Gawndy the Great 9,011 Posted October 11, 2023 Posted October 11, 2023 1 hour ago, Edm said: I’ve been on Zane dursma all year so much going for him fast, elite skills, great mark and big leap when he was playing at Casey there was a few highlights of him linking up down the wing with harmes and few others and he already looked better than them. Makes good and fast decisions. Reminds me a lot of Conor rozee That’s just the thing though. Everything you say is right, however can this be transferred to the big league? Does he have the right traits? Strong work ethic, two way running, 2nd efforts etc, elite fitness, strength. Only those in the inner sanctum would have a true read on this stuff as you can only see so much on the field. 2 Quote
Mach5 4,768 Posted October 11, 2023 Posted October 11, 2023 I reckon we’d be happy with either Duursma or Reid (how could we not be?) But we might find ourselves offering our pick bounty of 6 &11 to North for pick 2 (better picks than what WC traded for pick 2 last year), knowing one of them would be available, and giving North enough higher end picks to package with their late first rounders to finally entice pick 1 out of WC to guarantee they get Reid. 2 Quote
Gator 18,053 Posted October 12, 2023 Posted October 12, 2023 Another Duursma fan here. Ii reckon he could be the best from this draft. He or Reid would be wonderful. Caddy ? I'm not a fan. I wouldn't take him in the top 20. 1 Quote
DubDee 26,676 Posted October 27, 2023 Posted October 27, 2023 The write ups on Zane look even a bit better that Xavier who looked a freak in his first year abs injuries and inconsistencies can found him in oblivion 1 Quote
Nascent 9,345 Posted November 9, 2023 Author Posted November 9, 2023 Class of 2023: Top prospect Duursma on standout draft year, sibling rivalry, love of Freo gun https://www.afl.com.au/video/1062294 Quote
DemonWheels 1,118 Posted November 13, 2023 Posted November 13, 2023 Wowsers! How can we get him? 1 Quote
Cheney 38 Posted November 13, 2023 Posted November 13, 2023 48 minutes ago, DemonWheels said: Wowsers! How can we get him? We can’t Quote
Nascent 9,345 Posted November 13, 2023 Author Posted November 13, 2023 1 hour ago, DemonWheels said: Wowsers! How can we get him? If we wanted him, it would take 6 and 11 for 3 and perhaps a token late pick back. Also dependent on the roos willing to pass on him. Quote
Stiff Arm 4,420 Posted November 13, 2023 Posted November 13, 2023 13 hours ago, Nascent said: Amazing! So clean with his hands in marking contests. Probably 25 marks shown in that clip and not one double grab, all sticky, single touch marks. Shame that he looks out of our reach Quote
The heart beats true 18,201 Posted November 14, 2023 Posted November 14, 2023 1 hour ago, Stiff Arm said: Amazing! So clean with his hands in marking contests. Probably 25 marks shown in that clip and not one double grab, all sticky, single touch marks. Shame that he looks out of our reach He looks a ripper with his timing. I will say you very rarely get a clean jump at the footy in AFL. I imagine it’ll take him a few seasons to adjust to AFL body positioning - but you can’t teach timing like that. He’ll be a good player. 1 Quote
Mach5 4,768 Posted November 14, 2023 Posted November 14, 2023 A taller Burgoyne, he’s worth the price we’d need to pay for pick 2. 1 Quote
layzie 34,528 Posted November 14, 2023 Posted November 14, 2023 Been a fan most of the year. Would be slightly disappointed if we didn't end up with either him or Mckercher but that looks likely. Quote
640MD 3,570 Posted November 14, 2023 Posted November 14, 2023 Nice highlights package but he must have had two bites at least once. And he took the contested ones at his top Bloody nice, Quote
Gawndy the Great 9,011 Posted November 14, 2023 Posted November 14, 2023 Just got a feeling he is going to turn out like his older brother. Nothing but a hunch. 1 Quote
Travy14 2,142 Posted November 16, 2023 Posted November 16, 2023 On 14/11/2023 at 23:35, Gawndy the Great said: Just got a feeling he is going to turn out like his older brother. Nothing but a hunch. i think you will find his older brother will turn out to be a very good player 1 Quote
layzie 34,528 Posted November 16, 2023 Posted November 16, 2023 Just now, Travy14 said: i think you will find his older brother will turn out to be a very good player Has had some rotten injury luck. Quote
Travy14 2,142 Posted November 16, 2023 Posted November 16, 2023 1 minute ago, layzie said: Has had some rotten injury luck. Yeh exactly, his first year was very good, then missed his next year, and was playing good footy towards the back end of this year. Think Essendon got him for a steal. 2 Quote
Nascent 9,345 Posted November 16, 2023 Author Posted November 16, 2023 Have seen 2 mock drafts that have him going to roos, but state he has a range of 2-6. Most likely wishful thinking, but if Roos opt for McKercher and Curtin, I wonder what the chances are he gets through Hawks and Dogs who like Watson and Sanders respectively. Or would we tempt the Hawks with 6 and a f1st (hopefully 18) for 4. That would then gaurantee us Duursma and Hawks still get their man in Watson. Quote
Mach5 4,768 Posted November 16, 2023 Posted November 16, 2023 I think no matter how the cards fall, the 2 options of that 6 that would fall to us would be Sanders & Curtin, and I don’t think we’d prefer either over others available. Quote
Demon Disciple 12,537 Posted November 17, 2023 Posted November 17, 2023 3 hours ago, Travy14 said: i think you will find his older brother will turn out to be a very good player The youngest Duursma will be the best of the lot of them 1 Quote
Demonsterative 3,021 Posted November 17, 2023 Posted November 17, 2023 3 hours ago, Mach5 said: I think no matter how the cards fall, the 2 options of that 6 that would fall to us would be Sanders & Curtin, and I don’t think we’d prefer either over others available. Apparently our highly popular and highly esteemed CEO has the final say on who we pick. 😎🤓😛🤪😜🤪😜🤪 1 1 Quote