Just now, ElDiablo14 said:

Don't try to fix Viney, just use him purely as a HF. No more midfield for you mate.

That could work and we should have tried that option with Viney by now

Petracca often used to hit targets by foot but he rushes most of his kicks these days

We're paying elite money for B grade return (for all 3)

At this rate there's very little chance that Goodwin will coach beyond his contract so he may as well go down swinging

And to a certain extent he has ... dropped JVR & Fritsch, thrown Petracca forward, benched Oliver and played the newcomers

But players get dropped for poor disposal and that should apply to any player

15 minutes ago, KozzyCan said:

The midfield looked far better when Viney was out of the side. Also reckon we looked a lot more balanced in that game against Gold Coast last year when both Oliver and Petracca weren't playing.

Basically we can't play all three in the midfield, and we are wasting guys like Windsor and Langford by prioritising the old guard.

I think Goodwin should really drop one of Viney or Oliver but highly doubt he does.

This is an easy one.

For those played 9 games. JV is the competitions worst midfielder for disposals per turnover (3.8), and 2nd worst for disposals per clanger (behind the Chosen One). He's been top 20 for this category for 3 years.

Head scratcher when he comes back into the side and he starts in the centre square.

Fwiw the best in this category are Pendles, Steele, Atkins.

Edited by Jjrogan

On 17/06/2025 at 03:35, bing181 said:

OK. Now, across the same time period:

a) list all of the examples where changes of coach didn't bring about substantial or lasting improvement. You're cherry picking.

b) add in the changes in personnel/players and/or list development for those clubs/coaches for the years in question. You're ignoring other factors than just the change in coach.

If changing coaches was the panacea, how come with the Dees from the end of Daniher (2007) until the arrival of Goodwin (2017) when we had 3 coaches and 3 interim coaches, we never managed to finish higher than 11th - though most of those years we were lower than that?

Add to this that Collingwood didnt even make finals after their 2023 flag but get a free pass in the media. They have started well this year but so did we in 2022 and in 2023 we had our forward line functioning well heading into finals but lost Melksham and Petty to injury and Fritch was recovering from a serious foot injury, not to mention what happened to Brayshaw. If Collingwood go out in straight sets this year will the media call for their coach to be sacked?

I reckon Goody is doing well coaching a club that lost its President and CEO last year and these key roles are yet to be filled while healing a playing group and rejuvinating our list after what has been a challengjng few years.

I know I said I'd take a break from DLand and I'm trying.

But I must say our club as best as I can sum it up is...

BROKEN.

1......To have three years of diabialical goal scoring issues.

2.... Players complaining in public about the club.

3....Recruiting players like Billings, Fullarton , McAdam who have been on the list for a while now but haven't offered us much. Schache a prime example. We kept him for years but rarely played him. Probably for good reason. But why did we keep him around.

1. ..Goodys insistence on playing Petty fwd when last year with twenty games, kicked a goal every fortnight.

5...Playing games in Nt where we lose and are not crowd favorites.

6...Dropping players when they are in good form for players not in form. Tmac for eg. ( It reminds me of Adam To..)

1. Goody is very slow to make changes during a game.

2. .Our meekness to not just once come out and call the umps out for the disgraceful pies game.

3. ..Our fwd line delivery especially given our failure to recruit enough big body old fashioned style full fwds that can take a pack mark to suit this.

4. I'll say it again because the club doesn't seem to notice....our poor kicking at goal for three years in row....... currently the worst in the entire competition

Now not all of these of course fall upon poor Goody. But some of them simply must. So it is I believe, all finished for Simon at our club.

He's done a great job in breaking the horrible voodoo and win us a flag but now he's gone past his use by date.

Has he been a great coach? I think he has. Some may argue we should have got more than one flag with this list. But I would argue that losing Gus and Melksham cost us. Not Simon.

But that's all by and by. Moving forward we need to start again.

This year is a bust.

Let's introduce a new coach and cut several players.

Kings or Queens bday is s time for rose pruning.

So too with the club. Sure we played well and were clearly robbed but it was our goal kicking again that helped lose it. And some stubborn coaching.

So while we are good enough to beat the number one team in front of a huge crowd and get beaten by power , saints and North.... something is definitely not right.

Simon is getting heaps out of them one week followed by zip the next.

Surely this is reason enough to start pruning again.

Starting with the coach. Definitely.

10 minutes ago, Previously known as LITD. said:

I know I said I'd take a break from DLand and I'm trying.

But I must say our club as best as I can sum it up is...

BROKEN.

1......To have three years of diabialical goal scoring issues.

2.... Players complaining in public about the club.

3....Recruiting players like Billings, Fullarton , McAdam who have been on the list for a while now but haven't offered us much. Schache a prime example. We kept him for years but rarely played him. Probably for good reason. But why did we keep him around.

1. ..Goodys insistence on playing Petty fwd when last year with twenty games, kicked a goal every fortnight.

5...Playing games in Nt where we lose and are not crowd favorites.

6...Dropping players when they are in good form for players not in form. Tmac for eg. ( It reminds me of Adam To..)

1. Goody is very slow to make changes during a game.

2. .Our meekness to not just once come out and call the umps out for the disgraceful pies game.

3. ..Our fwd line delivery especially given our failure to recruit enough big body old fashioned style full fwds that can take a pack mark to suit this.

4. I'll say it again because the club doesn't seem to notice....our poor kicking at goal for three years in row....... currently the worst in the entire competition

Now not all of these of course fall upon poor Goody. But some of them simply must. So it is I believe, all finished for Simon at our club.

He's done a great job in breaking the horrible voodoo and win us a flag but now he's gone past his use by date.

Has he been a great coach? I think he has. Some may argue we should have got more than one flag with this list. But I would argue that losing Gus and Melksham cost us. Not Simon.

But that's all by and by. Moving forward we need to start again.

This year is a bust.

Let's introduce a new coach and cut several players.

Kings or Queens bday is s time for rose pruning.

So too with the club. Sure we played well and were clearly robbed but it was our goal kicking again that helped lose it. And some stubborn coaching.

So while we are good enough to beat the number one team in front of a huge crowd and get beaten by power , saints and North.... something is definitely not right.

Simon is getting heaps out of them one week followed by zip the next.

Surely this is reason enough to start pruning again.

Starting with the coach. Definitely.

I feel your pain. All good points

And when thousands of paid up supporters feel the same and start dropping off their membership renewals we will sink further into irrelevance.

The AFL has butchered our competition and this just adds to it.

8 minutes ago, jnrmac said:

I feel your pain. All good points

And when thousands of paid up supporters feel the same and start dropping off their membership renewals we will sink further into irrelevance.

The AFL has butchered our competition and this just adds to it.

It's not so much the losing that hurts.

While true, I did get used to that great winning feeling it's difficult to experience failure again.

But it's the fact that technically we have shown how good we are but just don't bring it every single game. Far from it with five losses in a row this year.

We are much better than where we are on the ladder so it sucks.

And yea the AFL has done some great things but also some shocking.

I think if the Tassie team gets up and about, it will be even harder to win a flag so it makes our near misses in two years of straight sets harder to cop.

I still wonder why Goody had a four gamer in a finals game in Laurie as the sub when he had to play the whole game. He was no replacement for poor Gus. I think that call maybe cost us.

Edited by Previously known as LITD.

It's often quipped but seldom as deserved as at Melbourne

"We're our own worst enemy"

2 hours ago, KozzyCan said:

The midfield looked far better when Viney was out of the side. Also reckon we looked a lot more balanced in that game against Gold Coast last year when both Oliver and Petracca weren't playing.

Basically we can't play all three in the midfield, and we are wasting guys like Windsor and Langford by prioritising the old guard.

I think Goodwin should really drop one of Viney or Oliver but highly doubt he does.

Interesting - Viney was BOG in that game. Nibbler, Langdon and Howes were exceptional. Kolt also played well. Turner kicked 4, Petty and Van Rooyen 3 each and Viney and Melksham 2 each. Kozzy only had 4 disposals.

Tomlinson played (with TMac and Lever - no May), which allowed the three talls to be forward. We should show replays of that second half for the next two weeks....

Oh, and we kicked 18.9 in extremely windy conditions.

The players say they want to play for Goodwin, but actions suggest otherwise. The effort might be there, but that is about it. Wasteful football in 2/3's of the ground. Oliver and Petracca looked to have checked out.

16 hours ago, dazzledavey36 said:

Interesting comments from Nicks

Simon is obviously highly regarded within his peers as i heard the same type of comments from Adam Simpson. Coaching is a very tough gig.

Goodwin maybe doing everything he can right now, but for some reason it’s just not working.

If the Players love him so much, they sure ain’t showing during most games.

To beat Brisbane away and then Sydney, but to serve up the tripe we have seen for the rest of this season is just shocking

The effort and commitment to a full season is not there

Losing Darren Burgess was a huge and costly loss

Edited by Sir Why You Little

38 minutes ago, Harvey Wallbanger said:

Interesting - Viney was BOG in that game. Nibbler, Langdon and Howes were exceptional. Kolt also played well. Turner kicked 4, Petty and Van Rooyen 3 each and Viney and Melksham 2 each. Kozzy only had 4 disposals.

Tomlinson played (with TMac and Lever - no May), which allowed the three talls to be forward. We should show replays of that second half for the next two weeks....

Oh, and we kicked 18.9 in extremely windy conditions.

Pressure was off in that game. We couldn’t make the finals

There’s part of the problem

Given where we now sit in the season, I think Goody’s best chance at holding his position for next year is to throw the magnets round in a proper fashion and try and unearth something new.

• JVR was a defender as a junior, let’s give him a go there before he requests a trade.

• Bowser was a HF/Wing, let’s try him at HF in the connector role

• Petty can go back in place of Lever (he can go to Casey)

• Jeffo in unconditionally

• Play two rucks and throw Verrall to the wolves

• Howes was also a HF, maybe give him the Melksham spot?

I know all this would create carnage but doing the same thing each week, with the same players, isn’t working.

I’d rather lose by 80 points and find out about some players than have these miserable 20-30 point losses where we are never really in it

Edited by BW511

26 minutes ago, BW511 said:

Given where we now sit in the season, I think Goody’s best chance at holding his position for next year is to throw the magnets round in a proper fashion and try and unearth something new.

• JVR was a defender as a junior, let’s give him a go there before he requests a trade.

• Bowser was a HF/Wing, let’s try him at HF in the connector role

• Petty can go back in place of Lever (he can go to Casey)

• Jeffo in unconditionally

• Play two rucks and throw Verrall to the wolves

• Howes was also a HF, maybe give him the Melksham spot?

I know all this would create carnage but doing the same thing each week, with the same players, isn’t working.

I’d rather lose by 80 points and find out about some players than have these miserable 20-30 point losses where we are never really in it

How many tall defenders do we actually need?

Bowey is playing the best footy of his career and you want to move him?

I’d replace May with Petty

Howes to HF feels right to me

We have to give Jefferson and JVR the rest of the season together. I’d play Howes, Chandler, Viney and Petracca all forward.

I’d then run Langford, Lindsay, Windsor, Oliver and Pickett through the middle, Rivers goes back to HB and Salem and May go out of the team.

Sestan, Laurie and perhaps Brown get a month to show something.

As much as I hate team sheets here’s this weeks.

Bowey Petty McVee

Rivers Turner Lever

Langdon Oliver Windsor

Howes JVR Chandler

Viney Jefferson Petracca

Gawn Langford Pickett

Lindsay Sparrow Tholstrup Fritsch

Laurie/Culley/Brown/Sestan/Adams/ Melksham

Let’s hope White chooses us, Sinnema turns out well and we can trade/draft 2 solid kickers who are game ready.

I see little point in playing the butchers through the middle for one more week

Edited by Roost it far

On 17/06/2025 at 00:55, Travy14 said:

These young guys have dropped off which is to be expected

Also being inconsistent is to be expected (especially with younger players), also progress not being linear is to be expected.

6 hours ago, Macca said:

But sharing the ball in every game seems like a bridge too far

For the moment.

How many times have we heard Goodwin mention "falling into old habits".

Change is hard.

12 minutes ago, bing181 said:

For the moment.

Change is hard.

Oh please Bing

This has been a problem for 4 years…

Other teams can master a change in an off Season

The main offenders are Petracca, Oliver and Viney, let’s finish the season with only one of them in the middle at a time.

4 hours ago, VoiceOfReason said:

The players say they want to play for Goodwin, but actions suggest otherwise. The effort might be there, but that is about it. Wasteful football in 2/3's of the ground. Oliver and Petracca looked to have checked out.

Don’t agree with this. There’s no aspect of Trac or Clarry’s performance which suggests they’ve “checked out”. Far from it - Clarry’s defensive efforts are to me the opposite sign.

Just because they’re playing poorly doesn’t mean they’re not playing for Goodwin.

1 hour ago, Roost it far said:

The main offenders are Petracca, Oliver and Viney, let’s finish the season with only one of them in the middle at a time.

If that happens then Oliver is the likely candidate as he can only play as a midfielder

Viney could make it as a defensive small forward with Petracca as a high half forward

But we're paying all 3 to be dominant midfielders so the way I see it is that Goodwin needs to demand more from all 3 ... no bombs and no hack kicks forward

Elite footballers kick the ball well to position and have the ability to bring their teammates into the game

Oliver, Petracca & Viney do none of that. They just get it and waste it (apart from when they are creative with handballing

The other huge issue is that none of our forwards demand the ball, lead to the ball carrier or can win their own ball (consistently)

I'm tipping a huge off-season as the current model is cactus

8 hours ago, Ugottobekidding said:

Hasn't been able to get the swans over the line.

U do realise that JL won a premiership with the swans in 2012.

Edited by DemonOX

Somehow the coach is not enabling his players to be selfless, and not enabling them to play with a unified spirit and to lower the eyes etc.

He might 'say', "be selfless, be unified, lower the eyes" but his words are not being received and implemented.

This can only mean that he doesn't have the coaching aptitude to actually determine where and how that message is being muted on its way to the players.

Because for instance, as anyone knows, simply 'saying' "do this", doesn't always translate even in a work environment if there are particular subliminal messages or let's say unspoken codes of ethic and sociality that are unclear, misaligned, uninspired, or disenchanted.

These are the reasons that Goodwin must leave.

And let it be known, I predicted this outcome when he signed that extension contract two years ago. There was no doubt in my mind that Simon Goodwin's capacity to hold the variables of group-science, the intricacies in psycho-sphere of an ensemble of young men, was limited, myopic, and parish-pump. He's a good Christian lad, but he ain't got much osmotic facility for the new, the adventurous, the progressive. And I dare say that would be symptomatic of his general life philosophy.

You gotta be up with all strains of life, and have a quick reflex to many social inputs in a group. You've got to heed the natural growth of the group. You've gotta be worldly. He is parochial. He has tried honourably this season, but it's too little too late. And like I said I'm not surprised. Just disappointed we have 1 flag in an era of star players.

3 hours ago, bing181 said:

For the moment.

Change is hard.

They're playing footy not solving the unified field theory.

7 hours ago, chookrat said:

Add to this that Collingwood didnt even make finals after their 2023 flag but get a free pass in the media. They have started well this year but so did we in 2022 and in 2023 we had our forward line functioning well heading into finals but lost Melksham and Petty to injury and Fritch was recovering from a serious foot injury, not to mention what happened to Brayshaw. If Collingwood go out in straight sets this year will the media call for their coach to be sacked?

I reckon Goody is doing well coaching a club that lost its President and CEO last year and these key roles are yet to be filled while healing a playing group and rejuvinating our list after what has been a challengjng few years.

Prelim, flag, no finals, 1st - do you think you can figure out why they get a "free pass" from the media?

1 hour ago, Macca said:

If that happens then Oliver is the likely candidate as he can only play as a midfielder

Viney could make it as a defensive small forward with Petracca as a high half forward

But we're paying all 3 to be dominant midfielders so the way I see it is that Goodwin needs to demand more from all 3 ... no bombs and no hack kicks forward

Elite footballers kick the ball well to position and have the ability to bring their teammates into the game

Oliver, Petracca & Viney do none of that. They just get it and waste it (apart from when they are creative with handballing

The other huge issue is that none of our forwards demand the ball, lead to the ball carrier or can win their own ball (consistently)

I'm tipping a huge off-season as the current model is cactus

Keep in mind Clarry can play a tagging role, quite well it seems. Imo even if he's 'attached' to an oppo mid zip wouldn't count him in the effective mids mix. What I'm trying to say is you could have possibly Trac/Viney in middle ( rotate to fwd ) and Oliver... just my thinking.

2 minutes ago, beelzebub said:

Keep in mind Clarry can play a tagging role, quite well it seems

$1.7Million to tag? That's a $500k a year gig (for a good one)

No thanks

We should be getting Oliver as a premier midfielder tearing the opposition apart for the sort of coin he's on

Same deal for Petracca & Viney

But we're quite possibly stuck with them as I can't see any other club willing to take up their salaries or giving us anything back in return

Fingers crossed all 3 somehow find their best form again