View in the app

A better way to browse. Learn more.

A full-screen app on your home screen with push notifications, badges and more.

To install this app on iOS and iPadOS
  1. Tap the Share icon in Safari
  2. Scroll the menu and tap Add to Home Screen.
  3. Tap Add in the top-right corner.
To install this app on Android
  1. Tap the 3-dot menu (⋮) in the top-right corner of the browser.
  2. Tap Add to Home screen or Install app.
  3. Confirm by tapping Install.

19 hours ago, Deespicable said:

I'd say we'd have to give up our second rounder or the pick we receive from Adelaide for ANB - any deal involving our pick 5 should be immediately shut down.

Too high for a guy that hasn't played an AFL game yet.

3rd rounder tops

Saw someone say pick 5 should be immediately shut down 🤣

The blokes not carey unfortunately mate, we'll be getting this bloke for essentially nothing.

20 hours ago, Deespicable said:

I'd say we'd have to give up our second rounder or the pick we receive from Adelaide for ANB - any deal involving our pick 5 should be immediately shut down.

I don’t mean to be rude but this is one of the most insane things I’ve ever read on Demonland.

A bloke who was picked up in the mid-season draft two and a half years ago, who’s never been selected to play a game for his club, and you’re talking about first and second rounders? 

4 minutes ago, Dee Boys said:

you’re talking about first and second rounders?

I think you’ll find that by ‘shut down’, he means that it should not be trade-able, but rather kept to be used in the draft.

2 minutes ago, hardtack said:

I think you’ll find that by ‘shut down’, he means that it should not be trade-able, but rather kept to be used in the draft.

But how is that at all relevant when discussing Wade Derksen?

The young fella is also a qualified sparky. Cash jobs at Bayley Fritsch Electrical maybe for a few extra $ and to keep his hand in the game? 🙂

Give Woey the 19 guernsey and this bloke gets 40.

1 hour ago, Dee Boys said:

But how is that at all relevant when discussing Wade Derksen?

Does that matter?

Anyone know how many times he was listed as an emergency this year?

That would be an indication on how close (or miles off) he is from AFL footy.

Derksen is very versatile.  Key back. Key forwards.  Relief ruck.  He was behind too many at the Giants.  Probably deserved a go ahead of Keefe.  
He kicked 35 goals at VFL level in 2023. Two times kicked 5 goals and accuracy was good.  In 2024, he played mostly in defence (averaged 20 disposals and 10 marks per game). In the last 3 games, he played key forward again and kicked 6 goals.  Handy addition if we give up very little  

Playing forward in 2023 … https://www.afl.com.au/video/951845/vfl-showreel-r13-wade-derksen-highlights?videoId=951845&modal=true&type=video&publishFrom=1686969300001

Not basing it off much, but I think he might get some time forward next year.

2 hours ago, Lexinator said:

Derksen are the low risk, potentially high reward players we should be after.

Like Fullarton and Schache. Only joking!

11 minutes ago, Redleg said:

Would be more funny if it weren't so true... 😪

But I'm not giving up on 25 yr old Fullarton just yet! A lot of 200cm players take time to develop. This is my mediocre half glass full approach.

Edited by Young Blood

3 minutes ago, Young Blood said:

But I'm not giving up on 25 yr old Fullarton just yet! A lot of 200cm players take time to develop. This is my mediocre half glass full approach.

Not holding my breath but there’s a role for him in a team that can really move the ball to just lead hard at the kicker across half forward. The Chol role at Hawthorn.

34 minutes ago, Young Blood said:

I have posted a couple of times that while Fullarton is not a ruckman, he could fill a key position role. 

3 hours ago, Redleg said:

I have posted a couple of times that while Fullarton is not a ruckman, he could fill a key position role. 

Not disagreeing, but odd because he was definitely seen and used as a ruck (+ forward) at Brisbane.

7 minutes ago, bing181 said:

Not disagreeing, but odd because he was definitely seen and used as a ruck (+ forward) at Brisbane.

He rucked a bit in earlier years but Brisbane added a bunch of young rucks and he played pretty much the whole time forward in 2023. Only had double digit hit outs once. He just isn’t a natural with using his body in a physical way but he is athletic. 

Has he said he wants to come to us or are we just hoping at this stage?

7 hours ago, Lexinator said:

Derksen are the low risk, potentially high reward players we should be after.

4 hours ago, Redleg said:

Or Kade Kolodjashnij

In his better performances for Casey, Tom showed good athleticism and decent mobility for a tall bloke. Judges the flight of the ball OK and can take a mark at the highest point.  

Not pack busting like a key forward IMM. More like a tall half forward flanker who can win the ball in flight. Forward line would need to be open, with fluidity of movement and ball delivery kicked to advantage. Seemingly the antithesis of current arrangements.

Edited by Tarax Club

6 minutes ago, DemonOX said:

Has he said he wants to come to us or are we just hoping at this stage?

Nothing official yet, I imagine GWS are probably going to try to hold him for a useful pick (40’s) given multiple teams want him. 

Sorry, but what state does he want to go back to? Are we sure it’s Vic?

Just looked on his profile, and he is from Queanbeyan, Nightcliff, Sunbury, and Peel Thunder. He gets around.

Old commentators would probably describe him as a “journeyman” - before he’s played a game.