Grapeviney 9,929 Posted February 14, 2024 Posted February 14, 2024 (edited) https://www.heraldsun.com.au/entertainment/confidential/exdemons-attend-reunion-instigated-by-neale-daniher/news-story/66a1ba13f5fef4d94b9d5d37ad31fe2f Footy great and motor neurone disease (MND) campaigner Neale Daniher has instigated a reunion of some of his beloved players. Daniher, who coached Melbourne from 1998-2007, caught up with stars from his beloved 1998-2000 team including David Neitz, Brad Green, Russell Robertson and Rod Grinter. They had a lunch at Lamaro’s in South Melbourne. “Neale actually planned the lunch, we’re in a group and he calls it ODD — the old dilapidated Demons,’’ Green said. “It was great. He’s still walking around and speaks through a computer generated system. “I can’t remember the last time we all caught up like that with 16 or 17 guys there. Lot of laughs and old stories being told.” Daniher was diagnosed with MND in 2013 and continues to inspire the nation with his determination and Fight MND campaigning. Edited February 14, 2024 by Grapeviney 2 16 Quote
Monbon 1,840 Posted February 14, 2024 Posted February 14, 2024 10 minutes ago, Grapeviney said: https://www.heraldsun.com.au/entertainment/confidential/exdemons-attend-reunion-instigated-by-neale-daniher/news-story/66a1ba13f5fef4d94b9d5d37ad31fe2f Footy great and motor neurone disease (MND) campaigner Neale Daniher has instigated a reunion of some of his beloved players. Daniher, who coached Melbourne from 1998-2007, caught up with stars from his beloved 1998-2000 team including David Neitz, Brad Green, Russell Robertson and Rod Grinter. They had a lunch at Lamaro’s in South Melbourne. “Neale actually planned the lunch, we’re in a group and he calls it ODD — the old dilapidated Demons,’’ Green said. “It was great. He’s still walking around and speaks through a computer generated system. “I can’t remember the last time we all caught up like that with 16 or 17 guys there. Lot of laughs and old stories being told.” Daniher was diagnosed with MND in 2013 and continues to inspire the nation with his determination and Fight MND campaigning. Any chance of naming them? I recognize Grinter, Neitz, Greene, Yze, Nicholson, Holland, and Travis J, but I can't see Schwarz, and, Mister Grinter - god bless him - was before Neale's time... 4 Quote
Lexinator 1,931 Posted February 14, 2024 Posted February 14, 2024 9 minutes ago, Monbon said: Any chance of naming them? I recognize Grinter, Neitz, Greene, Yze, Nicholson, Holland, and Travis J, but I can't see Schwarz, and, Mister Grinter - god bless him - was before Neale's time... Think a few before my time. Think few others are Ward, Leoncelli, Nathan Brown, Rigoni, and Powell. 2 1 Quote
leave it to deever 17,617 Posted February 14, 2024 Posted February 14, 2024 Thanks very much for sharing this Grapeviney. Neale is truly an inspiration in the real sense of the word. His courage and strength transcends all sports and his work is incredibly important. All those I know who have met him over the years comment on his warmth, His smile and genuine laughter. How privileged we are to have him. 6 3 Quote
Storm Boy 376 Posted February 14, 2024 Posted February 14, 2024 Anthony McDonald, Paul Hopgood, are in this photo as well. 3 Quote
leave it to deever 17,617 Posted February 14, 2024 Posted February 14, 2024 48 minutes ago, Monbon said: Mister Grinter Yes indeed....the correct way to refer to him to all who wisely feared him. 2 Quote
Meggs 598 Posted February 14, 2024 Posted February 14, 2024 (edited) 1 hour ago, Monbon said: Any chance of naming them? Need some help with a couple… Sitting down in order: Russell Robertson, David Neitz, Dr Andrew Daff, Andrew Leoncelli, Anthony McDonald, Travis Johnstone, Daniel Ward Standing up in order: Nathan Brown, tall guy?, Guy Rigoni (his daughter Gemma has just been recruited to our AFLW team), ??, Brad Green, Alistair Nicholson, the reverend Neil Daniher, Paul Hopgood, Ben Dutchy Holland, Bring Back Stephen Powell, ??, Rod Grinter. Edited February 14, 2024 by Meggs Typo, thnx to Demonstone for clarification on the Maccas 2 2 Quote
Demonstone 23,572 Posted February 14, 2024 Posted February 14, 2024 16 minutes ago, Meggs said: James McDonald I think that might be his brother, Anthony. 2 Quote
Demonstone 23,572 Posted February 14, 2024 Posted February 14, 2024 1 hour ago, Monbon said: I recognize Grinter, Neitz, Greene, Yze, Nicholson, Holland, and Travis J Don't think Ooze is in the photo. 4 Quote
DEE fence 5,054 Posted February 14, 2024 Posted February 14, 2024 Hope it ended better than the lunch at Entrecote. But seriously love all these blokes, looks like lunch is a regular event for most (-; Rigoni, Leoncelli and McDonald still looking trim. Can't imagine there is much knee cartilage between all of them though. And thank you Mr. Grinter for keeping the brotherhood going. 4 Quote
Roger Mellie 4,205 Posted February 14, 2024 Posted February 14, 2024 (edited) Is it Ingo between 🐕 Brown Senior and Guy Rigoni? No idea who's between Rigoni and Greeny, or next to Balls Edited February 14, 2024 by Roger Mellie 1 Quote
drysdale demon 4,837 Posted February 14, 2024 Posted February 14, 2024 This was on Brad Greens instagram last saturday night.' 1 Quote
Monbon 1,840 Posted February 14, 2024 Posted February 14, 2024 24 minutes ago, Demonstone said: Don't think Ooze is in the photo. 24 minutes ago, Demonstone said: Don't think Ooze is in the photo. On Neitz' right hand side? 1 Quote
Lexinator 1,931 Posted February 14, 2024 Posted February 14, 2024 Matthew Collins left of Powell I reckon. 1 Quote
Little Goffy 14,963 Posted February 14, 2024 Posted February 14, 2024 Bit selfish of Ben Holland to not share his obviously substantial supply of elixir of youth. Semi-serious question, how many of these guys have a kid coming through the system for us? :D 4 Quote
picket fence 18,182 Posted February 14, 2024 Posted February 14, 2024 3 hours ago, Grapeviney said: https://www.heraldsun.com.au/entertainment/confidential/exdemons-attend-reunion-instigated-by-neale-daniher/news-story/66a1ba13f5fef4d94b9d5d37ad31fe2f Footy great and motor neurone disease (MND) campaigner Neale Daniher has instigated a reunion of some of his beloved players. Daniher, who coached Melbourne from 1998-2007, caught up with stars from his beloved 1998-2000 team including David Neitz, Brad Green, Russell Robertson and Rod Grinter. They had a lunch at Lamaro’s in South Melbourne. “Neale actually planned the lunch, we’re in a group and he calls it ODD — the old dilapidated Demons,’’ Green said. “It was great. He’s still walking around and speaks through a computer generated system. “I can’t remember the last time we all caught up like that with 16 or 17 guys there. Lot of laughs and old stories being told.” Daniher was diagnosed with MND in 2013 and continues to inspire the nation with his determination and Fight MND campaigning. ABSOLUTELY F@#$%^G BEAUTIFUL!🥰 5 2 Quote
jayceebee31 768 Posted February 14, 2024 Posted February 14, 2024 A dead set shame that David Schwartz was a non attendee..seems like he has a chip on his shoulder . Quote
640MD 3,568 Posted February 14, 2024 Posted February 14, 2024 10 hours ago, Roger Mellie said: Is it Ingo between 🐕 Brown Senior and Guy Rigoni? No idea who's between Rigoni and Greeny, or next to Balls Worked with Anthony about 5 years ago that's not him unless he has put on weight in the face and lost hair. But I doubt it is him. GO DEES great photo took a while and I can still only remember some of these guys Quote
Demonstone 23,572 Posted February 14, 2024 Posted February 14, 2024 5 hours ago, jayceebee31 said: A dead set shame that David Schwartz was a non attendee..seems like he has a chip on his shoulder . What a dreadful post. How could you possibly know why Schwarta wasn't there? 5 1 Quote
pitmaster 3,592 Posted February 14, 2024 Posted February 14, 2024 12 hours ago, Monbon said: Any chance of naming them? I recognize Grinter, Neitz, Greene, Yze, Nicholson, Holland, and Travis J, but I can't see Schwarz, and, Mister Grinter - god bless him - was before Neale's time... is on the far right of the image Quote
Gawndy the Great 9,011 Posted February 14, 2024 Posted February 14, 2024 7 hours ago, jayceebee31 said: A dead set shame that David Schwartz was a non attendee..seems like he has a chip on his shoulder . Give him the benefit of doubt here, but I do think he has some beef with the club or some of the staff. He has come out in the media in recent times to criticise the club rather than support them. Quote