NON-MFC: Round 09

Interestingly, if the top 4 win their games there will be a two game break (1.5 wins to be exact) between 4th and 5th. Either way, if we win we'll either move up the ladder or get that break on 5th to 8th heading into two games that are well spaced apart against teams outside the 8.

17 minutes ago, Stu said:

Interestingly, if the top 4 win their games there will be a two game break (1.5 wins to be exact) between 4th and 5th. Either way, if we win we'll either move up the ladder or get that break on 5th to 8th heading into two games that are well spaced apart against teams outside the 8.

Some big "8" point games this weekend.

From an MFC viewpoint I think it best to look for an outcome that reduces the number of top 4 contenders (as Stu says above)

On that basis I'm hoping for wins to

Geelong

Sydney

GWS and

Adelaide

Another very big game for us

Seems such an overly long season although in reality it's simply that at this stage of our "window" it's all about the finals series with the Home and Away being a necessary prelude. (This must be what Hawthorn supporters perhaps felt.)

Of course this weekend's football is up against the phenomenally successful Eurovision Song Contest.

Don't miss Croatia's Baby Lasagna (singing Rim Tim Tagi Dim) . You never know might be a candidate for the Tassie team's theme song.

4 hours ago, whatwhat say what said:
  • us?
  • puddy tatts
  • bloods?
  • aints
  • gw$?
  • footscray?
  • gc17?
  • filth
  • crom?

i reckon flagmantle can knock off sydney and norf to surprise gc17 in a slipper game in darwin, but i'm not brave enough to tip either

GC usually have their best fortnight of the year in Darwin and then fall off the cliff. Therefore tipping Norf would he be beyond brave.

Freo could definitely knock off Sydney in Perth if they’re at their best.

18 hours ago, DubDee said:

Why play two good games concurrently on friday night?

The round is pretty much done after Friday night

The double header on Friday night is due to having one less game on Mother’s Day. That one looks to be a staple in the fixture.

After Friday night, Ess/GWS and Adelaide/Brisbane should be good games. 

I can see some upsets this round, specifically Hawks, Tigers and banged up Brisbane all winning.

18 minutes ago, Ollie fan said:

Don't Port have a surprisingly good record at Geelong? Or am i just imagining that?

But their "outs" this week are damaging. Unfortunately I feel an easy win for the "puddycats". Scott's presser should be worth listening too. Ugh.

25 minutes ago, Ollie fan said:

Don't Port have a surprisingly good record at Geelong? Or am i just imagining that?

We've been taking all of Ports games at Kardinia Park.

Since 2013 Port have only played Geelong there 4 times. Geelong have won all 4.

They have met 17 times in that period. 3 of those were finals. 2 in Adelaide and 1 at the MCG.

All the remaining games (10) have been played at Adelaide Oval (8) or Footy Park (1) with 1 game on the Gold Coast during COVID in 2020.

Gee tigs v dogs will be interesting 

Of course Collingwood get West coast as they're getting back on the winning list. But at least they have to travel to marvel. 

Hoping gws can beat the bummers

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Unfortunately, your content contains terms that we do not allow. Please edit your content to remove the highlighted words below.
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.