcg get 11, on top of the we travel intestate 7 times and Geelong once. 4 more than some other Victorian sides 

Edited by Garbo

The fixture is perfectly fine

i reckon the Hawks will regress this year so the best top 6 double up we could have asked for

We have a very good record in Adelaide so suits us to play 3 games there.

We should finish top 4. if we don't it won't be because of the fixture

18 minutes ago, No. 31 said:

10 minutes ago, Garbo said:

Eagles at marvel late in the season hard to see 20k showing up for that, might be better if fan boycott so the afl stops with the stupidity 

More like 12K

14 minutes ago, Garbo said:

what's the answer though?

move it to MCG just to get a couple more thousand attending?

The commercial side of the draw gets mentioned quite a bit. Are we actually more disadvantaged with this draw compared to more night games like we had last year? We played GWS and Port on Saturday night prime last year both in front of a near empty MGC. Those games can't have been anything only loss making.

If we play well through 15 rounds we'll be better scheduled last 7 games. Playing well is the best way to bring commercial success. 

I do think North and WC will significantly improve next season. Especially WC

Saints... will be the Saints

Pies will be top 4 imo

Hawks will regress slightly and be in the mix to make finals

GC - should improve with another year under Hardwick

But aside from the Tigers there are no worse teams really

Can confirm the Harry Sharp Cup is on May 18th