1 minute ago, The Taciturn Demon said:

I thought his ruckwork on the weekend was very good - up to a point. I completely understand that it needed to change, and became way more conservative, in the final quarter. And that urgently needed to change when they got within five goals. This has been well argued elsewhere on the forum. But I'm not sold on him being an overrated tap ruckman.

It may be true. Or he may be nothing more than slightly above average in this regard. But- my inkling has long been that he's a smart footballer whose larrikanism can be mistaken for dim-ness. Yes, his decision making with kicking and handballing can be really poor. I don't know if it extends to his ruckwork though.

One of the most frustrating things about football for me in the last five or eight years has been this line, repeated so often, it's become a truism: "Max is so dominant that the opposition just rove to him." That may be true, but it's not inevitable and eternal. Surely, after coming to this conclusion, the job of everyone responsible for stoppage strategy at the Demons is to at the very least mitigate it. One of the many, many reasons I think it's time to find a new coach is that this mitigation has failed to happen to any great degree.

I could be wrong, but my hypothesis is that Max is a well above average tap ruckman whose dominance has been poorly handled by everyone involved in the midfield system.

I think he used to be an outstanding tap ruckman, however not for a while (few years), compare what he was doing in 2018 v 2025. Perhaps it's to do with him changing the way he plays (ie; he doesnt jump anymore). At the end of the day mate, bit off topic for both of us as its the Goodwin thread and not about players. He will still go down as a great regardless of any of our opinions at the end of the day.

38 minutes ago, Hopeful Demon said:

He's made a litany of bad decisions since the flag. Last Sunday alone he used Spargo as the sub, played Petty up forward and put our two most dangerous forwards in Melksham and Pickett on the bench in the last quarter.

And who could forget that Schache debacle in the 2023 SF against Carlton. That was one of the most bizarre and bewildering coaching decisions I've ever seen.

Yes, our players should take a large portion of the blame but so should the coach. Those two things aren't as mutually exclusive as you think they are.

And some people would have you believe that the coach is no problem and it solely falls on the players.

Just now, Bowserpower said:

And some people would have you believe that the coach is no problem and it solely falls on the players.

Yep some of the mental gymnastics that people are doing on here are insane

7 minutes ago, SFebes said:

I think he used to be an outstanding tap ruckman, however not for a while (few years), compare what he was doing in 2018 v 2025. Perhaps it's to do with him changing the way he plays (ie; he doesnt jump anymore). At the end of the day mate, bit off topic for both of us as its the Goodwin thread and not about players. He will still go down as a great regardless of any of our opinions at the end of the day.

His tap work around 2018 was on another level. Forward taps, side, over his head the variation he had was really spectacular.

Not a terrible thing and coaching may have played a part but I'd use that era has the example of his best 'tap work'.

Just now, Macca said:

And much might depend on who the coach is. New coach might want to retain certain players where as Goodwin may think differently

You'd reckon if we did change the coaching it would be before the trade period

Well.... here in lies a very real concern for me.

If something was to happen ? When ?

I then fall back to who would/could instigate such change. I'm of a mind that Green wouldn't off his own bat. Also Guerra wouldn't, Smith might but I doubt it.. but could ALL liaising/ discussing among themselves find a position from which to weird axes etc. And if so...again when.

Logic, a precious and rare commodity at Melbourne, would dictate as early an agreement as possible to allow not just the handover of roles/duties but the ability to even find that suitable replacement(s) . You would definitely want the 'new hands' at the wheel going into trade. I just fear we'd stuff that up too.

A lot of people , not just at our club, are going to have at least one eye peeled towards the club and what if anything it decides to do.

I'd be very , very surprised if Simon is shown the door at end of season ( or before ) . It would be very Melbourne- like to suggest any extension might be subject to team performance in 26. That may or may not help/hinder some as to their decisions. ( both at Melb and possible trades coming in )

I think the club is majority hamstrung currently and this doesn't help anything that we need to do.

All of our own doing...again, as is our way.

7 minutes ago, beelzebub said:

Well.... here in lies a very real concern for me.

If something was to happen ? When ?

I then fall back to who would/could instigate such change. I'm of a mind that Green wouldn't off his own bat. Also Guerra wouldn't, Smith might but I doubt it.. but could ALL liaising/ discussing among themselves find a position from which to weird axes etc. And if so...again when.

Logic, a precious and rare commodity at Melbourne, would dictate as early an agreement as possible to allow not just the handover of roles/duties but the ability to even find that suitable replacement(s) . You would definitely want the 'new hands' at the wheel going into trade. I just fear we'd stuff that up too.

A lot of people , not just at our club, are going to have at least one eye peeled towards the club and what if anything it decides to do.

I'd be very , very surprised if Simon is shown the door at end of season ( or before ) . It would be very Melbourne- like to suggest any extension might be subject to team performance in 26. That may or may not help/hinder some as to their decisions. ( both at Melb and possible trades coming in )

I think the club is majority hamstrung currently and this doesn't help anything that we need to do.

All of our own doing...again, as is our way.

Smith & Guerra would have to be involved with the coaching decision you'd imagine

And that could be in late September

The trade period starts Oct 6th

20 minutes ago, SadDee said:

Here’s a thought, let’s make coaches part of the draft 😂

"Pick one, Melbourne"

Jason Taylor: "Coach number 4933721, John Longmire, Fox Footy, Sydney Football Club"

"Pick Two, Carlton"

13 minutes ago, Macca said:

Smith & Guerra would have to be involved with the coaching decision you'd imagine

And that could be in late September

The trade period starts Oct 6th

Yes they would... but... but ... could they be sounded out, talked with even now. It's a very exceptional thing... sacking a coach... buy it alone I would think might warrant a meeting of minds ... off campus as it were ... to break bread and pow wow ??

If I were Green i would seek their counsel and imput/views.

But it might be just 'easier' to do nothing ( nothing maverick that is ) and just let the problems flow downstream. All care, no responsibility etc.

23 hours ago, Macca said:

Let's not forget that Goodwin was relegated to the bench a few years ago and with it, a number of responsibilities were taken away from him

@Bowserpower

These were my original words

And it is an opinion

Do not tell lies about me again. Or twist my words

And another apology needed

14 hours ago, Demon Dynasty said:

The outcomes we are seeing are largely a result of what is spitting out the other end of the coach's sausage machine.

Ultimately it's his recipe and cooking.

The players are the ingredients.

200.gif

1 hour ago, Bowserpower said:

Who has taken that view on this thread?

As usual, you keep making stuff up to suit your own blinkered view

6 minutes ago, jumbo returns said:

The coach ain't the problem

And to blame the young 'uns is bullsh*t

Check out the 'leaders' on the field and their lazy antics

Why does the coach keep playing them then?

We brought players in that suited the game style at that time, cant complain got us a flag. Issue is the game has evolved back to a highly skilful game and the boys that delivered us the flag dont have the foot skills to make us a threat.

We arent geelong that just keep evolving and attracting players that allow them to evolve, we are like recent flag winners Richmond and west coast.

Richmond has accepted the pain, traded players that are good but really wont help them to win a flag, loaded up with top end picks to evolve. Do we have the guts to do the same, we will not go forward with our current senior players.

You play how you train, and judging by the reports we've gotten over the course of this year it seems like training has been a bit of a joke.

7 minutes ago, jumbo returns said:

The coach ain't the problem

And to blame the young 'uns is bullsh*t

Check out the 'leaders' on the field and their lazy antics

Sorry Jumbo but I can't in any scenario posit Goodwin in a manner whereby he's immaterial to the methods, performances and outcomes of the players.

It may not be an intended effect but they play one way or another as a result of he being the coach.

Just now, drdrake said:

We brought players in that suited the game style at that time, cant complain got us a flag. Issue is the game has evolved back to a highly skilful game and the boys that delivered us the flag dont have the foot skills to make us a threat.

We arent geelong that just keep evolving and attracting players that allow them to evolve, we are like recent flag winners Richmond and west coast.

Richmond has accepted the pain, traded players that are good but really wont help them to win a flag, loaded up with top end picks to evolve. Do we have the guts to do the same, we will not go forward with our current senior players.

Closer to West Coast than Richmond. Richmond got everything out of their list then quickly moved on once the era was officially over.

West Coast dragged their feet and tried to recapture lightning in a bottle. Got hurt badly by injuries but dug themselves into a massive hole with bad list management and now look miles off being competitive again. We're not far off ending up in the same position and we don't have the resources West Coast have to endure a rebuild like that.

The recruitment of the young guys has been a small and mostly accidental blessing. Need to build around them now.

I think we’ll give Goody the vote of confidence

6 months of media scrutiny will follow

Then We’ll sack Goody in march, one week before round 1

3 minutes ago, DubDee said:

“Hey Siri, what is the most Melbourne FC thing to do with a head coach that is not performing?”

Just now, SPC said:

“Hey Siri, what is the most Melbourne FC thing to do with a head coach that is not performing?”

🤔 It bloody would be too.... in spades !!! 🤣🤣🤣

24 minutes ago, KozzyCan said:

The recruitment of the young guys has been a small and mostly accidental blessing. Need to build around them now.

Not accidental, a deliberate ploy

7 minutes ago, DubDee said:

Just a nice, lowkey, focused summer of pre-season 😂

10 minutes ago, DubDee said:

5 minutes ago, SPC said:

4 minutes ago, beelzebub said:

🤔 It bloody would be too.... in spades !!! 🤣🤣🤣

"Hey Siri, Whats the most Melbourne thing Melbourne could do to screw themselves over?" (see above!)

6 minutes ago, SPC said:

Imagine the players we’ll attract to the club this year, haha

‘Well the coach could be gone 3 games into the season and our training ground is 2000 miles away but we do have the best club colours’