Posted
4 minutes ago, layzie said:

Has to be more to it because that alone would be an incredibly feeble excuse to leave I must say.

Carlton tried to get Papley and the Swans denied his request. I hope we stand firm and say honour your contract.

Posted
6 minutes ago, dazzledavey36 said:

Very telling...

If true, like you I don’t put much weight to anything McClure says.

I still hold the view Trac is a natural competitor and if we don’t get what is considered adequate remuneration he stays and will just have to deal with it and his competitive instincts will kick in.

He has a contract hold him to it unless we are looked after 

Posted
13 minutes ago, WalkingCivilWar said:

Egg on their faces??? They’re saying that as it stands he’s not leaving, and this is the truth, AS IT STANDS. Look up the meaning of this if you don’t understand.

Also… “creditably [sic] of the club will be in question and our history of poorly managing of a once in a generational [sic] player which the club has built itself around.” WTF does this even mean??? Our history of poorly managing him???? What history????

Again, also… Tracc is the architect of his own fortunes. I’m sorry but you’ll have to find another reason to stick the boots into ‘Goodwin, Richo & Pert.’ But I’m sure you’ll find something, albeit yet another uninformed opinion.

When did they say "as it stands"? I have listened to interviews with all three, and "as it stands" has never once been uttered. Someone raised it on here to try and give them an out, and others have bitten. I admire your support of the club, but what's the point of ignoring anything that makes the club admin look silly. 

Posted

This is a massive indictment on the club if they end up losing trac. You secured the guy for life and then blow it all up with shear incompetence. Heads needs to roll 

Posted
12 minutes ago, DubDee said:

Mackay is only 26yo and would be a massive get and would ease the pain of losing Trac.

JVR could stay 100% fwd.  Petty can go back

Mackay as a 200cm player will also ease the inevitable decline of Gawn being our marking target around the ground

Either him or Max King, and a first round pick. Their fans are all pretty annoyed at the idea of losing a draft pick as well for a 29 year old !

Posted
3 minutes ago, Pennant St Dee said:

If true, like you I don’t put much weight to anything McClure says.

I still hold the view Trac is a natural competitor and if we don’t get what is considered adequate remuneration he stays and will just have to deal with it and his competitive instincts will kick in.

He has a contract hold him to it unless we are looked after 

Once it is published in a newspaper of record, rather than an opinion show, it holds more weight. The Age doesn't publish articles that are pure speculation without labelling them as opinion.

Posted

HS in on this, working through the Carlton side of things. 

Conservatively, the Blues are much more likely to keep their man.

But in the wake of this season the Blues need to consider whether the balance of the forward set-up remains suited to modern day footy, how it can lighten the load on inspirational captain Cripps, and improve its defensive flaws which hindered it in 2024. 

When De Koning is back, and Jack Silvagni returns from his ACL, and Moir pushes up, plus Marc Pittonet in the ruck, Carlton have more marking options forward than they need to partner dual Coleman Medalist Curnow.

McKay signed a bumper seven-year deal last season to stay with Carlton until the end of 2030. Petracca’s deal is similar, and Melbourne said they don’t want to lose him.

But there are still grumbles.

If there is a deal which could potentially work for both clubs, this is it.

It is bold, but is that what the Blues have to be after blowing its chance to seal a top-eight spot on Sunday?

https://archive.md/YLZfy (https://archive.md/YLZfy)

Posted
13 minutes ago, WalkingCivilWar said:

Egg on their faces??? They’re saying that as it stands he’s not leaving, and this is the truth, AS IT STANDS. Look up the meaning of this if you don’t understand.

Also… “creditably [sic] of the club will be in question and our history of poorly managing of a once in a generational [sic] player which the club has built itself around.” WTF does this even mean??? Our history of poorly managing him???? What history????

Again, also… Tracc is the architect of his own fortunes. I’m sorry but you’ll have to find another reason to stick the boots into ‘Goodwin, Richo & Pert.’ But I’m sure you’ll find something, albeit yet another uninformed opinion.

As it stands is more about the 5 years. Goody also said last week, and I quote, “I can guarantee you, Christian Petracca and Clayton Oliver will be in the red & blue next year”.

I would absolutely expect the club told Christian today he will not be traded despite his request.

Posted
2 minutes ago, Pirlo said:

When did they say "as it stands"? I have listened to interviews with all three, and "as it stands" has never once been uttered. Someone raised it on here to try and give them an out, and others have bitten. I admire your support of the club, but what's the point of ignoring anything that makes the club admin look silly. 

Goody's post-match interview. At one point, he definitely says as it stands

Posted
2 minutes ago, layzie said:

Has to be more to it because that alone would be an incredibly feeble excuse to leave I must say.

I don’t think there is, because it’s glaringly obvious at this point that everything is in the paper 2-48 hours after it’s communicated behind closed doors.

I suggest this latest article, with 3 sources from the club, is about the club creating a sense of their truth in the public domain. I think they’ve had enough of trying to defend someone’s position that’s not defending their interests, and are now just seeing if they can come out of this with a gun player traded in. McKay’s name didn’t come from nowhere. Someone’s throwing the cat among the pigeons to see if something beneficial can come from all this. If nothing eventuates it’s not going to upset Petracca. He’s already made his feelings very well known.

Posted
4 minutes ago, Oxdee said:

This is a massive indictment on the club if they end up losing trac. You secured the guy for life and then blow it all up with shear incompetence. Heads needs to roll 

Did you ever stop to think that maybe, just maybe, ONE player wanting out while everyone else has committed, is maybe on said player and not on the entire club?  

• Like 15
Posted

Watch the body language and mood change in Goody during his post match presser when talking about Trac and Clarry. 

There is clearly beef and it looks like it’s in both sides. 

TDK, 11 and 2025 F1 for Trac & ANB compo (26ish) 

Dont want McKay, TDK would complement our list perfectly. 

Posted
7 minutes ago, Oxdee said:

what a ridiculous statement. We signed up our star to a long term deal

If we didn’t he walks for not much as a Free Agent. You can’t control a players mind. 

Posted
2 minutes ago, Jaded No More said:

Did you ever stop to think that maybe, just maybe, ONE player wanting out while everyone else has committed, is maybe on said player and not on the entire club?  

What else is the club supposed to do?

They have publicly addressed they will get better and support Petracca with his return to competitive footy.

To me it sounds like he's just using this situation as an excuse. There must be other things behind closed doors that we are not privy to.

He used to be BFF with Clayton, but what transpired last year and last off season? Could that be a factor in all of this?

Posted
6 minutes ago, The heart beats true said:

I don’t think there is, because it’s glaringly obvious at this point that everything is in the paper 2-48 hours after it’s communicated behind closed doors.

I suggest this latest article, with 3 sources from the club, is about the club creating a sense of their truth in the public domain. I think they’ve had enough of trying to defend someone’s position that’s not defending their interests, and are now just seeing if they can come out of this with a gun player traded in. McKay’s name didn’t come from nowhere. Someone’s throwing the cat among the pigeons to see if something beneficial can come from all this. If nothing eventuates it’s not going to upset Petracca. He’s already made his feelings very well known.

So you reckon MFC are done with Trac and are now focused on getting the best deal THBT?

Posted
2 minutes ago, adonski said:

Trac's advisor:

LISTEN | Darce Quizzes Ben Simmons On Whether He's Actually Mates With Christian  Petracca | Triple M

Mr Wasted Talent.

I will always remember when he had clear path to the rim and deferred to a team mate. Playoff game none the less.

Posted

If Trac goes

Its officially rebuild / reload mode

Smash the draft before Tassie comes in

Posted

If only Petracca had the character of Mr Bontempelli ... I don't know why but I feel Bont is similar to Max, in regards to personality and leadership.

• Like 19

Posted
Just now, demoncat said:

Jack Martin YOU are a demon 

Carlton would need to throw in half a dozen first round picks to sweeten that deal

Posted
1 minute ago, DubDee said:

If Trac goes

Its officially rebuild / reload mode

Smash the draft before Tassie comes in

Not quite, we still have JV and Oliver.

Dream scenario we get McKay and another first rounders (at least).

Posted
1 hour ago, Jaded No More said:

I don’t think this is only because of the injury. I think he’s been unhappy since last pre season and the injury is giving him an out that won’t damage his personal brand if he asks to leave. 

By “punishing” the club as you say, he’s trying to make the narrative about Melbourne being the problem. He knows we are an easy target, because of other issues we’ve had, and he has to keep his own brand clean in order to not do any damage to his incredibly lucrative social media presence.

If us as supporters are feeling peeved about it, just imagine what the feeling is inside the club from guys like Gawn and Viney.

That is truly next level if true. Irrespective of that he has lost control of the narrative and people will judge him negatively if he does request to leave. 

Posted (edited)

McKay plays a role similar to what JVR is being groomed for. If McKay comes where does that leave JVR’s future. I’d want TDK.

Edited by John Crow Batty