Posted
31 minutes ago, Dee Viney Intervention said:

Win a final in Melbourne 

Ho ho ya gotta get there first!! If we are 2 wins, 4 loses after 6 He will and should be sacked! Lets stop [censored] footing around, however... if he is 4 wins 2 loses he keeps his job...! For a while yet

Posted (edited)
2 hours ago, Adam The God said:

Exactly. Take Neale out of Brisbane and they don't win the flag.

Well he was kinda hobbling on one foot in the end, but I guess he held it together for long enough to get them over the line hey!  A bit like Steve May in 2021. 

I remember reading Leigh Mathew's autobiography and one of his big take away is that good luck with injuries is pretty key to winning a flag.  Similar to the aforementioned Neale and May examples Mathew's did also admit that Jonathan Brown was pretty banged up in one of the Lions three peat flags, but passed a fitness test and thus played.  I'm thinking that there is probably some value in star players just being out their to soak up some opposition attention even if they don't have a huge impact in their own right, so long as they can bluff it well enough.

Edited by Rodney (Balls) Grinter
Posted
2 hours ago, picket fence said:

Ho ho ya gotta get there first!! If we are 2 wins, 4 loses after 6 He will and should be sacked! Lets stop [censored] footing around, however... if he is 4 wins 2 loses he keeps his job...! For a while yet

bb3985e2-e38fecb43318d289add350c5-1024x6

Posted
4 hours ago, Little Goffy said:

bb3985e2-e38fecb43318d289add350c5-1024x6

Yeah, well they were 2 wins and 5 losses (your point I'm guessing) after a bunch of almost seasons. If only Picket was in charge of the Lions maybe a decent coach could have been put in charge and won them the flag!

Posted
On 24/10/2024 at 21:31, picket fence said:

Agree and that is my point. We absolutely get there. Further to that we need to finish high enough that we host the game at the MCG and win it. That is the pass. Goodwin has to be the coach under the most heat in 2025. You can’t go Premiership, out in straight sets in Melbourne two years in a row to not even making finals and not be. 

Posted
On 24/10/2024 at 19:30, Adam The God said:

Take out henney and the Swans donr make the GF

Posted
On 24/10/2024 at 21:31, picket fence said:

That's great, PF. Now perhaps you'll tell us what he needs to achieve in the first half of the season for you to back off!

Posted (edited)

With the current makeup of the team dees gotta be contending, if we aren’t in teams round the top 4 I think goody is in trouble, it’s going to be tough with a number of teams expected to improve like freo, hawks pies and blues and not many of the top sides expected to drop off. If Dees aren’t playing at there absolute best it’s hard to see us even making the 8.

Edited by Garbo
Posted
On 24/10/2024 at 19:30, Adam The God said:

5 hours ago, binman said:

Take out henney and the Swans donr make the GF

Take Brayshaw out of Melbourne...

#maintaintherage

Posted (edited)
3 hours ago, Ollie fan said:

That's great, PF. Now perhaps you'll tell us what he needs to achieve in the first half of the season for you to back off!

Ok if we are 2 wins 4 losses He is gone

If we dont make the 8 He is gone

If we make the 8 and get bundled out without a win, He is gone!

To be Blunt the pass mark is a flag in 2025! If he doesn't deliver on the above..

HE SHOULD BE GONE.. End of story!

And if he Does win it, I ll buy him a beer and a 2 possibly 3 year extention!

Posted
14 hours ago, picket fence said:

To be Blunt the pass mark is a flag in 2025! If he doesn't deliver on the above..

I said: in the first half of the season. For you to get off his back.

And if have to say, if I were him and I won the flag, you would be the last person I'd want to have a drink with after all the "support" you have shown him.

Posted (edited)
20 minutes ago, Ollie fan said:

I said: in the first half of the season. For you to get off his back.

And if have to say, if I were him and I won the flag, you would be the last person I'd want to have a drink with after all the "support" you have shown him.

Wont have to worry about it, save me a couple of bucks! Lets revisit this next year eh?

Posted
16 hours ago, Little Goffy said:

Take Brayshaw out of Melbourne...

#maintaintherage

Take the l out of lover. 

And it's over.

Posted
18 hours ago, picket fence said:

A question 'picket'...

Would you prefer he fails and you're proved right?

...or would you like to see him succeed & you proved wrong?

Posted
1 hour ago, rjay said:

A question 'picket'...

Would love to be proven wrong, but given our last 3 years, time is very quickly running out

Posted
2 hours ago, rjay said:

A question 'picket'...

Why bother your dealing with someone unreasonable who talks of

the last 3 years being a total failure because we didn’t win a flag or final- forget the fact there were certain circumstances and we put ourselves in the top 4 after home and away season 

Wanting Goody to debut Jefferson, even though he’s not ready 

Spargo being no good because he’s small- forget the fact he’s our best link player in transition and probably the best decision maker with ball in hand

Doesn’t understand despite being underdone, when he plays Petty takes one of if not the best opposition defender away from a younger forward 

And time is quickly running out FFS, another who is incapable of seeing the change in the group happening before his eyes

Posted
1 hour ago, Pennant St Dee said:

Why bother your dealing with someone unreasonable who talks of

the last 3 years being a total failure because we didn’t win a flag or final- forget the fact there were certain circumstances and we put ourselves in the top 4 after home and away season 

Wanting Goody to debut Jefferson, even though he’s not ready 

Spargo being no good because he’s small- forget the fact he’s our best link player in transition and probably the best decision maker with ball in hand

Doesn’t understand despite being underdone, when he plays Petty takes one of if not the best opposition defender away from a younger forward 

And time is quickly running out FFS, another who is incapable of seeing the change in the group happening before his eyes

There are a few on here who I'm convinced would rather be proved right than see us succeed 'Pennant', so I put the question out to one of Goody's major detractors.

Anyway, I think the question will be moot as I expect us to bounce back in 2025.

Posted
48 minutes ago, rjay said:

There are a few on here who I'm convinced would rather be proved right than see us succeed 'Pennant', so I put the question out to one of Goody's major detractors.

Anyway, I think the question will be moot as I expect us to bounce back in 2025.

I could see a world where we bounce back just with good pre seasons and a clear run at it for Oliver and Trac plus natural progression for Windsor.

I don’t expect us to win the flag next year even with the above occurring. Our next serious tilt will come from Rivers, Mcvee, Windsor and JVR taking the next step along with Petty getting a good run with injuries and holding down at key role (preferred down back but possibly swinging forward). I still consider the coaching staff having the tough love conversation with Kossie regarding his brain fades needs to be had

If they do that and it doesn’t all fall to Max, Trac, Oliver, May and Kossie having to carry all our hopes, we will fine and contending 

Posted

Pass mark is having a board approved plan and sticking to it.

Including Maintaining unity and hunger in the group despite the many distractions. 

It’s obviously not as simple as ‘make finals’ as you can miss this on %

Do we play kids or do Trac and Clarry and May come back in ripper nick ready to dominate?

Posted

If he gets us to the top 4 again in the next few years then he's an genius.

And if we get there again and he has to watch us fumble and choke under opposition pressure during the resultant finals then if I were him I'd walk away anyway.

Goodwin is the least of our problems in my opinion. A playing group who are doing the right things to be in tip top shape to compete, and who deliver when put under pressure by the big teams is the starting point. Reality is he's achieved a lot with a lot of forces going against him.

Posted

Questionable game plan, haven’t been able to improve the list with poor trades since 21 & fix our fwd issues, the bungled trade of Grundy & the words he used of how much they valued him only to stop playing him, whose to blame the list mgt team , how much say does he have in the trades? The improvement will need to come from the same list and the younger talent as I can’t see a back up ruck who will keep Fullerton company doing much .. great trade period again 

Posted

with a bit of good fortune Simon "Straight Sets" Goodwin will be out the door by Round 6 and we can get a modern fair dinkum coach with an attacking game plan to reenergize this group for another Crack before Max's time is up

• Vomit 4
Posted
15 minutes ago, Fuchsias Forever said:

with a bit of good fortune Simon "Straight Sets" Goodwin will be out the door by Round 6 and we can get a modern fair dinkum coach with an attacking game plan to reenergize this group for another Crack before Max's time is up

Presumably I cannot describe how noxious and vain posts like this are without getting some kind of black mark from the admins, but it gets so boring wading through this stuff and the sheer volume of it even in unrelated threads is slowly driving me off the site.