Bad kicking is bad football. So yes, the goal kicking played a major part of the loss.

But we weren’t ‘on’ from the get go. It looked bad early on.

Why were we not prepared and ready to go? If the players were ready for the style of game how come they didn’t respond?

If it’s on the players as some suggest, then why did the Board and Footy Dept state finals were a pass mark for this group?

None of this makes sense to me.

Goodwin mentioned in the press conference that they put a lot of time into Wanganeen-Milera. He and Wilkie will be vying for the ten coaches' votes and three Brownlow votes.

Yes, the kicking was appalling. But we attempted to blunt two of their best players and completely failed.

13 hours ago, picket fence said:

Well guess what.... I can fix it and with my Phys Ed Teacher and Grad Dip in sports science I can fix it DEFINATELY!

Had it been 'English' you could definitely fix it.

I get your gist however.

We probably couldn't have [censored] that game up more if we tried. Ironically I think we probably were.

I'm not going to actually blame Goodwin.

Have a broader brush in hand. That's on the whole bloody F.D. every single one of them has to take 'credit' for a debacle like that. And that included the numnut(s) who continually want us playing in the middle of nowhere.

Everyone, take a bow. The commensurate 🐓 up

Edited by beelzebub

13 minutes ago, The Taciturn Demon said:

Goodwin mentioned in the press conference that they put a lot of time into Wanganeen-Milera. He and Wilkie will be vying for the ten coaches' votes and three Brownlow votes.

Yes, the kicking was appalling. But we attempted to blunt two of their best players and completely failed.

Scoreboard pressure would have changed the dynamic, but it was never applied

Goodwin had two very good weeks against Brisbane and Sydney, but he had an absolute shocker yesterday.

I hope we didn't just assume it was going to happen for it yesterday and failed to lay the necessary groundwork. My concerns:

• Our worst defenders (Windsor & Lever) were regularly dragged to the goal square and asked to compete one out. Both are totally inept in this role and should have been switched out.

• We didn't show any respect to St Kilda's lesser forwards (Keeler, in particular). Every defender needs to be accountable for an opponent. Salem and Lever are two of our worst in this respect.

• If Langdon was tasked with the job on Wanganeen-Milera, he failed dismally. Someone needed to apply some physical pressure against him, and that's not Ed's strength. What exactly is Sparrow's role?

• Keeping the ball away from Wilkie, or at least providing a contest against him, was a non negotiable. If Melksham wasn't up to the task, someone else should have been given the role.

• Once again we play a sub who has no X factor. A player coming into the game with fresh legs needs to be able to run and carry, or at least give us a different look. Laurie offers none of this.

• We did nothing to help Pickett through his tag. At the very least he should have been given stints in an open forward line. No wonder he gets frustrated.

• We can't keep playing a forward line that is so slow. Johnson, Petty and Melksham are all plodders of the highest order. You can perhaps play two, but not all three.

Plenty has been said about the goal kicking. Clearly it is an ongoing issue that nobody at the club can fix. Do they not care, or do we not have the right people in the roles? Either way, I thought St Kilda outplayed us for most of the game and fully deserved to win.

Lots of posts telling us what's wrong - very few solutions. That's because it is such a CF.

17 hours ago, Billy said:

Nothing to do with the goal kicking?

Seriously??

blame the coach when if they kicked straight would’ve won by 6 goals

Goal kicking has been an issue for ages. It's clearly not something we have prioritised.

On 27/05/2025 at 20:12, binman said:

Two weeks ia a long time in football.

More like two hours.

15 hours ago, Sir Why You Little said:

READ THIS SIMON

YOUR GAME PLAN SUCKS

14 hours ago, Dr. Gonzo said:

Which part of the gameplan sucked today?

14 hours ago, Sir Why You Little said:

I was agreeing with 13thFlags assessment

You haven’t answered the question, SWYL.

4 minutes ago, Ghostwriter said:

You haven’t answered the question, SWYL.

I was agreeing with 13Flag’s assessment as i said before

Why would you care what i think? I was put on ignore…

17 hours ago, picket fence said:

Yeah well self taught keyboard skills, shizzen application and one finger cap locks et al, but you know over a 40 plus year career.. never a complaint and many students who have made their mark on society even with my at times substandard skills in this regard!

Mr Fence - I know we sometimes disagree but from what seems your long experience, can you offer a solution to our ingrained inability to kick goals that are gettable. Is it personnel and their lack of skill? Or is it system related?

Genuinely interested in your thoughts and suggestions.

Thanks 👁️

17 hours ago, picket fence said:

He is not kicking through the ball, but rather trying to guide every shot!

Suppose that’s Goodwins fault also

On 28/05/2025 at 22:36, picket fence said:

I NEVER give a fat rats clacker, regarding popular opinion and the dislikes???? Pft even less, mate wise up.This is an open forum and EVERYONE is entitled to an opinion! Even me!

no one said you cant have an opinion...... just said no one agrees with you lol

Just now, Billy said:

Suppose that’s Goodwins fault also

The role of a coach, correct me if I am wrong is to teach players a brand of footy that wins games and also to enhance their skill set. The fact that we have been so very poor over a number of years at goal kicking is testimony that whatever the club has done is not working. What it comes down to is using biomechanical breakdowns, analysing ball drop, leg and foot alignments and providing remediation to eliminate flaws in the way the ball is kicked. If a player who is considered an excellent field kick but then can't drill a goal, the problem then could be mental. Years ago in my Phys Ed teaching days I devised a set shot routine drill which enabled remediation to players who were missing elementary goals. I won't go into it here but I was used by several A grade Amateur clubs who went on to win premierships. I might add the success rates of these techniques were high. It helped that I personally was a magnificent kick for goal, I made a sunkick final ( Remember those ) but lost out to a guy that went on to play many VFL /AFL Games and was a noted "Prodigious" Kick. So in answering your question um yeah if I could teach it then and succeed why can't professionally well paid coaches do it???

24 minutes ago, monoccular said:

Mr Fence - I know we sometimes disagree but from what seems your long experience, can you offer a solution to our ingrained inability to kick goals that are gettable. Is it personnel and their lack of skill? Or is it system related?

Genuinely interested in your thoughts and suggestions.

Thanks 👁️

Taken from later post but same thing applies so this is my take on this.

The role of a coach, correct me if I am wrong is to teach players a brand of footy that wins games and also to enhance their skill set. The fact that we have been so very poor over a number of years at goal kicking is testimony that whatever the club has done is not working. What it comes down to is using biomechanical breakdowns, analysing ball drop, leg and foot alignments and providing remediation to eliminate flaws in the way the ball is kicked. If a player who is considered an excellent field kick but then can't drill a goal, the problem then could be mental. Years ago in my Phys Ed teaching days I devised a set shot routine drill which enabled remediation to players who were missing elementary goals. I won't go into it here but I was used by several A grade Amateur clubs who went on to win premierships. I might add the success rates of these techniques were high. It helped that I personally was a magnificent kick for goal, I made a sunkick final ( Remember those ) but lost out to a guy that went on to play many VFL /AFL Games and was a noted "Prodigious" Kick. So in answering your question um yeah if I could teach it then and succeed why can't professionally well paid coaches do it???

3 hours ago, Queanbeyan Demon said:

Lots of posts telling us what's wrong - very few solutions. That's because it is such a CF.

I'd argue lots of posts saying the game plan doesn't work without being specific. The only thing most critics can point to is bad goalkicking. 🤦

1 minute ago, picket fence said:

Taken from later post but same thing applies so this is my take on this.

All the stuff you say is correct. Problem is the biomechanics of kicking is established at a very young in an athlete. By the time you are drafted, the chances of you changing fundamentals in kicking action is basically non-existent. You maybe able to tweak goal kicking with some band-aids but field kicking will rely on neural pathways established in the players youth which will be difficult to break as a young adult. This (goal kicking) is where i hold out some hope for AJ because its the one area of his game that is genuinely fixable. The club should fork out some personalized coaching for him to work on his craft. The other facets of his game are serviceable.

The other thing is the psychology of it. ONce we started getting in the game and the behinds started mounted up, i can imagine it played havoc on the players minds. That is why when teams have accurate first quarters, they generally have an accurate game. Kozzy missing that sitter, which would have put us 2.0 instead of 1.1 is where it all started to go pear shaped.

Edited by GS_1905

Professional players should be able to consistently kick straight. If they continually botch it then I reckon that’s on them.

Also, Chocco is the skills coach. I think he should be the one under the spotlight not goody.

I reckon we have the same mental block as the English soccer team have with penalty shootouts. You can practice all day but nothing replicates the pressure of executing when the pressure is on.

21 minutes ago, Adam The God said:

I'd argue lots of posts saying the game plan doesn't work without being specific. The only thing most critics can point to is bad goalkicking. 🤦

I'd argue the problem(s) stem from the premise of the method by which we attempt to score. It resembles a football version of Force Majeure. I.e as if by overwhelming pressure within the forward arc the ball will somehow be put between the posts by result of pressuring their defence. I've often thought there can be no more an inversion to logic than to play this way.

This "style" ( and I begrudgingly use that word here ) exhibits no real patterns or skills, just pressure.

Oh well

43 minutes ago, Tracca said:

no one said you cant have an opinion...... just said no one agrees with you lol

I have occasionally agreed

58 minutes ago, Sir Why You Little said:

I was agreeing with 13Flag’s assessment as i said before

Why would you care what i think? I was put on ignore…

Unfortunately, despite having you on ignore I can’t avoid seeing your comments when someone quotes you. Believe me, if there was a way to never see anything you’ve posted I’d be all across it.

Anyways, you said Goody’s game plan sucks. You were asked which part of the game plan sucked yesterday. You have yet to answer the question.

9 minutes ago, beelzebub said:

I'd argue the problem(s) stem from the premise of the method by which we attempt to score. It resembles a football version of Force Majeure. I.e as if by overwhelming pressure within the forward arc the ball will somehow be put between the posts by result of pressuring their defence. I've often thought there can be no more an inversion to logic than to play this way.

This "style" ( and I begrudgingly use that word here ) exhibits no real patterns or skills, just pressure.

Our current actual score v expected score of -7.1 per week is the worst in the league since 2020 (at least)

Its not common to have anything more or less than a goal a game difference over the long run and honestly its more mean reverting than anything else. Sydney, gws and carlton were all over a goal above expected score last year and are currently in the 'where are they now' category. Some years you're the bug, some years you're the windshield. Having said that, Adelaide have consistently been top 6 iin recent years with some guns up forward.

It would surprise a few people that our scores v our expected score actually has been positive for the past 3 years. The problem of course is the days and nights when it really counted.

Edited by Jjrogan

27 minutes ago, Ghostwriter said:

Unfortunately, despite having you on ignore I can’t avoid seeing your comments when someone quotes you. Believe me, if there was a way to never see anything you’ve posted I’d be all across it.

Anyways, you said Goody’s game plan sucks. You were asked which part of the game plan sucked yesterday. You have yet to answer the question.

Do not answer me again. I have nothing to say to you

When i tell you things, you just cover your ears

Goodbye….

1 hour ago, Adam The God said:

The game plan works fine. Yesterday was one of those days. We allowed them easy transition goals, something we simply can’t to happen this week. Yesterday I would have put Koz one out in the square, Windhager wasn’t just blanketing him he was racking up possessions that were hurting us. Wanganeen Milera needed a hard tag and we needed to kick 5 more goals. We were actually close to winning despite playing poorly. It’s compounded by our poor start and the tough draw over the next few weeks. Next week is all about bringing the heat. Oliver to Pendles, Sparrow to JDaicos and perhaps Viney to NDaicos??? Someone also has to make Sidebottom accountable. It’s going to be a stressful watch.