bandicoot 1,395 Posted September 12, 2023 Posted September 12, 2023 Didn’t the afl just need to prove that Maynard had other options but to bump? 2 1
Jaded No More 68,976 Posted September 12, 2023 Posted September 12, 2023 I wonder if the AFL will appeal the decision if he’s let off 1
Mickey 4,777 Posted September 12, 2023 Posted September 12, 2023 Just now, kev martin said: Duty of care before he launched. This is the issue and where I think the AFL has stuffed up. Allowing the 'he had a right to launch' argument gives Collingwood exactly what they need. He did not have a right to contest the ball in that way, just as players don't have the right to tackle with a slinging action or bump in a way that hits a player high. Maynard being suspended won't kill the spoil, like some are claiming. But it will stop people like Maynard acting like a human cannonball 2 2 2
Superunknown 4,246 Posted September 12, 2023 Posted September 12, 2023 No worries Gleeson! It’s open season on the head fellas!!! Have at it! Maynard yours is next bro! If he gets off, and the AFL doesn’t appeal (with a half decent lawyer), I am done with the sport including membership. Done. It’s soccer tennis and golf for my kids 6
layzie 34,528 Posted September 12, 2023 Posted September 12, 2023 How's the mini footy in Maynard's hand going? Textbook guilt behaviour. 1
Guest Posted September 12, 2023 Posted September 12, 2023 Just now, bandicoot said: Didn’t the afl just need to prove that Maynard had other options but to bump? Don’t you see? The AFL deliberately presented a very weak case. That way, he’ll get off, which is what they want, but it will look as though they tried to have him convicted.
Chook 15,069 Posted September 12, 2023 Posted September 12, 2023 2 minutes ago, bandicoot said: Didn’t the afl just need to prove that Maynard had other options but to bump? They didn't even try to argue that he bumped. That's where this case is IMO - it's arguing that intent to bump doesn't mean yelling "I'm gonna bump you", it's acting in a way that results in a bump due to the nature of the action. 2
layzie 34,528 Posted September 12, 2023 Posted September 12, 2023 There needs to be an uprising if he gets off. This is like a police brutality case right now. 1 1
HardBallGet 127 Posted September 12, 2023 Posted September 12, 2023 1 minute ago, Superunknown said: No worries Gleeson! It’s open season on the head fellas!!! Have at it! Maynard yours is next bro! If he gets off, and the AFL doesn’t appeal (with a half decent lawyer), I am done with the sport including membership. Done. It’s soccer tennis and golf for my kids Exactly how I a feeling. My sipport for MFC is unwavering, but I'm not sure I can continue taking my family to AFL if the leaguecondones this. I already buya Melb United 3 game membership in the NBL. Maybe I'll extend that 2
leave it to deever 17,618 Posted September 12, 2023 Author Posted September 12, 2023 3 minutes ago, layzie said: How's the mini footy in Maynard's hand going? Textbook 1 1
bandicoot 1,395 Posted September 12, 2023 Posted September 12, 2023 2 minutes ago, WalkingCivilWar said: Don’t you see? The AFL deliberately presented a very weak case. That way, he’ll get off, which is what they want, but it will look as though they tried to have him convicted. It’s not in the afl interest that Maynard gets off.. it’s a bad look for the game and they will want to stamp it out and not encourage it. Plenty of parents are already concerned about concussion. They need to show an example of this 4
mauriesy 7,444 Posted September 12, 2023 Posted September 12, 2023 "The likelihood of a collision changed because of what Brayshaw did." What was that ... run in a straight line and kick the ball? 2 1
BoBo 2,956 Posted September 12, 2023 Posted September 12, 2023 1 minute ago, layzie said: This is like a police brutality case right now. Not your best post.
layzie 34,528 Posted September 12, 2023 Posted September 12, 2023 1 minute ago, leave it to deever said: I love that film Deever! 1
Tracca 862 Posted September 12, 2023 Posted September 12, 2023 1 minute ago, BoBo said: Not your best post. not at all 1
Kev 10,926 Posted September 12, 2023 Posted September 12, 2023 The Emperor has no clothes on, but the Tribunal will buy the duck that isn't a dinner, leading to us having the motivation to get to the GF. 1
leave it to deever 17,618 Posted September 12, 2023 Author Posted September 12, 2023 Just now, layzie said: I love that film Deever! Bogie at his best mate. 1
leave it to deever 17,618 Posted September 12, 2023 Author Posted September 12, 2023 4 minutes ago, HardBallGet said: Exactly how I a feeling. My sipport for MFC is unwavering, but I'm not sure I can continue taking my family to AFL if the leaguecondones this. I already buya Melb United 3 game membership in the NBL. Maybe I'll extend that My hope is tge Afl reads all these genuine posts of concern. 1
Macca 17,127 Posted September 12, 2023 Posted September 12, 2023 So the filth are arguing that Gus veered slightly to his right as he kicked the ball ... that's a natural movement when kicking on your right foot (same goes when kicking on your left) To go to your left when kicking on your right would unbalance you (unless you were kicking the ball to the left) And Maynard would know that ... every footballer knows the movements 3
leave it to deever 17,618 Posted September 12, 2023 Author Posted September 12, 2023 5 minutes ago, layzie said: I love that film Deever! Forgot to say I think it's still on sbs.
TheWiz 787 Posted September 12, 2023 Posted September 12, 2023 I reckon he’ll get off. It’s moments like this that can galvanise a team. 12 quarters of footy. That’s all we’re asking for and left. Do it for Gus and beat them fair and square - unlike what they did to us. 4
McQueen 17,867 Posted September 12, 2023 Posted September 12, 2023 1 minute ago, Macca said: So the filth are arguing that Gus veered slightly to his right as he kicked the ball ... that's a natural movement when kicking on your right foot (same goes when kicking on your left) To go to your left when kicking on your right would unbalance you (unless you were kicking the ball to the left) And Maynard would know that ... every footballer knows the movements Hopefully the ones sitting on the tribunal do too, Macca. 5
OhMyDees 1,834 Posted September 12, 2023 Posted September 12, 2023 14 minutes ago, Mickey said: This is the issue and where I think the AFL has stuffed up. Allowing the 'he had a right to launch' argument gives Collingwood exactly what they need. He did not have a right to contest the ball in that way, just as players don't have the right to tackle with a slinging action or bump in a way that hits a player high. Maynard being suspended won't kill the spoil, like some are claiming. But it will stop people like Maynard acting like a human cannonball Exactly. They should have graded it with intent because he DID intend the KO. 1
Satan 2,921 Posted September 12, 2023 Posted September 12, 2023 Ihle (Pies) says Maynard is Car A and Brayshaw is Car B. He notes if Car B veers into Car A’s lane and a collision occurs, it is not blamed on Car A. This has given me unsettling Year 12 maths flashbacks. wtf 1 1
Jaded No More 68,976 Posted September 12, 2023 Posted September 12, 2023 If you believe in karma like I do, then the Collingwood football club will get theirs. If not from us, then from someone else. What goes around comes around. 5