Posted
14 minutes ago, Deeminion said:

I just can't see what else they could have said under the circumstances.

Just like politicians who say this or that depending on the political circumstances. Once the Petracca circus is over the fans will forget everything what was said. 

Posted
43 minutes ago, 58er said:

Agree partly Gawny ( not so great) but on the contrary Jeffo will be a very good player and Kent ( who has as much understanding of young key position players as his namesake Dean did in playing footy ) is also bereft of the draft and its player developments. 

Just explain to me why having shown so little will Jeffo become the power forward you  think he is

Posted
20 minutes ago, Garbo said:

Even if he is going they have got to play the part and say he’s not to get maximum value in any trade, I noticed he wasn’t at the game on Friday whilst I saw nearly every other player who wasn’t playing, as a few others have said above I’d have more concern over tracs playing future period and while I would love him in the red and blue next year it might also be for the best if he isn’t.

He actually was there. Just hiding behind Windsor's head in the box. Coincidence or careful selection of seat?

Posted
1 minute ago, Gawndy the Great said:

He actually was there. Just hiding behind Windsor's head in the box. Coincidence or careful selection of seat?

He was absolutely trying to hide away but that’s probably because he didn’t want a camera in his face all night, which is fair enough. I wouldn’t read anything into it from a club perspective. 

Posted (edited)
31 minutes ago, Macca said:

Maybe, but I reckon this is all about the duty of care talk emanating from the club when Petracca was hurt in the KB clash

Again, a whole host of variables including the club and 3 doctors not knowing the extent of his injuries.  Harsh words spoken or words spoken with assumptions that Petracca was going to be ok

How many times does a player suffer broken, cracked or bruised rips where there is no damage to the spleen?  At a guess I'd say most of the time

The extent of the injury wasn't revealed until hours later

The vision of Tracc’s reactions and obvious severe agony at a level that is rarely seen when his injury occurred was a huge red flag. Signs and symptoms shown by Tracc were of enough concern for him to be sent immediately to hospital for investigation and diagnosis IMO as with many who witnessed the incident. Club doctors on the field  are not equiped to make a diagnosis of an internal injury. There is more to this incident that meets the eye and will influence the outcome of this circus once all the facts come out.

Edited by John Crow Batty

Posted
Just now, John Crow Batty said:

The vision of Tracc’s reactions and obvious severe agony at a level that is rarely seen when his injury occurred was a huge red flag. Signs and symptoms shown by Tracc were of enough concern for him to be sent immediately to hospital for investigation and diagnosis. There is more to this incident that meets the eye and will influence the outcome of this circus once all the facts come out.

So is our club doctor in the firing line?

Posted (edited)
17 minutes ago, Macca said:

So is our club doctor in the firing line?

Not singling out the doctor. Who made the final say to let Tracc play on, is it the doctor, the coaches or the player? This is a whole league problem. I believe there is jiggery pokey still going on at some clubs with concussion protocols(not ours) and there are huge pressures on doctors to make decisions one way or another or not at all.

Edited by John Crow Batty
Posted
52 minutes ago, Garbo said:

Even if he is going they have got to play the part and say he’s not to get maximum value in any trade, I noticed he wasn’t at the game on Friday whilst I saw nearly every other player who wasn’t playing, as a few others have said above I’d have more concern over tracs playing future period and while I would love him in the red and blue next year it might also be for the best if he isn’t.

He was at the game Friday night. The players were sitting in the corporate box behind us. They were all there

Posted

Could it be that the 'direction of the club' that he's allegedly not happy about has more to do with a decision to go with youth rather than chasing quality free agents whilst he's in his own premiership window? It may not be culture related at all? 

Posted
4 minutes ago, Rab D Nesbitt said:

Could it be that the 'direction of the club' that he's allegedly not happy about has more to do with a decision to go with youth rather than chasing quality free agents whilst he's in his own premiership window? It may not be culture related at all? 

Potentially, but as Geelong have shown we can still be contending when he is 33/34.

Posted

I may be proved incorrect here, but when he signed his last contract it was also reported he was unhappy with direction and he and his manager met with the club to ensure he got more midfield time as he didnt want to play primarily fwd.  Media got hold of that too and said he might go...

I just think thats the way he and his manager rolls.  Not great for club , but I dont think he is going anywhere.

Posted
16 minutes ago, John Crow Batty said:

Not singling out the doctor. Who made the final say to let Tracc play on, is it the doctor, the coaches or the player? This is a whole league problem. I believe there is jiggery pokey still going on at some clubs with concussion protocols(not ours) and there are huge pressures on doctors to make decisions one way or another or not at all.

Just about everyone is in combative mode as well

Seen similar at local level a stack of times (myself included) ... very little sympathy/empathy if there is an old-school approach

So just about everyone gets caught up in the moment

Later on, when the extent of an injury is revealed, people can go a bit coy

That's my take on the Petracca incident but I may be way off base

Posted
5 minutes ago, BScotti said:

I may be proved incorrect here, but when he signed his last contract it was also reported he was unhappy with direction and he and his manager met with the club to ensure he got more midfield time as he didnt want to play primarily fwd.  Media got hold of that too and said he might go...

I just think thats the way he and his manager rolls.  Not great for club , but I dont think he is going anywhere.

A lot of the grievances aren't coming from his manager, but from those very close to him. 

You'd think if he asks for a trade it will be at the exit interviews today.  

Posted
6 minutes ago, DistrACTION Jackson said:

Potentially, but as Geelong have shown we can still be contending when he is 33/34.

I agree, but Geelong traded in the likes of Jeremy Cameron, Stengle, Olly Henry, Jack Bowes and Bruhn to be able to do that. We on the other hand picked up Grundy (for a season), Schache, Hunter and McAdam. 

Posted
4 minutes ago, Rab D Nesbitt said:

I agree, but Geelong traded in the likes of Jeremy Cameron, Stengle, Olly Henry, Jack Bowes and Bruhn to be able to do that. We on the other hand picked up Grundy (for a season), Schache, Hunter and McAdam. 

Agreed that the players traded in the last two years have been ordinary. Guess my point around it was Petracca also needs to accept he is taking up a chunk of the salary cap, so makes it harder to chase players. If that was one of his issues, then maybe him, Clayton and whoever else is highly paid can come together and drop 5-10% off the salary cap..... this is tongue in cheek btw as I know they aren't doing that.

Posted

So what's the herald sun story about carlton getting this deal done?

Personally rather than complaining,  help the club & act like a leader, he could be a great mentor to the younger ones like Taj, kynan, Windsor & koltyn

Posted
7 minutes ago, Rab D Nesbitt said:

geelong traded in cameron and lucked into stengle being kicked out of two clubs to claim a 2022 premiership

we were a bit the same with targeting may, lever, langdon and brown being sold for scraps as part of our 2021 premiership

henry, bowes, and bruhn have - at least for at least another week - achieved as much / as little as schache, hunter, billings, and mcadam have for us

Posted
On 12/08/2024 at 18:28, Demon Jack said:

So potentially within the span of 12 months

Brayshaw - retired

Oliver - linked to Adelaide 

Viney - linked to North

Petracca - possibly requesting a trade

What the bleep has happened to this football club?

It’s nearly 12 mths from Angus drama and other events have not been all of our making,

However both our onfield and off field standards have suffered setbacks thst have together put us on the defensive as a  Club and we will need ACC very good off and pre season to regain our standards and improve our football back to 2021 levels. 

The Club will have to pull all in the one  direction to regain this status in thr AFL.

Its started well with Greg  Stafford leaving to give us a chance of our forward and ruck divisions prospering with a new and dynamic approach.   
Much else remains that can be done for 2025 to be a return to success that we aimed for since 2021. 

Posted
1 hour ago, Kent said:

Just explain to me why having shown so little will Jeffo become the power forward you  think he is

What do you expect from a 195cm , 20 yo kid in his second year? 

Posted
1 hour ago, Kent said:

What do you expect from a 195cm , 20 yo kid in his second year? 

Posted

I'd like to know when our president is going to stick her head up from under the table and say a few words about the current state of affairs. The club has to be more proactive about these matters.

We seem to have a cone of silence at the club, we leave it to the press to run with what they want.

Did they think that by increasing the contract periods for Max and Jack that that would give the appearance of togetherness.

Posted
1 minute ago, Dante said:

I'd like to know when our president is going to stick her head up from under the table and say a few words about the current state of affairs. The club has to be more proactive about these matters.

We seem to have a cone of silence at the club, we leave it to the press to run with what they want.

Did they think that by increasing the contract periods for Max and Jack that that would give the appearance of togetherness.

I don't want our president having anything to do with list management. It's like asking Tim Lamb to get involved in securing us a home base. 

Posted
2 hours ago, Demonsone said:

If trac leaves, will be egg on the faces of Goodwin, Richo & Pert who have all publicly said not leaving! The backlash from members and supporters will be huge and creditably of the club will be in question and our history of poorly managing of a once in a generational player which the club has built itself around… very sad if this happens 

Obviously you are licking your lips in anticipation of this happening and justifying all your other negative posts.

Posted
4 minutes ago, Jaded No More said:

I don't want our president having anything to do with list management. It's like asking Tim Lamb to get involved in securing us a home base. 

The President can talk about the club culture, that's what I was referring to. That's what we've been hammered about all year, in case you hadn't noticed.