Posted
4 minutes ago, The heart beats true said:

I hope he has genuine help around him, and I sincerely hope he allows himself to listen to people that care about his long term welfare. It hurts to stop and deal with what’s happened, but if you don’t it just comes back to haunt you. 

Unfortunately I think that the people around him don't have his best interests at heart, but rather their own.

Which is really sad. 

Posted

Demons need better midfielders, not forwards.

Should go after Matt Rowell and send Trac out of Victoria - he would likely be happier living closer to Noosa as well.

Posted
5 minutes ago, loges said:

My money says he won't attend

I hear betting has been suspended. Luckily I cashed out early.

Posted
2 hours ago, beelzebub said:

Falling off a cliff.... are they just behind us ???

Well and truly.

Just that they don’t know it. 
And they haven’t done the clandestine rebuild either. 

Posted
3 hours ago, 3183 Dee said:

All of humanity's problems, stem from man's inability to sit quietly in a room alone. 

Very wise words

Posted
38 minutes ago, Deespicable said:

Sadly I am starting to feel the Trac to Carlton move is inevitable - I mean once the Blue mafia gets hold it's a really hard thing to counteract and with him being an Italian boy, the passion and under the table dealing would be in overdrive.

Just look at almost all the big deals in recent years, from Jack Martin to Mitch McGovern to Zac Williams to Adam Cerra and the Blues have five of the highest-paid internals already - Cripps, Curnow, Walsh, Weitering and Harry, not to mention how much they had to fork out on TDK's deal. Luke Sayers is the master of legal deals apparently.   

And they have a home base and it's just 30 minutes from Armadale.

I know it's unpalatable, but maybe we have to start building young stock before the draft is totally compromised again with Tassie. The Blues have pick 11. I know that and their future first rounder sounds cheap for a Norm Smith Medallist, but maybe we have to retool again to challenge. 

You can’t play the mental health card and then decide to only select 1 club.  If you want to get out of the club then there are 9 other Melbourne clubs that you should be open to going. 

surely we can do better than 11 and a future first fro trac. 

Posted
2 hours ago, Demonland said:

That's a blow I'll never recover from. I'm off to Noosa.

Too soon?

It's full up here. I took the last booking from Trac's accommodation place

Posted

I really want to hear from Christian or his manager at this point.

They have not handled this well at all.

Posted

It's actually hilarious.  If you scroll through Sam McCluess'article in the age he covers his 'you know what' by stating ' everyone knows the chances of a trade are remote'. Elsewhere he has used words to the effect" I'm not saying this is going to happen". Hahaha 🤣Comedy capers. Talk about 50 cents each way. Isn't this the same individual that told the football world emphatically that Harley Reid will not end up at West Coast? And people still fall for his junk. Oh for the great football journalists a la Percy Beames, Mike Sheahan etc. The standard is so poor it's plain embarrassing. 

Posted
2 hours ago, dazzledavey36 said:

Mate, stop blaming Darcy Moore. 

These issues that are raised are well before the injury.

So many issues at our club why don't more players want out. But hang on a minute didn't nearly every player with only a year or 2 left on their contract just extend, from rookies to veterans. Who whispers these stories of issues and what are they actually, who has alterior  motives

Posted
47 minutes ago, Deespicable said:

Sadly I am starting to feel the Trac to Carlton move is inevitable - I mean once the Blue mafia gets hold it's a really hard thing to counteract and with him being an Italian boy, the passion and under the table dealing would be in overdrive.

Just look at almost all the big deals in recent years, from Jack Martin to Mitch McGovern to Zac Williams to Adam Cerra and the Blues have five of the highest-paid internals already - Cripps, Curnow, Walsh, Weitering and Harry, not to mention how much they had to fork out on TDK's deal. Luke Sayers is the master of legal deals apparently.   

And they have a home base and it's just 30 minutes from Armadale.

I know it's unpalatable, but maybe we have to start building young stock before the draft is totally compromised again with Tassie. The Blues have pick 11. I know that and their future first rounder sounds cheap for a Norm Smith Medallist, but maybe we have to retool again to challenge. 

@adonski load the Carlton death ride thread please.  Giddy up. 

Posted (edited)
3 minutes ago, DeeZee said:

I really want to hear from Christian or his manager at this point.

They have not handled this well at all.

Unlike Harry Mckays manager who's simply stated that Harry doesn't want to leave Carlton and is very happy where he is.

Simple effective communication. Sigh...

I don't see why they don't just put out the minimum which is plainly obvious something like 'Christian is currently recovering from a traumatic period and is not in a position to speak publicly yet. We appreciate the clubs patience with this matter' etc.

That would at least get the media off his back. They're going to town on him.

Edited by Young Blood
Posted

The more time this goes on, the more likely it is he wont be a Melbourne player next year. Prepare yourselves, folks.

Posted
32 minutes ago, rufus said:

Yep. I actually agree with premise that we should be looking at youth right now...but picks like 11 this year and next year just won't cut it. Nor would scraps like Cerra or McKay. Carlton and Collingwood just don't have the assets to make an acceptable deal.

So, we stand firm and find the best deal for us. If he is unhappy enough that he's willing to break a significant contract, one that has implications for our club beyond this player himself, then we should assume he'd be happier pretty much anywhere else. So, highest bidder it is.

I agree.

There are few clubs that have the capital to trade with us or want to give up what he's worth.

He's a top 5 player in the league at his prime, regardless of the injury.

Club stands firm, he either stays and be part of the solution or if he goes we get what we want in return.

braveheart-hold.gif

Posted
2 hours ago, Macca said:

His injuries are very real, nothing needs to be exaggerated or over-cooked

Right now, he can't even go for a light jog and it's just 6 weeks to the trade window

What's alarming is that his heart rate can't go above 100 (for now)

During trade week (or beforehand) another suitor may well ask Petracca to go for a medical.  How is he going to pass a medical?

Now, he may well come good but when?

Let's reverse it ... would we as a club pursue a player with these obvious medical issues? 

macca, i don't see why petracca can't make a full recovery.

i've mentioned it before but my brother had a very similar incident. his spleen was so bad they removed it entirely. he also played out the game only collapsing when he got home. dr said he was 30m from dying. anyway he missed the rest of the season, but then went on to play a further 5 years at state level footy.

now all that was about 50 years ago and i'm damn sure medicine has improved since then

Posted (edited)
41 minutes ago, Gawndy the Great said:

I don’t think he’ll front up next year if we make him stay. So what would that mean contractually? Obviously miss Match payments, but could he play the mental health card to at least get something his way aka Ben Simmons’s tactic?

That would destroy his brand so would definitely avoid IMV.

So as Buckley has said we hold firm, get some solid offers from GCS, North, Richmond and give him an ultimatum. We control the outcome no matter how much of a tantrum he throws. 

Imagine the bidding war that could eventuate (may already be happening behind closed doors)

Edited by Dodos Demons
Typo

Posted
1 minute ago, Dodos Demons said:

Imagine the bidding war that could enevtuste (may already be happening behind closed doors)

We can only hope ...

mr-burns-excellent.gif

Posted

No hope in hell are we giving him up for nothing.

No future first rounders.

A top 5 gun , for a gun or two , or three first round picks.

Lets see who really wants him.

i reckon Richmond are the only club that could do this deal. 

Posted
5 minutes ago, OhMyDees said:

If Trac retires next year - what is a fair compo from the AFL 1 or 2 first rounders?

Not sure that is even an option.

Posted

Carlton's salary cap would be tight as a drum. Any trade there would have to involve multiple players being moved out.

The Pies have no picks and would also have a tight salary cap.

We are going to ask for the world and fair enough too.

I still think he will most likely be a Demon in six weeks and we should plan accordingly.

Posted
6 minutes ago, OhMyDees said:

If Trac retires next year - what is a fair compo from the AFL 1 or 2 first rounders?

Same as what we got for Gus