5 hours ago, beelzebub said:

The hands are off the buzzer now so to speak.

Goodwin has the rest of the season ( a safe bet ) to show he has actually got a game plan, one that works, is working and capable of winning consistently.

I'd go as far as to say finals won't be the litmus. How we're playing and how we are trending will be the yardstick.

I think we'll still struggle to make finals. A big fail for mine. If we were to win half of the remaining games and at least be there or thereabouts in the losing ones then he might have an argument to see out his remaining contract.

If we're doing not much more than spinning the wheels in the mud you'd have to have 'that' chat.

Just now, picket fence said:

Nope no finals = No Goodwin, NO IFFS OR BUTTS, and even then I still will have my doubts! In fact a huge IF we make finals and then unless he wins 1 then he has to go! PERIOD!

I'd be (pleasantly) surprised if we make finals. We can perhaps get the wins, but not the %.

Not that it'll make any difference, Goodwin will see out his contract ... unless he decides otherwise. He's shown enough already, but just being pragmatic, a) expensive to pay him out b) new admin (CEO & Prez.) only comes in at the end of the season and they'll want to get their feet under the table before any big decisions and c) stability is going to be the name of the game for the next 12 months or so, it's been a tumultuous time.

On the other hand, if by early next season we're getting the wins and looking more than decent, I could easily see Goodwin getting an extension (if that's what he wants).

Too early for a "Give Goody A New Contract" thread?

Just now, bing181 said:

On the other hand, if by early next season we're getting the wins and looking more than decent, I could easily see Goodwin getting an extension (if that's what he wants).

Too early for a "Give Goody A New Contract" thread?

Way too early.

If we aren't seeing a trend this year ...it's not happening next year

2 minutes ago, beelzebub said:

Way too early.

If we aren't seeing a trend this year ...it's not happening next year

No sense of humour Beezl.

3 minutes ago, bing181 said:

No sense of humour Beezl.

No sense bing

On 19/05/2025 at 06:24, Roost it far said:

I just felt we had an important win coming at some point, our list is to good to not be winning games.

So did I which causes the frustration.
Still can't kick tho'.
Our achilles heal.

3 hours ago, bing181 said:

I'd be (pleasantly) surprised if we make finals. We can perhaps get the wins, but not the %.

Not with that attitude we won't.

Edited by Fork 'em

One game out of the eight, making the playoffs will not be a big deal.

Aim higher .

9 hours ago, picket fence said:

Nope no finals = No Goodwin, NO IFFS OR BUTTS, and even then I still will have my doubts! In fact a huge IF we make finals and then unless he wins 1 then he has to go! PERIOD!

If we make finals, after missing them last year and starting 0-5, you’d sack him?

Crazy. If we make finals from here we are necessarily going to have to string together a bunch of wins over good sides. If we put a strong enough last 13 games together to do that, there is not a shred of doubt that he’s our coach next year. Not a shred.

Earlier in the season I thought he had "lost the players" - not that they hated playing for him but that the message was stake and no longer cutting through.

I think that's proven to be false and barring any unforeseen circumstances he will definitely be coaching round 1 next year. It's not about wins and losses but how we play, losing to North by 10 goals and Essendon by 40 pts was inexcusable.

We still have plenty to work on but mostly it's to do with skill execution. Clean up those basic errors and we would have beat Brisbane by a few goals and should have beat Hawks (or lost by a slim margin if they were able to run over us).

The next two weeks are critical but the Kings Bday game looms large. We simply cannot afford to be blown away by the Pies and at some point we need to put our foot down and stop being their playthings. We simply must make a statement in that game.

3 hours ago, titan_uranus said:

If we make finals, after missing them last year and starting 0-5, you’d sack him?

Crazy. If we make finals from here we are necessarily going to have to string together a bunch of wins over good sides. If we put a strong enough last 13 games together to do that, there is not a shred of doubt that he’s our coach next year. Not a shred.

If we miss finals then that Should be it!

1 hour ago, Dr. Gonzo said:

Earlier in the season I thought he had "lost the players" - not that they hated playing for him but that the message was stake and no longer cutting through.

I think that's proven to be false and barring any unforeseen circumstances he will definitely be coaching round 1 next year. It's not about wins and losses but how we play, losing to North by 10 goals and Essendon by 40 pts was inexcusable.

We still have plenty to work on but mostly it's to do with skill execution. Clean up those basic errors and we would have beat Brisbane by a few goals and should have beat Hawks (or lost by a slim margin if they were able to run over us).

The next two weeks are critical but the Kings Bday game looms large. We simply cannot afford to be blown away by the Pies and at some point we need to put our foot down and stop being their playthings. We simply must make a statement in that game.

Completely agree with all of this mate.

Definitely time bing81 to start that thread or maybe “Time for respect for Goody.” Goody has been an extremely honest coach. If you listen (properly) to his press conferences …pretty much everything he has said has eventuated. His new game plan is becoming more evident as it becomes more entrenched with the players & the melding of two different playing groups is starting to show & that is also because we are finally getting a more consistent playing group after slowly recovering from a raft of injuries. He has been a great “game day” coach this year and he absolutely has the playing group. This is the most exciting footy we have played since our premiership year. There will be ups and downs but I think it’s an exciting time to be a Dees supporter again ..

12 hours ago, beelzebub said:

No sense bing

1 hour ago, Dr. Gonzo said:

👍Can’t wait for the KB game. It really looks as a must win for me. As confidence builds so does the need to keep winning. I watch Essendon and North play and just think how the hell did we lose those matches??

4 hours ago, titan_uranus said:

Why would you even contemplate trying to reason with a clueless (in the terms of footy acumen) poster. His posts have become laughable with absolutely zero balance or credibility

2 hours ago, Dr. Gonzo said:

Earlier in the season I thought he had "lost the players"

In my view it was always about the players all buying into to a completely different game plan

We had about 7 or 8 senior players who needed to get away from bombing the ball forward or rushing their kicks forward ... notably Gawn, Rivers, Sparrow, Petracca, Viney, Langdon & Oliver

So now that the whole team is playing small ball and sharing the ball around, it's all systems go

We've got plenty of skilled players to enact a more possession based game

However, old habits die hard and we are still guilty of turning the ball over too much with indiscriminate kicks forward

The Geelong game was a good example of what not to do when advancing forward

The catch-cry should be to give the ball off by hand or foot if the way forward could turn into a negative result. Heads up, eyes down

The long kick forward to a pack could become a thing of the past much like the bump or the sling tackle has become a practice from yesteryear

We are now playing like we trained all summer to do

Exciting times ahead as we've got a number of established good players with a number of up and comers with real talent

The players just need to all get on the same page as well as get games together so it all becomes 2nd nature

4 minutes ago, Pennant St Dee said:

Why would you even contemplate trying to reason with a clueless (in the terms of footy acumen) poster. His posts have become laughable with absolutely zero balance or credibility

I like to think of him as the St Jude of Demonland, still waiting for Juice Newton and Jeffo to come good.

The cliche a week is a long time in footy parlance, is true.

I'm guilty of calling for Goodys head.

Sincerely because I think it would be beneficial for the club in a number of ways which I won't get into again,. But mainly because I didn't want him unceremoniously forced out.

I cannot and won't forget the incredible task of giving us a flag after so long.

But after that win, I hope he sticks around.

Regards your most fickle poster.

LITD.

What is also interesting is that we tried to change our game plan last season but abandoned it some time later

Just goes to show how difficult it is to change a players ways no matter how talented they are

The aforementioned 7 or 8 players in the above post have probably been kicking the footy forward in the same way for 15-20 years

So to ask them to either handpass the footy off or to kick short to another open player does take time for those players to adjust

A good example is Langdon on Sunday ... 10 kicks and 15 handpasses is unusual in the sense that his numbers are often close to the other way around (9/6 Cats, 19/6 Ess, 13/6 GWS)

*9/19 against Richmond

59 minutes ago, leave it to deever said:

The cliche a week is a long time in footy parlance, is true.

I'm guilty of calling for Goodys head.

Sincerely because I think it would be beneficial for the club in a number of ways which I won't get into again,. But mainly because I didn't want him unceremoniously forced out.

I cannot and won't forget the incredible task of giving us a flag after so long.

But after that win, I hope he sticks around.

Regards your most fickle poster.

LITD.

I think the bulk of us are guilty of weekly or monthly changes of heart. Footy’s an emotional game and winning is everything. It’s also hard at times to filter the media noise, the mates footy wattsapp opinions and the Demonland analysis and come up with your own individual opinion, especially as a lot of what we see and read isn’t based on the kind of analysis that we’ve all just seen from Jeff White. The better the analysis we watch and take in the more informed and nuanced our opinions can be. At the end of the day though we all need a good vent and footy’s the perfect outlet.

3 hours ago, Roost it far said:

👍Can’t wait for the KB game. It really looks as a must win for me. As confidence builds so does the need to keep winning. I watch Essendon and North play and just think how the hell did we lose those matches??

Most in part, due to a really underperforming forward line.

The simple inclusion and success and leadership of Melksham in one game not only gave us a decent score, it encourages and motivates all the others.

He's also one tough hombre that players know will have their backs. Even without Viney our usual chief enforcer who pound for pound over powers others with more than a decent tickle, I saw a plethora of others go in and fly the flag.

It's a great sign of mateship, unity and above all passion to win. Can't be underestimated.

I really felt sorry for Gus when after being so unfairly knocked out only Viney came in and gave Maynard a touch up.

Was a very bad look. A soft one and it gives the opposition confidence and probably justified arrogance to do what they want.

Let's keep the agro up. Within limits but as much as possible.

Edit, I was actually wondering if Jvr had maybe toned down his temperament after a few suspensions, and if it lowered his form.

As spectators, how many of us blood thirsty ones enjoy seeing an unpopular opponent get a justified bit of rough stuff. So I imagine the player's like to see a bit of it too.

And those of us who have played any contact sports probably remember occasions when we played with a bit of anger and we accounted quite well for ourselves.

I was a hack high school player but if I got an unfair knock, it usually spurned me on to give some back but especially to make sure I beat my opponent.

Edited by leave it to deever

In effect @Dr. Gonzo if the players weren't listening or adhering to the new message re the new game plan, then the onus would then fall on the coach at some stage

But it does look like we've turned things around, but having 6 losses already means we can't lose any games that we should win ... and we'll need to beat a very good team or 3 in the run home

For instance if we can win 1 of the 2 games against the Pies and if we can somehow get a couple of wins against the Doggies, Adelaide away, Gold Coast away or Hawthorn

But we've just beaten the Lions at the Gabba so there's that

44 minutes ago, Macca said:

In effect @Dr. Gonzo if the players weren't listening or adhering to the new message re the new game plan, then the onus would then fall on the coach at some stage

But it does look like we've turned things around, but having 6 losses already means we can't lose any games that we should win ... and we'll need to beat a very good team or 3 in the run home

For instance if we can win 1 of the 2 games against the Pies and if we can somehow get a couple of wins against the Doggies, Adelaide away, Gold Coast away or Hawthorn

But we've just beaten the Lions at the Gabba so there's that.

Agreed, must win the winnable’s. I think we can beat Collingwood, Adelaide, Hawthorn and the GC on our current, low injury trajectory. The Dogs look awesome atm and I love watching the way they play so I think they’re the toughest match up. Carlton also seem to keep finding away to beat us since Kozzies 22 heroics. The Pies are the ones who keep finding a way to win against basically all opposition. I reckon as much as Goodwin only has Sydney on his mind he’ll have been working on ways to beat them. Staying injury free is the key. We get a charmed run and then it’s game on baby!